2001 Honda Odyssey Reviews - Page 10 of 15

2001 Honda Odyssey from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Wish I'd never bought it

Faults:

Same problem here.

A better question would be, who has NOT had this problem with this car???

I think every Honda Odyssey made has had this same problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th November, 2005

28th Nov 2005, 17:39

So, what is the problem? No details or information at all. This review should be deleted.

2001 Honda Odyssey from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Faults:

I just purchased this 2001 Honda Odyssey from Car Max. The car started moving forward while idling in Park. My 2 year old son and pregnant wife were in the car with me as it hit our closed garage door. Honda will not do anything for me unless one of their dealer can replicate problem, even though they have had several problems with their transmissions for this make, model, and year.

General Comments:

The minivan is fine, except for the glaring transmission problems that lead to safety issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th September, 2005

28th Nov 2005, 17:36

Hey now. Yes it is called the "parking break" but it is not mandatory that it is engaged. I like to use it on steep hills and such, but other than that I don't. This transmission problem is obviously the fault of the vehicle and should have prevented movement of the car. As for putting down the Americans, America is the best country in the world.

17th Jan 2006, 00:53

Chill out you two. I am American and yes most American’s don’t use there parking brake. But that’s why there is a park on the transmission. If everyone just set there parking brake there would just be RND321.

8th Mar 2006, 22:43

The Park position isn't quite enough; if you kept parking your car on a slope without the parking brake set, it will eventually cause the parking pawl (a metal rod inside the transmission that locks up the output shaft or shafts) to break off. Unless you want to spend money on having your car's tranny rebuilt, I suggest that you should use the parking brake in conjunction with the Park position.

22nd Apr 2006, 20:41

Never mind parking brake or emergency brake. The big reason Canadians don't set the parking brake is that in the winter it should be called the "pull on this if you want to stay here until Spring - lever". Most parking brakes don't release when the temperature goes to minus 40 (same on both F and C degree scales). If you use it all the time and oil it you can get over the worst of the winter. It's the ones that don't use it all the time who get stuck.

2001 Honda Odyssey EX 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Transmission design is flawed!

Faults:

Passenger side automatic sliding door stopped working.

At 42,000 Miles the transmission failed.

At 94,000 Miles the second transmission failed.

General Comments:

The overall design and operation of the car is good. Very roomy and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2005

6th Jan 2009, 21:42

We bought our Odyssey second hand in 2005. We just found out that the transmission is needing to be replaced, and we found out that it had already been replaced prior to our purchasing it in 2005. It was a re-manufactured transmission though. We have put on 53,000 K since the replacement and now the warranty just expired the end of November! What is going on with Honda and these common issues? We think that the transmission should have lasted longer than this, any thoughts?

2001 Honda Odyssey LX from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carToyota Sienna

Summary:

Expensive and not as reliable as it should be

Faults:

The sliding side door on the driver's side kept getting stuck--a real safety issue in an emergency. It took 3 visits for the dealer to take the problem seriously and fix it. We've had weird transmission jerking and noises since about 10,000 miles. Now engine lights and service lights keep popping on, but no one knows why, although they think it might be transmission related. It needed new tires and brakes at 30,000 miles, despite excellent maintenance.

General Comments:

We're disappointed to have so many problems with a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2004

11th Jul 2005, 22:14

2001 Honda Odyssey - I've just experienced the "engine light" on constantly AND the "TCS" light coming on intermittently so I took it to the dealer today (7/11/05). They say I need a new transmission at only 58,000 miles. I'm shocked!! I sure hope it's covered by the warranty. Other comments say it's covered up to 100,000 miles. Also, when reading other comments, I noticed that I have also experienced the sliding doors sticking (non-powered doors) AND the van wanting to roll backwards on an incline when you take your foot off the brake at a stop sign. Also, others have mentioned their mini-vans needed new brakes and tires way before they should be. I've had ALL these things happening to my 2001 Odyssey. I can't believe this mini-van of mine has so many problems. I've had an Honda Accord before that was perfect. I'm really disappointed!!

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 54 reviews