18th Jan 2006, 15:09

I have a 2002 Odyssey with 71K mileage. It has been having a transmission problem for 2 years. It finally slips so badly that it is being replaced via Honda no charge. Actually for $50. The Honda dealership said that if they didn't charge me something they could not give me a warranty (3/36). I probably got suckered out of $50. Please use this to try to get the free replacement. I hear that it cost around $5000.

High Point, NC.

9th Mar 2006, 14:15

I have a Honda 2002 Odyssey with Leather, I have 69K miles on it. The Malfuction Light came on, the Dealer told me the Transmission is out, need a replacement. Do any one have any idea how to get Honda to replace it for free.



24th Feb 2007, 17:08

I own a 2002 Odyssey and the transmission went out two years ago at 40K miles. The dealer I bought it from had to see it FOUR TIMES before agreeing to replace it. I was so upset I called HONDA USA and sent a certified letter, threatening to call our State Attorney General. That got their attention. The extended my warranty to 7 yrs/100K for no cost. I'm still not sure if I'll buy another Honda, though. It is disillusioning...

26th Jul 2007, 13:04

I own a 2002 Odyssey with 140,000 km and the transmission is now slipping into neutral as I'm driving. I feel very unsafe and fear it will do this as I'm pulling out into traffic or passing on the highway! Honda Canada has offered $1,000 off of the $3,700 repair bill which seems totally unfair since this problem is widespread and obviously a design error. A friend had his replaced at 115,000 km for $500. Why such a discrepancy? Honda Canada says I didn't spend enough on regular maintenance at the dealers. How does that have anything to do with the fact that they manufacture a faulty transmission? I'm now sending a letter to them to politely let them know how the Honda reputation that they have earned over the years is disappearing quickly in the eyes of many. Especially when they refuse to fix the problem.

4th Aug 2007, 10:11

I live in MD and have an '02 Odyssey that has just started to have tranny problems at 63,300 miles, slipping out of gear while driving and otherwise not feeling as smooth as it did when it was new.

When driving the car to the night drop at the dealer to have it checked, the check engine light came on. I called American Honda about this on the morning of August 2nd, after finding numerous complaints about similar problems on the Internet with other '02 Ody's.

American Honda issued a case number for me and told me to call them with the dealer's results of the check. Dealer told me the check engine light was from a code P0730, indicating internal transmission failure, but he would not elaborate more. He only said that this happens a lot, and when it does, all they do is replace the transmission, which would cost $3,550 plus tax.

I reported the findings to American Honda, and they told me a case manager would review the case and my reasons as to why I felt Honda should participate in the repair, and would be back to me on August 6th.

NHTSA recall repair was performed without my knowing it or being told of a recall (still have never received that recall notice or the other recall about the belt tensioner, both issued in 2004). Honda records indicate the recall work was performed on my car in '05 while I had the car at the dealer for some other service. The dealer did not perform the recall work for the belt tensioner at that time, but it was done at my request during the transmission check that cost me $97. I never received either recall notice, and never was told that the recall service was performed while my car was in for service in '05 at about 21K miles.

I have changed the trans fluid at the recommended intervals and the last change revealed a dark grayish-black sludge on the tranny drain plug that had stuck to the magnet on the drain plug. It's obviously gear grindings, now that I know the transmission is failing.

We have filed a complaint about this issue with NHTSA, and found we are one of 148 complaints about '02 Ody's on record so far. They stated if they get enough complaints, they will investigate this and pursue another recall. I urge everyone having this problem to file a complaint with NHTSA. It takes about 10 minutes over the phone, and it will serve us all much better.

I think Honda is avoiding the problem they know they may ultimately be forced to remedy. Especially since there seems to be mixed responses to this problem, with Honda paying for the replacement of the '02 Ody tranny's in some cases, while others are being told they need to pay for part of it. NHTSA can force them to do this, but they need enough justification. File away.

9th Jan 2008, 00:03

I got the same problem. 2002 odyssey lx. trans slip at 70K.

Almost got into an accident. Wife was driving and making a turn when the trans slipped and almost lost control. Too dangerous if it happens while turning. We used to love honda, but not anymore. Hope everyone is in to file a class suit.

15th Apr 2008, 19:57

I have a 2002 Odyssey EX-L. I also purchased an extended warranty - 6 years or 100,000 miles. At 109,200 the transmission failed. The dealer spoke with HONDA Region Manager and managed to get the cost $4,000 (??? I doubt) down to $1,800 - he calls it a Good Will on Honda's part!

I have researched this issue on the web in the past several days. It is more widespread than I thought.

I think, Honda knows of this issue and is avoiding a major RECALL. As a result, on a case by case basis, Honda is exercising "good will."

This problem needs to be investigated. A company such as Honda (Quality Products?) should take care of it out of its own hide.

28th Apr 2008, 15:47

We need a recall Honda Odyssey transmissions are unsafe. Let's pressure Honda into finally being held accountable for their lousy quality and workmanship.

20th May 2008, 17:10

We own a 2002 Odyssey, with just under 38000 miles. Always driven normal, (family, kids, that kind of lifestyle), no towing or heavy loads.

Our transmission seems to be slipping the last couple of weeks during speeds between 30ish and 40ish mph. Called the local Honda dealer, and asked if there was any known problems with these transmissions. They said no, that my case was unusual for the low mileage. The service guy on the phone told me that it was most likely an EGR valve, and that is 300 dollars. Well, I did some checking, and discovered through this forum and others that the problem is widespread.

I called American Honda, and the customer service person (who was very polite and as helpful as could be) told me that the EGR valve warranty was extended to 7 years or 84000 miles, so that should be taken care of. She gave me a case number, and did not comment on if the problem is widespread. I am filing a complaint with the NTSB like the previous comment suggested. The 99 thru 01 vans were given class action status and taken care of, but not the 02 and 03 models. If I have to spend up to 5000 to replace a transmission on a vehicle that is not even through half its life span, I will never buy a Honda again.