2002 Honda Odyssey LX V6 from North America


Drives nice, but too many electrical problems


Well it is like Christmas in the car until recently when we added more problems.

The ABS light and Traction Control lights have been on, on the dash... from time to time the break light would come on and go off on its own.

Now the transmission is not working right.. big time...

When I am in R (reverse) I am actually in drive...

Will find out tomorrow how much this will cost...

I got a code reader, but nobody seems to want to help me figure out what I need to replace.

General Comments:

Hate it... Just too many problems in a 2002 car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

2002 Honda Odyssey EX 3.5 from North America


Expensive overrated Junk


My transmission started to slip and would not go into reverse or drive. So it stalled on the freeway. Had to get it towed.

Took it to the local dealer. They gave a quote of $4000+. Would not give any on the repair price. Took it to a non Honda transmission shop. Cost about $3300. They showed me some broken bent metal parts. I don't know what they really were.

General Comments:

I thought Honda was reliable. Not. They didn't give me any consideration on the repair cost. So that really is a hidden warranty when so many many others get theirs fixed for free. Hidden warranties are illegal. Never again will I buy a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2005

2002 Honda Odyssey ex with leather V6 from North America


The poor transmission design makes this vehicle unsafe


The transmission failed at approximately 30,000 miles. Honda failed to correct the problem on earlier requests. The second transmission is failing now, but they have failed to fix the problem after several visits.

The vehicle has excessive road noise entering the passenger compartment. It is difficult to hold a conversation at 65 MPH on the freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2005

3rd Apr 2005, 22:22

You are not alone with this situation. I too am disappointed with Honda.

31st Jul 2005, 12:09

I own a 2000 Odyssey, first transmission replaced at 38K. At 58K it is going out again. Both times difficult to convince dealer since problem is intermittent. I'm an engineer. After reading Honda's schematics, I see a small filter buried deep inside the transmission. Based on symptoms, I'm pretty sure this is the cause and the reason why the transmission needs to be replaced (rebuilt) versus serviced. They should have put the filter on the outside where you could easily change it, like a fuel or engine oil filter. I'd like to hear Honda respond to this. Running out of 7 year extended warranty.

2002 Honda Odyssey LX 6 cy from North America


Good car with a bad transmission


The Honda had it automatic transmission replaced at 41,000 miles.

The second transmission has now failed at 71,000 miles.

The second transmission is hopefully covered by the recall that is going on.

General Comments:

Car is noisy and has a rough ride.

Interior has not held up well. the driver power seat has been a constant problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

17th Nov 2004, 19:38

I purchased a 2002 Odyssey EXL in April of 2002. Had the transmission drained and flushed (at dealer recommendation) at 60,000 miles. During Nov 2004 with 66,000 miles, the "D" indicator light began flashing. Took the van to the dealer who advised that the transmission was failing and needed to be replaced. The van has never towed anything and has never been towed--just driven on trips by a 70 year old. Honda has agreed to replace the transmission if I pay $826. So much for a "quality" Honda. I might as well by a Kia for my next van and get a 100,000 power train warranty.

2002 Honda Odyssey EX from North America


It is not a reliable car


The sliding automatic doors have failed to works.

General Comments:

I brought the car to the Honda dealer for service 3 times already, but the problem still not fix. My next buying car is definitely not the Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

24th Aug 2004, 01:24

My 2002 Odyssey EX has had numerous door problems with rattling and poor closure (inter-mitten), The dealer has failed to fix after many tries. I have also had my SRS airbag cable reel break at almost exactly 36K miles (imagine that it has never even been used), the dealer says they won't fix under warranty. The factory tires have worn out already with 41K miles and I rotate regularly. The road noise is horrible compared to almost all other vehicles I have been in, including my Toyota Tacoma truck. Overall I am disappointed with my purchase and I can't imagine buying another Honda again any time soon. I am going to dump this van soon, and I can't wait......