2002 Honda Odyssey EX 3.5L SOHC V6 from North America


Still one of the best minivans money can buy, but be careful especially when buying used


Transmission had to be replaced at 72,000 miles. The cost of the Transmission was paid for by Honda, Labor was paid for by myself. ($600). I have no paperwork documenting this transmission replacement.

SRS sensor needed to be replaced at 86,000 miles.

Some sort of electrical solenoid needed to be replaced at 85,500 miles.

Failed state emissions testing in October 2005 caused supposedly by a loose gasoline cap (replaced once in October 2004 at 69,000 miles and again at 82,000 miles)

Gasoline tank O-Ring was leaking; gasoline smell detected inside automobile and garage when parked. O-Ring replaced at 86,000 miles.

All numbers are approximate.

General Comments:

The car had its share of problems, particularly as it approached middle age (85,000-90,000 miles) but once those problems were resolved, then everything was and is still perfect.

Still loving the interior flexibility, the third row seat that folds flat, and the sheer amount of cargo space. I am able to move sofas, loveseats, and other pieces of furniture around, saving about a hundred bucks in delivery charges.

The engine is extremely smooth and it handles like my old Accord, which was much smaller.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2006

2002 Honda Odyssey 3.5 from North America


Recently, while driving up a hill, I noticed a decrease in power in my 2002 Odyssey. My engine light came on, and so did the TCS light. The service department at my local dealer found a dead piston. I’m up to about $2400 in authorization charges in order to pinpoint the source of the problem. The extended 75K mile extended warranty people will not authorize repair payment until it is determined that it is a factory defect. Since there is no compression in one piston and no metal was found in the oil pan, it is probably a bad/broken valve. Is it possible that Honda will refuse to pay for this repair even tough I bought their extended warranty?

I am very disappointed in Honda for the treatment I’ve received so far.

Has anybody had this kind of engine problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th August, 2006

2002 Honda Odyssey LX 6 cylinder from North America




When I picked up the car, the dash lights would come on and go off intermittently.

Brake light bulbs burned out over and over at 10,000 miles.

Wiring harness burned out at 40,000 miles.

Many other electrical ghosts.

Alternator replaced at 120,000 miles. So far it has fallen off twice now.

Many other minor problems like doors sticking, Idle air control valve replaced, EGR valve replaced.

General Comments:

When I bought this Honda I was told that if I really liked the reliability of a Toyota I would love the Cadillac of Japanese cars and I should buy a Honda.

Will never buy a Honda again! More problems with this Odyssey than friends have with their Chrysler products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2006

15th May 2006, 22:18

I have a 1999 model.

1- the brake lights burned twice.

2- the sliding doors stuck sometimes.

3- the transmission has been replaced at 60K, it was under warranty.

2002 Honda Odyssey EX V6 240hp from North America


Best van I have ever owned


No major problems.

Timing belt at 140000 miles.

Only problem is the service light is on whenever it wants to, but I don't really care about it.

General Comments:

This is the best vehicle I have ever purchased. I don't regularly scheduale maintenance checks and replace the oil usually a couple thousand miles over. I have had the car since November 2001 and have over 140000 miles on it. Awesome gas mileage. If I'm on the highway on cruise, I can usually get around 450 to 500 miles out of the tank which is great. Everything works great. I have gotten numerous mailes from the dealership that I trade in the van since it is in excellent condition. I believe I will get a good 300000 miles out of this van, and I havnt replaced nothing. I have read previous articles relating too bad transmission, bad stereo, bad tailgates, bad this and that. I have had no such problems with this van. However I do agree the electronic doors sometimes have a mind of its own and that they are impossible to open when it cold or icy outside which gets really aggravating. And to add to this, it is really sad when I'm at a stop light and I have some pedal to the medal crazy teenager racing me in his 2002 Camaro. Yeah, I gunned it and I smoked him. I have done this on numerous occasions just for my pleasure. I have maxed out the van at 117 mph with no problems. No one expects a minivan to smoke any car at a stoplight, but this van does.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2006

26th Jan 2008, 10:56

I agree. Great van! We're in Minnesota (it's been well below zero all week) and we've never had trouble with the automatic doors so I guess we're lucky. I'd share the "smokin" part with my teenage son, who complains about having to drive a minivan, but I don't want to give him any ideas!