2002 Honda Odyssey EX from North America


Nice car, but too many problems for Honda


As of December 25, 2006, I have a 2002 Odyssey EX that I bought new.

I have had a transmission mount replaced.

Rear main seal replaced.

Sliding door motor replaced (under warranty).

Rear door struts replaced (under warranty).

Now at 85,000 miles, the drive 'D' indicator started blinking. Dealer replaced a sensor in the transmission, but told me he recommends a new transmission (5200 dollars).

I told him that he is nuts. Called Honda America, and they told me it would take a few days and they would get back with me (it has been a week and I am still waiting). I was told Honda does not fix transmissions, they just replace them.

Found out my recall for the 'oil insertion pack' occurred in June of 2004 after I had 40,000 miles on my vehicle. I told Honda America they need to consider this when they review my record.

I have 2 neighbors with 2002 Odysseys. The first had 2 transmissions replaced under warranty. The other just got a new transmission at 60,000 miles under an extended warranty they bought with the vehicle.

I was in a meeting at work discussing my Odyssey problem (several people at meeting also have Odysseys), and one of my coworkers said after his trip to Colorado during Spring Break, his 'D' indicator is now flashing (he has a 2003 odyssey). Maybe these are only coincidences, but I think Honda has got some real problems with their Odyssey transmissions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th December, 2006

8th Jan 2007, 03:52

Maybe that's why Honda is settling a class action lawsuit regarding its faulty transmissions- surely you're aware?

2002 Honda Odyssey EX-L 3.5L from North America


Recommended Buy, You'll love it!


Nothing, the automatic sliding doors take time to get used to.

General Comments:

This is a very useful vehicle, gets you around in comfort. I would recommend to anyone that needs a vehicle with room for people or cargo. AAA

Love it.

My second Honda and they have never disappointed me.

You won't regret this purchase like a previous crap domestic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2006

26th Dec 2006, 19:03

Now now lets not put down our domestic friends... and enemies (cough Ford cough). Although some domestic vehicles aren't up to the Japanese quality my Honda has honestly disappointed me. I got the fully loaded '02 EX Leather. My first disappointment was the Transmission, then the dieing sliding doors, then my ripping leather (and I'm just a light guy 5'10 at 160 I shouldn't be doing that much damage!!!) and then just after the skimpy rust warranty was up I noticed a huge rust patch on the passenger door on the other side of where the mirror is. A major surprise to me and more when Honda told me tough luck! Well tough luck to you too Honda, as a previous fan and multiple time buyer, I am now hesitant unlike before where it wasn't even a thought to look at anything else! I had a 1987 prelude, 1992 Accord, 1995 accord, 2001 civic and now my odyssey now looking at Toyota!

3rd Feb 2007, 14:01

I am very glad I found this web site. I purchased the 02 Odyssey because our prior Nissan was so racked with problems. Honda is so dependable and is built to last. Or so I thought. We buy, pay off and keep our vehicles for several more years. I was driving to work at 6am 2 weeks ago and this van with 96K miles transmission died. The engine light went on and it would not accelerate over 20 (I'm on the expressway)! This van has been very well maintained with a only a couple minor problems. I had planned to have it for another 3-4 years. At $4000+ to fix-this is crazy. I have been waiting for a week for the American Honda rep to call me back. Not a happy consumer.