1989 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 2 of 14

1989 Honda Prelude 4WSI 2.2 twin turbo from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Extremely fast and beautiful vehicle

Faults:

I have restored my 1989 Prelude better than new condition.

The only thing that needed to be replaced were slotted rotors, brakes and tires.

General Comments:

I have made serious performance modifications. 20,000.00.

Serious fabrication modifications. 20,000.00.

Car is equipped with a 15 thousand paint job... Red...

Prelude has won extensive SEMA awards over last 15 years.

Only the best Audio and Video equipment was professionally installed and fabricated. 60,000.00.

Performance modifications added additional 375 horsepower.

If you need any help or questions about your Prelude, email me at jetskiguy36@yahoo.com and I would be glad to answer any questions you might have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2009

22nd Sep 2009, 01:18

OK.. So you're saying you put upwards of $80,000 into a $1,500 car??

23rd Sep 2009, 01:32

When I purchased the car new, it was 23,000.00

21st Dec 2009, 03:12

You won't find another Prelude in this world as opulent as mine. It's impossible hands down!

22nd Dec 2009, 12:28

"You won't find another Prelude in this world as opulent as mine. It's impossible hands down!"

Well I wouldn't think so.

You do realize, however, that you could have purchased a 638 hp Corvette ZR-1 for the money you have into the Prelude... and have a warranty? In a race it will leave you sitting at the light wondering where it went and it will be worth something down the road. You will never sell your Honda for even 1/3 of what you have into it.

I am sure it is very nice, so not knocking you there, but to put $80K into a car that was only worth around $23K 20 years ago?? Don't see that every day.

My Mom had a brand new '89 Prelude Si back then. It was a fun car to drive, but extremely small inside. It was a pretty cool car overall, but I would never have thought of adding to its cost or customizing it. Preludes, like most Honda's were commuter cars with no real longevity as far as value is concerned. It was only 130 hp so the performance was negligible. My '88 5.0 Mustang was a much better driving experience and it was $10K less than your Prelude was brand new. Plus you wouldn't have had to put $80K into it to make it look or perform better than your Honda does now. Okay, looks are subjective... but performance isn't.

22nd Sep 2012, 02:29

I don't believe that you would be able to add a twin turbo to the car, LOL. I also don't believe that you actually did spend that much money, and made that many modifications to the Prelude. I'm pretty sure I would have seen it on a forum somewhere.

23rd Sep 2012, 03:03

The most expensive Prelude in 1989 was the 4WS variant... that was $18,450. The Si was $16,965.

1989 Honda Prelude 2.0 Si 4WS 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired309000 kilometres
Most recent distance311000 kilometres
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

I'm in looove!

Faults:

Well, I've owned the car for 2 weeks. I've only done the rear bushes, cost $500.

General Comments:

I have to say, I love driving it. It's my first manual, and while the gearbox is small and easily navigable, I find myself occasionally missing gears. I also find first and reverse gears hard to get into, particularly reverse. Heck, I reckon I'm learning how to drive it so it's OK.

I am amazed at the cornering of this car. I drive in the mountains daily, racking up 1200 +ks a week, on a road with tight corners, and the ability of this car to corner out strips my wife's supercharged Commodore.

The steering is very light, and only annoys me when I hit a bump that affects only one side of the car.

I have no complaints. The car was in excellent condition when purchased, and has non standard 16 inch low profile tyres and a Honda aftermarket steering wheel. Inside and out the car is terrific. I reckon for $5000, the car is a bargain.

BTW: the car has a newer engine in it (with only about 100 000 ks on the clock.

With the reduced cost in fuel (I'm running about 8 litres per 100 km) I expect to save over $150 per month at the bowser.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2009

22nd Oct 2009, 15:30

Need to know how to install aftermarket steering wheel on 90 4ws. Please contact me at pisces5150@yahoo.com

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 61 reviews