1990 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1990 Honda Prelude Si 2.1 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.1 Manual
Distance when acquired234000 miles
Most recent distance251000 miles

Summary:

This is a great car for those with little money

Faults:

It burns quite a bit of oil, and has since I purchased it at 234,000 mi.

General Comments:

This car is very quick and handles beautifully! It just passed 250,000 miles. and other than burning oil, it runs like a top. What can you expect from a car that has driven to the moon? I would recommend this car to anyone looking for some cheap performance. However, it is a little cramped on space, as it only seats four, and not very comfortably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2006

3rd Sep 2008, 00:10

How much oil are you burning?

1990 Honda Prelude S 2.0L from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired290000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

True essence of a Honda.

Faults:

Timing belt was replaced when I first purchased the car.

Alternator was replaced.

Small scratches on rear bumper.

Small patch of surface rust by windshield.

After market parts are hard to find and are usually expensive.

General Comments:

My prelude was my first car.

Although it has high kilometres, it runs like a dream and doesn't burn oil.

The car is amazing. It hugs corners and is quite peppy. Tends to guzzle a fair bit of gas when you stomp on the accelerator, but it's not a disappointing ride.

It is short-geared and revs a little high, but it gives it a true sports car feel. The transmission feels nice and tight. Shifting is easy and precise.

The only spots of rust is a small patch near the top of the windshield. Easily fixed with some sanding and Bondo.

I had plans to go far with this car, until I got into an accident with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2006

1990 Honda Prelude 4ws Si 2.1L from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.1L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance126535 miles

Summary:

The best car in the world

Faults:

The engine was burning oil like crazy at first, now it doesn't.

My second cylinder all of a sudden lost compression at 125,500 miles.

Body has slight damage and exterior rust.

General Comments:

This car is a dream to drive, it is the quickest car I know that costs this little.

The car can max out at 125 mph without any performance modifications.

It is very stable at high speeds.

It has 4-wheel steering, which helps get in and out of tight spots.

If anyone knows of any place were I can find performance parts for this model, please email me the addresses of the suppliers to Josh_bear229@hotmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2005

1990 Honda Prelude S.I. ALB 2.1 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Great practical car, that is still fun to drive.

Faults:

Starter.

Previous owner had to replace:

Timing belt 87000.

Alternator 110000.

General Comments:

So far the car is fantastic. I replaced my SUV specifically to get better gas mileage because of all the driving I would be doing over the next few years. So far I've been getting slightly better than 30 miles per gallon with a few performance modifications.

The car has plenty of get up and go and is great on the highway. Has a great balance of performance for how cheap the vehicle costs to own (gas, insurance, maintenance).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2005

1990 Honda Prelude S 4 Banger from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 Banger Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres

Summary:

Fast, Cheap, Reliable

Faults:

Blew a fuse, about 50 cents to replace.

Rust = Problem.

General Comments:

Great car. I bought it for $2900 canadian. So far I've never had a single problem with it. Even in the freezing cold canadian winter mornings, it still starts up with no problems. I'm in the process of fixing my rust which is sort of a pain, but I'm doing it my self so it won't cost me bunch. The preludes really quick, and the engine seems to crave power. I would recommend this car to anyone if they want a reliable, fast car. However I just got lucky and found a cheap one. Not too many of these around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

1990 Honda Prelude SR from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Most recent distance89000 kilometres
Previous carMazda GLC

Summary:

A fabulous fun car to own and drive

Faults:

The automatic radio antenna is sticking now.

The knob came off the temperature control.

General Comments:

I've owned my 1990 Prelude SR since 1993. I loved it so much that I had it shipped across the country by train when I moved.

I had the original muffler in it until I moved to Ontario and had to finally replace the muffler last year.

Other than that, this car has been very impressive.

It drives GREAT! It has lots of power (although I don't know the horsepower).

Every time I pull into a service station to fill up, the attendants want to know if I'll sell my car.

I rarely see SR's and I'm not sure what the difference is between SR and Si for instance, but it must be a little rare.

All I know for sure is that it's been a wonderful car and I'll be very sad to part with it when I do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

1st Feb 2006, 19:49

The SR is canadian and the Si is american.

5th Apr 2006, 21:29

Hi.

I am planning on buying a 91 Prelude SR, the only complaint from the owner is it burns oil. Is that a usual thing for prelude? Otherwise the car is good, with minor rust. It passed emission testing with flying colours.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 20 reviews