1990 Honda Prelude Si 4WS 2.1 DOHC from North America

Summary:

Sharp, Fast, Nimble, Comfortable, Reliable, Fuel efficient... Need I Say More

Faults:

Fluctuations with the oil level have left me confused. It Doesn't seem to burn oil, but at times the level is lower than others. Nothing else to report.

General Comments:

These cars are very rare and I was blessed to find one in Perfect condition with such low mileage. Surely it will be a collectors item. The 4 Wheel Steering genuinely works. Major differences can be felt at highway speeds as well as when cruising around town. It's a sensation I wish you all could enjoy. I hope to own this car for another 20 years. Honda was ahead of their time with the Prelude Si 4WS!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2004

1990 Honda Prelude EX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Great quality, sporty looks, excellent ride and quick at bargain price

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong.

For the last 2 years MOT only one tyre and a wiper blade, so I cannot complain!

Although if something were to go wrong it would cost a fair bit, but luckily its built to last.

General Comments:

The car is quite quick and handles extremely well. It is so easy and comfortable to drive, with a smooth manual gear box and excellent self adjusting power steering.

The interior looks very sporty and even the sport seat look like new. There are no marks whatsoever on the dash, total quality. No signs of wear at all!! The rear is a bit cramped, but that's to be expected, for that the front seats are excellent.

The car is made for country roads, but is also comfortable on the motorway and easy in town traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2004

1990 Honda Prelude EX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

You have to own one to really appreciate how good these cars are!

Faults:

Apart from general service items and consumables (rear brake pads, battery, exhaust section) the only problem I ever had with this car was over-choking on cold - the wax stat in the carburettor was worn. Unfortunately it's a part that's difficult to get without buying a whole new twin carburettor set, so I just "drove through" the problem.

General Comments:

An extremely well-built car.

Very smooth, comfortable ride.

Easy to drive, handles really well.

The automatic gearbox is about the best I've driven - a fantastic piece of engineering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

1990 Honda Prelude 2.0S 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Fast, reliable, stylish transportation

Faults:

I recently have had to put some real money into my Prelude. My exhaust rotted out after 175000 miles, and the rear braking system seized shortly after.

These two repairs were relatively costly. Honda parts aren't cheap. Prelude parts are the most expensive of all the Honda parts.

Other than those repairs: new distributer cap, 4 new tires, changed oil, brake pads all around once. Easy stuff.

General Comments:

This car is really quick. Going from my Neon, I was amazed. The first time driving my Prelude, I couldn't get used to how much gas you have to give it to make smooth starts and shifts. This car wants to scream.

It red lines very high, and I keep it high. The majority of power comes in at 3500, and goes all the way to 6000.

The handling is good, but the 13" wheels and tires are way to small.

Great gas mileage, engine will run forever, great car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

9th Jan 2003, 20:02

I thought that all the honda preludes from 1988 had 14" rims not 13", I personally tried to fit a 13" steel rim onto my prelude (1992 model UK - last 3rd gen with flick up lights) and I found that the 13" rim wouldn't fit over the caliper on the front hub.

7th Dec 2003, 16:08

I have an 89 honda prelude and it doesn't have 13 inch rims... it has 13 and a half inch rims stock. Makes it very hard to find tires for. But I totally agree that they are way too small.

27th Jan 2004, 10:16

I have a 1989 Honda Prelude S. I love it. The US 1988 and 1989 S model only came with 13" wheels. The engine had less power than the Si and smaller front brakes. With a few modifications, the S can be just as fast as the Si. The only problem is that not many people know how to squeeze power out of the carburetors.

27th Dec 2004, 23:43

What modifications are there for the S model? You mentioned squeezing power out of the carbureted... I have an '88 S.

23rd Mar 2008, 14:20

I have a 90" Honda prelude. my first car and I love it. I'm putting a new muffler system on her (cherry bomb). It was funny because all of yours have like 13's and 13'6" but mine has 14's. I'm the second owner. also the person before me put a trashy tip on the muffler and makes it sound weird. I have the s series. pretty nice little car. its got get up and go to it.

9th Jun 2008, 04:08

I have the 1990 Honda 2.0S. It is a great little car, however it is very hard to get into and out of.

My question is would larger tires and wheels make this process easier?

How would this effect the gas mileage?

What is the best size recommended?