1995 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1995 Honda Prelude Si VTEC 2.2L DOHC vtec from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2L DOHC vtec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

The PERFECT balance of performance and reliability

Faults:

Only normal wear and tear. CV boots/drive axles replaced at 135K

Seats have small tears were the leather is perforated. This car has been exellent and I beat the crap out of it daily. But, what do expect, it`s a HONDA.

Oh, I almost forgot I had to replace the oxygen sensor too.

General Comments:

The fourth generation Prelude VTEC is a smooth docile car in commuting, maintaining good gas mileage, and street presense. But when you feel like it you can take most freeway interchanges and loops at double the speed advised. This is an extremely quick car from the factory (I ran a 14.8 second 1/4 mile at 93.7mph stock), so naturally, on the freeway, you can get going 85-90mph without even realizing it. At 5000 rpm hold on to the wheel because the VTEC will cause torque steer do to a lack of a limited-slip differential in the U.S. models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2005

1995 Honda Prelude SE 2.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance69500 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Awesome!

Faults:

Had to change the timing belt along with a water pump.

Tires needed to be changed.

Alignment was horrible.

However, all of this is due to the previous owner's laziness, but once the car was maintained there were absolutely no problems.

General Comments:

This car drives more like a '98 car and the quickness of the vehicle can beat many newer cars out today. Handling, especially on sharp turns, is top notch.

Options are great with leather seats, premium wheels, and a decent sound system. Seating is cramped except for the driver, but this wasn't meant to be a sedan!

The looks of the car is still impressive with the low nose and aggressive appearance. This car was built to last with low maintenance needs. Interior is rather unique, but in a cool way. For its affordable price, it's totally worth buying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2001

27th Nov 2006, 15:01

A 5 year old honda CAN be awesome. Just like you can be a douchebag.

20th Jun 2007, 14:15

If you wish to compare a Honda Prelude to BMW, Lotus, Ferrari, etc, then lets also compare price. You won't find a practical sporty coup (or sports car) with any of your other favorite companies that is priced comparatively.

1995 Honda Prelude 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

This car really is an 'atomic kitten'

Faults:

Front bushes have worn and my rear brakes were sticking.

General Comments:

This is what all coupe's should aspire to be like. I have never been so proud of any car that I have owned than of my Prelude. They do require attention and regular servicing to keep them running in top fashion, but it is worth it in the long run. A great looking car that also drives exceptionally well. Mine simply loves corners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

1995 Honda Prelude Special Edition 2.3 L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired41120 miles
Most recent distance44700 miles

Summary:

The perfect front wheel drive sports coupe

Faults:

The brake rotors were slightly warped when I bought this car, dealer resurfaced it and now it's perfect.

The steering wheel would shake due to unbalanced wheels from the previous owner.

Not anything major.

General Comments:

Great car in every way!!!!! Very precise handling, quick acceleration, great brake feel, etc.. Very eye catching with the cashmiere gold paint and Special Edition rims. Interior also very welcoming with tan leather seats. A rare Prelude because of the "SE" model trim.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2000

18th Mar 2001, 21:59

I also just recently purchased a 95 SE and I am now a believer in Honda. I was an avid American car driver and now I realize that Honda's are so much better!! The car completely kicks butt in every way!!

1995 Honda Prelude VTEC 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carAudi 200 quattro

Summary:

I defy anyone not to enjoy driving a Prelude VTEC

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Handles superbly. After several months of ownership I still exit corners realising I could have taken them faster.

Reasonably economical and ridiculously quick for a 2.2 (thank you VTEC).

Surprisingly big car with surprisingly little room in it, but it does look fantastic.

Can suffer with tyre noise, depending what make's fitted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2000

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews