2001 Honda S2000 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Something different, but with an absolutely breathtaking engine


I have had no problems with the car.

General Comments:

An absolutely fabulous car, it has the looks, the engine, the chassis and its different.

The soft top is so easy to put up and down and its very snug and warm even on a winters day with the top down.

I drive it 40 miles to work very day and it drives as well in the city as its does on the motorway.

But it is in its element on a smooth and curvy piece of tarmac on a balmy weekend.

I love it to bits.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2002

2001 Honda S2000 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Utterly thrilling!


Nothing so far.

General Comments:

After driving an Integra Type-R on a work track day, I had been totally amazed by the sound of a screaming VTEC engine. So to pick this up last year was a dream come true. Red-lining at 9,000 rpm, the sound is embarrassing (loud) when you overtake. Torque needs to be higher at lower rpm, but when you hit 6,000 rpm it takes off! We have made 0-60mph in 5.5 seconds.

I bought this car mainly for the performance, but you need to be aware of some other points as well. The car comes with one equipment level. It has mod-cons, but nothing flash, no sat-nav for instance.

The roof is great, but you'll be glad of the fantastic heater which has kept us warm at snowline temperatures. Don't be put off by it folding down, the boot can be completely filled up with the roof down (unlike the SLK).

We totally love this car, it's made driving a pleasure again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

13th Mar 2006, 12:24

If this is based on a DC2 Integra I think the book 0-60 time is more like 6.6 seconds, it actually has a 1.8 litre engine and I have never seen a convertible integra type r.

This is unless it has been modded.

If it's a DC5 Integra, it's a little faster, and with a 2 litre lump I think. Still no convertible though.

I bought a DC2 a month ago.

3rd May 2006, 09:27

He drove the integra on a track day and then bought a s2000 - read the review _properly_

22nd May 2006, 16:06

Lol ^^ sounds nice.. I am considering a 2000reg s2000 silver with red interior, they look sweet! not many seen on the roads.. seems like a good change from my BMW 318ci.

26th Jun 2006, 13:10

I have just bought a 2000 model of the s2k in red, I only bought it because I failed my bike test! Still what an alternative, absolutely awesome!

2001 Honda S2000 2.0 V-Tech DOHC from Japan


If you know the dealer, get one! It's a great deal!


Absolutely nothing wrong with this car. This is one beautiful piece of steel. I also love this because I got a great deal (knowing the dealer).

General Comments:

I like it because not that many people have it also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

2001 Honda S2000 2.0 from North America


The closest thing to sports car perfection



General Comments:

This is a pure sportscar with amazing refinement. Fit and finish are superb.

The 6 speed transmission and clutch are the smoothest I have ever used (Vette, Supra Turbo, Porsche, Z28, MR2 Turbo, Viper).

The ride is smooth with excellent feel and virtually no body roll. The 50/50 balance and light weight make this car a blast to drive.

Acceleration is amazing with a 6k rpm clutch release and then shift at 8k rpm and just hold on!

This is the best sports car I have ever owned at any price! I am also 6' 3" and 215 lbs, most cars do not handle my size well (Z3 and Boxster). The Vette was comfortable as well.

Maintenance costs are only $21 every 7,500 miles for an oil change.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

12th Oct 2002, 04:23

The S2K is a fine car, but it is far from perfection in my experience. The electrical steering lacks sufficient feedback considering the skittish rear end, which combined with the lack of progressive torque to help control the rear with the throttle it makes for a very scary experience in anything other than warm, dry conditions.

The build is fantastic though, and it fits like a glove. In a hot country its probably the best car you can buy. In the UK, a Boxster is a better all-weather funster in my opinion.