2004 Hummer H2 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Hummer H2 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance48993 miles

Summary:

Horrible, never again

Faults:

Interior bits and pieces falling off.

Old transmission design very poor.

Suspension bits breaking due to this car being very poor off road.

General Comments:

This car is absolutely worthless, it is an insult to the hummer name.

- It is horrible off-road, because of it's weight and low ground clearance. It's so nice to hear your diff hitting every log and boulder as you go drive down the trail. Seriously, this thing has about 10 inches of ground clearance, that's only 2 inches more than my Subaru Outback. It also gets stuck in EVERY SINGLE mud hole while my wife gets through with no problems in the Subaru.

- The fuel economy is horrible, much worse than anything I ever owned before. Including other full size vehicles. Stop kidding yourselves... you know you're being ripped off.

- Extremely unstable and prone to side winds... if they had a grade for passing the wind tunnel... this thing would get a 0.

- Horrible visibility from the inside.

- Towing is the only thing it does somewhat decently. Not as good as a full size truck though, since the thing itself is so heavy and much of the engines power goes to just move the truck.

- Did I mention that it costs a fortune. How do they justify it costing over $10k more than a Suburban which it basically is?! The bling factor?

I really wish I bought a nice BMW 5 series or M3 for the same price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 2006

22nd Oct 2006, 03:04

You might find that the BMW 5 series doesn't fare well at all off road either...

8th Nov 2006, 14:59

You can just tell that the author is English, who says "bits" in the best country in the world (AMERICA). No bits ever fall off.

9th Nov 2006, 21:39

"Best country in the world"? Now that you`ve had your mid-term election results, you might be proven right. We`ll see.

2004 Hummer H2 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carCadillac Escalade

Summary:

The perfect poster child for the quote " live life to its fullest"

Faults:

Plastic cup holder broke.

One tie rod broke on the trail. Pain to fix.

Someone threw an axe through my windshield, that got replaced. Now I have a new axe too.

The drivers side headlamp blew. Dealer fixed that.

Another (hippy) scratched the black paint on every side, entire vehicle needed paint. They also kicked and dented the drivers door.

General Comments:

I love this truck. Its only the second really nice vehicle that I have been able to purchase. It performs well on the trail, and gets decent gas mileage.

The engine, while not producing lots of horsepower, still has enough to get past little Honda's. It also has great torque for the trail.

The interior is very nice. Leather is outstanding and feels like a lazyboy. I am 6ft3 and still have enough room to be comfortable. But I feel some of the plastic looks cheap, but other than that, every thing is perfect.

I really have a problem with some people who feel it is OK to vandalize my vehicle. I just don't understand what their problem is. People say it hogs gas, but honestly, its not any worse than a full size Chevy or Ford. It just seems that people either have no idea what they are talking about, or just need SOMETHING to vent their unknown frustrations. Maybe jealousy is a factor. I don't know. But I still love this truck, and hope to get another in the future.

I would advise getting one of these, the tax breaks are great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2006

27th Jan 2006, 23:09

I know that everyone gets mad about the gas mileage and the pollution of Hummers, but really, my truck got a lot worse than that. I know it pollutes more because it failed emissions recently and it gets about 6 mpg, rain sleet or snow, city, highway or off road. It's an F 250 with the 5.8 liter V8. I need a truck for work, and a really big one because of all the construction materials. Anyway, I know that my bosses H2 gets much better gas mileage (still not good) than my truck and should probably get the same mileage as most other trucks out there. My friends Navigator gets 8 mpg, my other friend's Armada gets 11 and my work buddy's Ram gets 7. Not to mention my wife's Suburban 2500 that gets 8 to 12 mpg. Why complain about a 10 mpg H2, I don't see that many of them on the road anyway?

2004 Hummer H2 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance54987 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

True Jeep killer!

Faults:

For some reason the radio shorted out. Fixed by GM.

Rock from the trail got kicked up, cracked the windshield. Again GM fixed it.

General Comments:

Man I love this truck. It looks very good and is very functional. You can take the family to the beach, then go off roading past all the junked jeeps, and still be home for dinner. It's just great. I let all my buddies drive it and they just love it.

The interior is very comfortable and is high quality. I don't think there is a better SUV out there that looks this good, and can rip up the trails as well as my Hummer. I plan to put bigger tiers on it, and a flow master exhaust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2006

25th Jan 2006, 23:13

That's the type of comment I expect from someone who needs to boost his ego by buying a Hummer.

Your Hummer would be sinking up to it's axles in mud, while Jeep Wranglers go off the trail and around you.

Someday maybe you'll be lucky enough to own one.

26th Jan 2006, 09:24

They won't sink in the mud if you put some big tires on them, like I did. But I also like jeeps, they do almost as well as the Hummer, but they are much smaller and can maneuver around the junkyard very well.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 6 reviews