1997 Hyundai Accent GT 1.5 DOHC from North America


Needs more horsepower


The paint around the mirrors has peeled away, I have several small dents due to thin sheet metal, I am not thrilled by the all around thin paint.

Also, the master cylinder was replaced by the previous owner.

General Comments:

I like this car and think I have gotten lucky compared to other owners, but the transmission leaves a lot to be desired, as does the paint.

I also don't like the narrow tires (P175/65/14) and the high seating. I would like to see lower seats, and a smoother shift - like in a Mitsubishi Eclipse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th July, 2001

7th Jul 2007, 19:40

As my favorite phrase goes, "you get what you pay for"! You buy and eclipse, you get those nice features.

1997 Hyundai Accent Coupe i 1.3 from UK and Ireland


Cheap but not nasty


Poor fuel economy.

Some wear on the seats.

Panels easily damaged.

PLASTIC oil sump guard eliminated by speed hump.

Windows have become stiff so difficult to wind.

Questionable motorway performance - struggles past 85.

General Comments:

Quick for a 1.3, especially an automatic.

Good handling, tail slides out: fun!

Mechanical reliability excellent, uses no oil at all no matter how it's driven!

Spacious and good looking for the money.

Dated looking cabin.

Noisy engine.

Poor fuel economy.

Servicing is expensive at Hyundai.

Poor resale value - only worth £2500 part-ex.

BUY ONE AT 3 YEARS OLD - only £3000 and worth it! Not worth paying £8500 new!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th March, 2001

29th May 2001, 03:29

Done another few thousand miles; anti-roll bar drop link needed replacing (my fault, drove a bit too hard on a back road) along with a drivers' mirror. This came to £140!!! Pretty expensive.

6th Jun 2001, 15:15

Now on 38k (12000 in 6 months - OOPS! as it isn't mine :) ) and desperate for service!

8th Aug 2001, 05:45

Struggles past 85 MPH, tail slides out (under hard cornering, presumably)...and you get poor fuel economy?

Do you think these facts may be in some way connected?

1997 Hyundai Accent L Hatchback from North America


You get what you pay for


Clutch had to be replaced after 3,000 miles.

Electrical problem, reverse lights had to be repaired. Wasn't burned out bulbs.

Check engine light came on frequently, had to be repaired (another electrical problem).

Front tires were almost balding after only 14,000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought this car because it was cheap. I didn't have to put anything down and it had a very low monthly payment. The finance department at the dealer tried to screw me over by adding additional charges without disclosing them to me but I eventually got my money back.

I live and work in the city so I only put 14,000 miles on it in the span of about 3 years. Good car for in town commuting, but kind of scarey to drive on the highway. Considering I had the above problems at such low mileage, I'm sure something more would have happened if I still had this car. (just traded it in for a 2000 Honda Civic).

Overall it's very cheap transportation, but that's about it. Luckily the service department here is good and all of my problems were fixed promptly. However there is still no excuse for the problems I had at such an early stage of the car's life. After reading other nightmare surveys of this car, I think I was one of the lucky few.

My advice - pay a little more and get something that is reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd January, 2001

19th Jun 2001, 12:45

I have a 97 Accent and nothing has gone wrong with it for the 2 1/2 years I've had it. Some advice: drive your Honda careful or the same thing will happen.

25th Jul 2001, 03:21

I had the same problem with this car! Bought this car new. My clutch went out after approx 5500 miles. Also had the same problem with the check engine light too. Dealer said that it was a common problem for this model. You made a good choice my friend, by getting a Honda. I had an 86 civic prior to this car. I never had any problems! Should have kept it!

I finally got rid of my Hyundai after taking a loss from the dealer, because the car doesn't hold its resale value at all! Now I'm driving a Nissan. No problems so far. For the guy who has been lucky with his Hyundai for the past 2 years, good luck. Better start saving money, your problems will begin to happen soon if not after your five year "limited" warranty expires.