1997 Hyundai Accent GT 1.5L DOHC from North America


An overall decent car with a few but serious problems


The rear shocks are completely shot.

The sunroof metal lip is rusted.

The car will "stumble" or hesitate when accelerating from a stop light.

The factory alarm will sometimes come on and off.

General Comments:

This car gets good gas mileage of about 25mpg in city driving and about 34 mpg on the highway.

The handling, when the shocks are good, is quite good when taking corners or stopping.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2000

1997 Hyundai Accent from North America


A disappointment


The clutch went after having it for one year, which nearly caused an accident. This has also happened to a friends model which is also a Hyundai Accent.

It is now in the garage - I need to replace the spark plugs and spark plug wires.

The sunroof leaks.

The trim around the trunk has come off.

The trunk lid is held in place by plastic brackets which have also snapped.

General Comments:

You buy cheap - expect to pay a lot in upkeep. I bought a new car thinking that I wouldn't have the troubles that I might have with a used one. What a disappointment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

1997 Hyundai Accent Coupe Si 1.3 12v from UK and Ireland


Cheap, quick and fairly stylish


Windscreen washer pump blocked.

Rear suspension needed some adjustment.

Front tyre wear quite considerable and uneven.

General Comments:

Quick and responsive for a 1.3, thanks to Hyundai's excellent 12 valve 1341cc engine.

Could do with a little more refinement, but has it where it matters.

Highly impressed with my local dealership, as is common with Hyundai.

Definitely looks better in the spoiler-endowed "Coupe Si" edition than the basic "Coupe i" for the vintage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2000

14th Apr 2001, 01:41

I purchased a new Hyundai Accent in 97 and have never been happy with the car, although I have not had any problems other than with the dealer themselves which has probably clouded my judgement.

I have not found the car to be particularly economical on fuel and it gets blown about in the wind at speed when there is more than one passenger.

15th Feb 2012, 15:59

Agree with pretty much everything here, just don't think the spoiler does the mk1 Accent any favours. But then few spoilers work in my opinion.

1997 Hyundai Accent GLSi 1.5 petrol from UK and Ireland


Great car if you're not in a hurry



General Comments:

Hideously underpowered. Overtaking is almost impossible; hills are a real challenge. I've been told the manual gearbox is better - it could hardly be worse.

Body work very flimsy, body coloured bumpers easily scratched.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2000

29th May 2001, 03:27

I find my 1.3 auto is fine if its worked hard. I'm a bit of a boy racer and use my mums, but its not slow! Try keeping the overdrive off, it'll run right through to 100 before the rev limiter cuts in. You'll get 65 in second aswell, so try it.

1997 Hyundai Accent GL 4-door 1.5 litre from North America


A great car for a high school student


Dirty throttle body made my car stall, but I cleaned it with a carb cleaner.

General Comments:

It's a good car, I need something bigger like a Hyundai Sonata or Dodge Ram.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2000

1997 Hyundai Accent GT 1.5L DOHC from North America


Buy any Hyundai only as a last resort


CV Joint boots failed at 1000 miles.

Wiper motor replaced twice.

Clutch Master cylinder replaced.

Door leaks not fixed after 3 trips to dealer.

Entire right rear suspension replaced.

Sunroof metal frame rusted out.

Backup light switch in transmission failed.

Fuel Injectors require cleaning every 10000 miles despite using 93 octane Amoco gasoline.

General Comments:

A complete disappointment overall after terrific first few months of ownership.

Ashamed to be seen in it. However, would be a great car for your teenage daughter to drive to high school provided you didn't care about her safety.

Car WILL NOT stay on the road when it's rainy. Simple things like lane changes must be made with care.

Two words: Resale Value. I've been paying on my Accent for three years and I still owe $2500 more on it than it's worth!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2000

30th Jan 2002, 19:37

"Driving is Believing". Believing what? I believe all Hyundais suck and the company should be shut down. They are a disgrace to the automotive world coming in just behind Yugo and Kia. It's no wonder why they are so cheap and have a huge warranty; it's because they break all the time! Nothing but a heap of plastic and recycled Pepsi cans. I've even seen one that's been turned into a port-o-potty. Now it actually has a good purpose!

7th Jul 2007, 19:38

Just to keep your facts straight, Hyundai and kia are partner companies who share their work, making them pretty much the same!

1st May 2010, 19:27

I bought my Hyundai Accent for 75 euros. It's good, clean and gets me from A to B. If you don't like them, don't buy, but if you're like me and just starting driving, get one; cheap tax, cheap insurance, and does the job till you can get insured on an Integra Type R.

31st May 2012, 20:09

Well I have 2 Hyundai's.

My 1997 Accent has 300k miles on it and runs like a champ; for 36 miles to a gallon, you can't beat it.

My 2006 Sante Fe has 118k miles on it and still runs awesome. I did have to replace a water pump and timing belt.