2001 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 12 of 16

2001 Hyundai Accent GS from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Sprint

Summary:

Great bargain, but be on toes re insurance

Faults:

Brakes have been squealing for some time now. Also, at times when I turn the steering wheel, I hear a moaning sound that sounds like it's coming from the front tires. This does not occur all the time.

General Comments:

I assume it's because the accent is only a 4 cylinder vehicle that the engine is pretty loud after I am going 50 miles per hour or faster.

I just found out that my auto insurance will increase over $300 a year because the accent has a bad ERG rating. I'm not sure what all that means, but my auto insurance should have caught the increase 3.5 years ago when I bought the car. This angers me that a newer, safer vehicle will raise my insurance, since the last vehicle I drove didn't even have airbags and it was 15 years old. I cannot find any information about this ERG rating thing, and I'd love to find other people who are in my 'boat'.

The accent does have an arm rest only on the driver's seat. This is a great feature for long drives.

I was very happy when I found out the accent had a lumbar support in the driver's seat. The dial to change the lumbar is easy to turn and easy to get to while seated.

The windshield wiper blades that came with the vehicle are bad; they don't work well at all.

While using the wipers, whether it be to clean the windshield of dirt, or while use in the rain, they throw water or washer fluid onto the drivers side window. This is annoying, especially if the drivers side window is open during nice weather. Also, in the middle of the windshield, where the wipers just wiped, there's always a little water/washer fluid left as a streaky blob.

When it's raining and I open the door to enter or exit the vehicle, water always gets on the running board (the step the is under the bottom of the door). This water never dries and, if I leave it, will make the whole car smell moldy. I always have to wipe it dry after the weather clears.

The accent does not have a button to unlock/open the hatch. I used to have a Ford escort that had a button, which was very useful. At times, I'd like to get into the trunk/hatch while leaving my car running. I cannot do this, since I only have the one key with me.

A good thing with the hatch is that it's a way to get into the car when you've locked yourself out of the other doors. One time I left the hatch unlocked (accidentally, actually), but locked the doors. I was easily able to climb into the hatch, and get into the rest of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2003

6th Aug 2007, 02:11

ERG might mean educational reference group, one criterion insurance companies use to determine rates. Car insurance rates are a scam anyway. Example: Doctors (and architects) as groups are terrible drivers, but doctors get car insurance discounts because insurance companies want to insure their homes, second homes, boats, and sell them annuities. GEICO charges single males about 1/3 more for car insurance than married males, even if they're terrific drivers.

2001 Hyundai Accent GS 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance28500 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

This is a lemon

Faults:

Shifting problems: The shifter grinds into first and second gear ever since I bought the car. I've been to the dealership 5 times about this. They "can't re-create the problem"

Front brakes: Very soft. After several trips to the dealership to convince them of the problem, they replaced the front brakes after only 11 000Km.

Engine light on: Intermittently goes on for no apparent reason. Several trips to the dealership, they have found nothing wrong and just reset the light.

Spark plug ping: Every single time I shift. I've been driving cars with manual transmissions for 20 years and the dealer insists that I don't know how to shift properly.

General Comments:

This is my second Accent. The 1997 model was a fantastic car, I never had a problem with it. It appears that they have improved the looks of the car, but failed in keeping the mechanics intact. I wrote a complaint letter to Hyundai Canada in hopes that they would replace the car - I was willing to take another Accent. Their reply was extremely defensive and offered no solutions. I used to be a loyal Hyundai customer, but I will never buy another Hyundai again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

25th Jan 2004, 15:26

Shifting problems that other drivers can't re-create. You've been shifting improperly for 20 years and have just been luck not to have problems.

10th Feb 2004, 09:38

I have same accent that had same problems. Dealer has pathetic service practices, but I was able to resolve. Brakes were bled and have been working fine. Transmission fluid topped off (Seems they don't actually fill it up at factory) and even though 87 octane is recommended started using 91+ octane and spark plug ping stopped. The engine light in my case was the mass airflow sensor harness was a little loose. Tightened up and running OK up to now.

17th Sep 2004, 09:15

Re the gearbox "problems" with the Accent.

The gear linkage is very particular about the timing of gear changes. It becomes second-nature among many drivers to shift out slightly before the clutch is fully disengaged. With the Accent this will, if done repeatedly, put the cable-operated linkage out of adjustment, with the result that you get intermittent "crashing" effects on the gearchanges (in reality a crash of the linkage system and not the gearbox itself). This is related to the mechanism preventing clutchless gearchanges.

If you make absolutely sure you fully depress the clutch every single time before even beginning to change gear, the noise will subside. It's an irritant, but a "feature" of this particular car and not one that will affect the reliability of the transmission.

11th Mar 2005, 22:13

I too have written Hyundai Canada a letter in regards to my absolutely horrible service at two of their dealerships. They pretty much told me there is nothing they were willing to do and that I should contact the service manager. The problem was it was the service manager I was having a problem with. I will never own another Hyundai based on the inadequate service I have received in Manitoba.

27th Sep 2006, 19:54

I can solve your grinding problem. I had a similar problem. Can be one of two problems.

1- the carpet mat cannot go under the clutch, because the cluth pedal won't go down all the way with the mats underneath. Your clutch needs be to be repositioned. I did this and the clutch won't grind anymore!

13th Feb 2007, 13:29

Check the clutch fluid level. It is a hydraulic clutch and if the level is low, the clutch won't disengage properly. That could cause your problem. Cleveland dealerships have been good to me, but I do everything not covered by warranty myself. good luck.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 55 reviews