2001 Hyundai Accent Reviews - Page 9 of 16

2001 Hyundai Accent 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance13400 miles
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

I still love my car going into the third year!

Faults:

In the harsh winters, the rear parking brake sometimes sticks on until you drive 5 feet and then it releases with a clunk.

No other faults found to date.

General Comments:

This is a cute, affordable, reliable car with many more built in comforts than one would expect for the price.

Third year and have not needed the a/c charged.

Have kept up with all oil changes including the break-in period of 3000 miles when I had the oil changed every 1000 miles during that time for extra safety.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2004

2001 Hyundai Accent GS 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Faults:

Sensors had to be replaced constantly. My car would start to accelerate at a complete stop to the point in which the brakes were useless. My Rpms would rev up to 6000.

My brakes were replaced 3 times in 2 years. I went to the dealership for my squealing brakes and they told me there was dust on my brakes and within 3 weeks my rotors were burnt into.

I was 5000 miles over on my oil change and I blew a rod through my motor which wasn't replace by warranty.

My car was in the shop 18 times within 3 years before it finally died.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

16th Aug 2004, 11:44

I have had my Accent for 3 years and 60000 miles. I have changed the oil every 3000 miles with a synthetic blend. Not one problem. I must say you need to change the oil every 3000 miles and get the extended warranty.

3rd Oct 2004, 19:11

A small motor, and excessive use with out changing the oil. What do you expect? only 5000 miles over...

22nd Dec 2006, 19:48

If you are that lazy that you went 5,000 miles over on your oil change, you deserve to have a blown motor.

17th Apr 2007, 13:49

You strike me as the type of person who drives on under inflated tires and then complains when they blow out.

Hope you learned a valuable lesson. try to find another way to pinch $20 out of your budget other than neglecting an oil change.

5th Sep 2011, 04:18

Hydraulic lifters - no oil pressure, valve train running hot DOHC.

Car : Hyundai Accent 2001 GS.

Sump has been removed and oil pickup cleaned.

Diesel oil was used, but following this after 100 kilometres, was a loss of oil pressure. When I removed the sump and valve cover, I replaced it with car motor oil.

2001 Hyundai Accent i 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles

Summary:

Good for a budget car

Faults:

One piece of trim around the front bumper needed re-gluing (warranty fix).

Control buttons on clock very stiff, clock replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Performance is adequate rather than brilliant, but for a 1.3 it's quite nippy. Runs out of acceleration a bit past 65-70mph.

Interior a bit cheap and plasticky, but seems well put together with no rattles, although the drivers seat does squeak a bit (maybe due to my fat backside!!!)

Nice and easy to drive, great clutch and gearchange, steering is light and responsive, lacks a bit of feel though and grip is a bit lacking in the wet.

Brakes good, but a bit soft -- lots of braking power at high speeds, but not much assistance compared with some more modern designs.

Some nice design touches, such as the rubberised rear bumper covering around the hatch area to protect the paintwork, and the cup-holder mechanism on the dashboard. The car seems very logically set out to me as well.

Paintwork is very good. I can't see any blemishes on my car.

Car seems to be very reliable, but there is one complaint I have -- it isn't very refined. *All* Accents and Kia Rios I've driven seem to be the same -- not much sound-proofing, and the gearbox whines slowing down in second. It isn't severe, but it is annoying unless you put it out of your mind.

Overall, for the money, I'm happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2004

29th May 2005, 15:43

OK, still have this car, I've put another 13000 near-faultless miles on it, only issue has been a noisy wheel bearing that was replaced without fuss under warranty. Apart from that it has served me well, always starts first turn of the key and still no mechanical or electrical issues to speak of. On a four year old cheap car, that's not a bad record.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 55 reviews