2nd Oct 2008, 19:16

I guess I must have imagined I read the specifics of a break in period in my Hyundai owner's manual.

I must also have imagined gaining around 10 miles to the gallon consistently between 30 miles on the odometer and 6000 now. Guess what. That happens because the engine breaks in.

Let's think about this: how would that occur?? It's almost like the engine would loosen up slightly, and tolerances throughout the engine would 'wear in' during the first couple thousand miles. And that, my friends, is exactly what does in fact happen to EVERY new engine of any make or kind.

So... if you think the best way to help your engine through that is to redline it from day 1... well, I don't know what to say to you.

And by the way, this is my review; I filled up today, checked mileage on the last tank. FORTY ONE miles per gallon. I am so impressed with this car. I criticized a guy a while ago for possibly not knowing how to figure mileage when he said his new Accent was getting 42 mpg. I spoke too soon. Hyundai's 1.6 liter engine is awesome.

4th Oct 2008, 19:50

OK, so I guess imports DO grind up metal in the engine during the first few miles due to poor tolerances, but domestics got beyond that decades ago. I also assume that Hyundai service managers know nothing about their cars, as they laughed at the idea of 500 mile oil changes and a 1950's style "break-in" period.

5th Oct 2008, 21:50

19:50 ALL engines break in, and NO... domestics didn't get past anything. They're much further behind in all aspects than imports, actually.

It is a FACT that there are contaminants in your new engine, no matter what make it is, and that's why you should change your factory fill after 500 miles.

Do whatever maintenance you see fit to YOUR vehicles. I know what is supposed to be done, and when, and I do it.

And by the way, J.D. Power just rated my car, the '08 Accent, as the best subcompact car on the market, not some crappy domestic like an Aveo or a Ford Focus.

6th Oct 2008, 22:09

19:50 If you want to make phone calls to dealerships, why not call the Ford or GM garage and ask them why they were beaten 14 vehicles to 5 in J.D. Power's latest survey of reliable vehicles?

Seems to me you should be worrying more about being stuck in a domestic. The imports are doing fine, and cleaning up, as usual, in the reliability and quality categories.

Here's a funny story about my local GM garage: a friend bought a new Chevy Aveo. He hates it. Gas mileage is around 32, my Accent got 41 last tank.

He took it in for maintenance, and supposedly 'certified' GM mechanics told him they couldn't change his air filter because... they couldn't get the screws out to open the box. He isn't mechanically inclined at all, and neither are some GM mechanics, apparently. It took me 5 minutes to open it; 2 of the screws were stripped out and the box was cracked; top and bottom, on a NEW Chevy Aveo.

Just another of the many examples of fine GM fit and finish. Or, clearly, lack of it. Next time you call the Hyundai dealership, buy one.

7th Oct 2008, 23:34

Chevy Aveos are SUPPOSED to get 32mpg. That's what their EPA rating is. The true GM compacts have much better mileage ratings (37 hwy) and are domestic rather than Korean. As for such problems as cracked air cleaner plenums and stripped screws, I've come to expect that sort of thing on imports.

9th Oct 2008, 06:55

Let's not turn this into another forum for domestic owners to beg and plead for somebody to buy anything from Ford and GM.

I looked at the Aveo. I read the reviews.

First off, it finished dead last in every single review I read that compared the Fit, Yaris, Accent, Versa, etc. to it.

Second, it's a GM, which nearly disqualified it from even being looked at in my book. But I did look, and I saw what I expected to see, and wasted my time as I expected would be the case.

My Accent was just rated as 'best sub-compact' on the market by JD Power.

Third, I'm getting 38 to 40 mpg out of this Hyundai 1.6 liter, and all GM can manage to do is 32 out of a smaller engine than that. A 1.5 liter.

Fourth, and I know this is opinion, the Aveo is incredibly ugly. My Accent looks sporty. The Aveo looks ridiculous. I could not come up with a single reason to choose it over this Hyundai. There aren't any.

9th Oct 2008, 11:02

I wouldn't buy an Aveo either. It's an import, just like the Accent, made in the same country as the Accent. I'd buy a Pontiac G5. It gets better mileage than either.

9th Oct 2008, 14:33

Although I haven't commented on this thread, I'll give you a reason why I would choose the aveo over the accent... It's a Chevrolet. I would go for ANY Chevrolet over a Hyundai every time. To me brand image counts... I have to admit I don't particularly aspire to Chevrolet but I don't want to be seen in any Hyundai/Kia!

10th Oct 2008, 14:07

14:33 Not only is the Chevy the obviously inferior vehicle; Chevy has a well know reputation for making garbage. That is the 'image' of a Chevy that the public holds.

10th Oct 2008, 14:08

11:02, No, a Pontiac G5 doesn't get better mileage than an Accent.

10th Oct 2008, 23:15

Although I'm a loyal American and refuse to buy imports, I have to give credit to Hyundai. It long ago surpassed Toyota in reliability and quality and is zeroing in on Honda. Although still short of domestic quality, it is a very well built and reliable car.

11th Oct 2008, 12:58


I would go for the 2008 Cobalt (or even 2008 Aveo) over the Accent every time.

I don't know who commented that Hyundai had surpassed Toyota... hmmm, I don't think so.

Hyundai/Kia represent lowest common denominator motoring.

11th Oct 2008, 13:53

Gas mileage varies even among the same vehicles. My friend's Accent gets 35 mpg highway. The G5 gets 37.

12th Oct 2008, 12:49

To comment 12:58: I made the comment that Hyundai had surpassed Toyota in quality. In a comparison back in 2006 the Hyundai Sonata beat out the Toyota Camry. In addition, Hyundai quality and reliability is now rated "much better than average", while several Toyotas get a "Worse" or MUCH worse than average" rating. The V-6 Camry and Tundra no longer even earn a "recommended" rating.

Hyundai is very close to domestics now in build quality and reliability, far surpassing Toyota and equal to or better than Honda. I, too, would choose a GM compact over any import because I want my car dollars staying in America. The Aveo, however, is NOT a domestic. It is an import built in Korea, just like the Hyundai and Kia.

13th Oct 2008, 22:42

12:49 Hyundai far surpasses any domestic in build quality, always have. And Toyota is so far above and beyond the domestics in quality that it would be funny if it weren't so embarrassing to American automakers. I have no idea how or why you think the domestics are anything but scrap. That's about all they are, for the last few decades.