1999 Hyundai Coupe F2 Evolution from UK and Ireland - Comments

10th Dec 2001, 02:41

Firstly I would like to say that I totally agree with the review of the F2 Evo, I've owned a 98 Coupe SE and then bought a F2 Evolution in silver.

The 2.0 SE was a good car, but the F2 evolution improved on it greatly, the redesign of the front air dam and rear spoiler by Peter Stevens improved the looks of the car greatly.

The extra 17bhp provided by the modifications by MSD drives the power output up to 154bhp from the standard 137bhp. I particularly like the increased acceleration as a result.

The handling has improved, getting fantastic feedback from the road with the 16 inch alloys and the low profile Yokohama A520 tyres, although I found the A539's to be an improvement.

The cruise control button is as you say a little hit and miss on occasions, as it seems to stick when pressed, but in the great scheme of things it is not a big deal.

Secondly I would like to applaud the author of the first comment, they obviously love their 2000 Coupe, however it doesn't justify the harsh reply.

The F2 evolution was a limited edition of 1500 cars and came out with a price tag of around £19299, which a lot of us paid. It was worth considering this when you typed "Don't just criticise it because you can't afford a new one!". I believe the current price tag for a new 2.0 SE coupe is around £16299.

The two cars are very similar and personally I agree, I don't like the 2000 design as much as the 96 - 99. In fact rather than being jealous I agreed with many of the media write-ups when they expressed their concern regarding the Korean change to the original US design, but that is my personal opinion and not a personal attack on every 2000 Coupe owner!

Bottom line, regardless of which design, the Hyundai Coupe is a very exciting car, which has impressed me with its drivability and reliability over many years. And I am yet to understand why some motoring magazines put the Ford Puma above it.

8th Jan 2002, 01:45

I'm picking up my T reg 16,000 mile Evolution next week. I was glad to find your website and read the driver's comments (very informative - I'll watch out for that cruise control!)

I'll let you know what I think when I've been let loose on the road!

Written by Gregor Mactaggart 8.1.02.

3rd Jul 2003, 02:35

I have just purchased a W reg Hyundai coupe F2 Evolution. I am so pleased with it! All the little extras like the drinks and glasses holders are excellent. It certainly is an eye-catcher, people from the bus stop are gawking! Good luck to all F2 drivers.

18th Mar 2004, 07:08

Thanks for your informative reviews.

I am picking up an S registration F2 tomorrow and I can't wait!!

Does anybody know of any issues with the Hyundai? I have heard nothing, but good things about their reliability, but no car is perfect... or is it?

27th May 2004, 04:55

I am picking my powder blue Hyundai coupe F2 up on Wednesday 2nd June, It's going to make me feel younger as I am about to turn 40!!!

It is a beautiful looking car and I am so excited, I want to fetch it today!

I am going all the way to Norwich from Nottingham to get it.

Enjoyed reading the informative reviews.

Penny.

15th Jun 2004, 10:21

I have owned my F2 Evolution Coupe for nearly one year and have enjoyed driving every mile. It has always been reliable and never let me down. Heads still turn as I pass by. Personally I prefer the Mark One to any of the later models. It`s more curvy and sexy. I have just found a web site that supplies performance parts for these cars so I may just add a few tweaks to enhance the already good performance.

20th Sep 2004, 08:42

The newer models (2000 and over) no way look as good as the older f2 models. when I first saw the new models, me and my friends laughed at the new appearance and wondered why they made so ugly from being a great looking car.

8th Oct 2004, 13:44

I've just bought my V-reg F2 Evolution and it is fantastic. Only 7000 genuine miles and mint condition! Feels like owning a brand new car which is what lots of people think it is. My neighbour has a Porsche GT3 and I can honestly say my Evo looks great next to it!!

29th Nov 2006, 09:25

I've had my '99 V-reg F2 for just over 6 years now. It's got 153,000 miles on the clock, and it pains me to think I'm going to have to give it up. It still drives beautifully, even if it's a little slow to get going on cold mornings.

I'm looking at a change now to a diesel, given the miles I do. But I'll be giving the F2 to my sister, confident that despite it's high mileage, she's getting a great car.

Only signs of age are slight rusting over a wheel well, and slightly worn leather seats. Otherwise, very, very reliable. And given most of my driving is on the motorway, I've had none of the aforementioned cruise-control problems.

As an aside, although Hyundai servicing has been pretty expensive, their customer service has been second-to-none.

27th Dec 2006, 02:41

I am thinking of buying an F2 I have seen advertised it has done 69000 miles and they are asking £2800 on a 1999 model. I have no idea if that is good or overpriced. Does anyone know what I should be looking out for?

25th Jan 2007, 15:52

I have a quick question. Is a F2 the same as the F2 EVO? OR are they 2 different models?

Thanks.

7th May 2007, 08:56

Hey. in response to the question of the f2 / f2 evolution, they are different models. I own an evolution the are mainly based on the rally coupe with only approx 1500 ever made. they are fantastic cars with very few faults the only fault I found is a very persistent rattle in the back, somewhere behind the back seat. On that matter anyone know how to resolve this?

17th May 2007, 08:56

Hi, I have a 1999 V Reg F2 Evo. Had it for just over a year now without any problems (although I do hear that rattle the previous poster mentioned towards to back!). Anyone know if this is rear-wheel drive or not (or how I find out as I'm not a car mechanic :) )? Cheers.

26th May 2007, 14:16

I'm picking my W reg F2 Evo up on thursday, 45k miles, in the awesome cobalt blue. paid £4k for it, that about right? its just had all the brake pipes replaced on its last MOT and was a dream on the test drive.

4th Jun 2008, 14:31

An friend wants to sell me a v reg f2 evo in silver with 83,000 on the clock for &2000 and swears it hasn't let him down once in the last 3 years. Does this bearings problem that seems to plague the previous versions affect this version as well?

24th Jun 2008, 15:20

Hi to all the coupe owners... can I say never get rid of them, they are gorgeous in their own right...

A few years back I bought a standard F2 and what a car the styling is can I say sex on wheels... then a year later, after some idiot while drunk at Christmas decided to drive their Land Rover into it, I had to find another one, but could only find a Coupe SE W reg.

Now at first I liked the car, but then I had to replace a rear wheel bearing at a price of £120. Then I also needed the indicator stalk, which in the end I never got...

I got rid of that Coupe as I just could not gel with it, and now after a few years I have finally bought a 1999 V reg Hyundai Coupe F2 Evo in cobalt blue (yes, get in). Only cost me £855; needs a little work, mainly outside, to do with paint, but thank god I got my car...

I'm hoping it's a low number of the 1500 made... and well done to Peter Stevens for the spoiler...