2007 Hyundai Elantra Reviews

2007 Hyundai Elantra GL 2.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance154000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Cheap, comfortable, but not very reliable at 150K+

Faults:

Rear suspension bushing ($200), oil pan ($200), front ball joints ($400) at 150,000 km.

Turn signal handle gets stuck and needs a push to disengage at 90,000km.

General Comments:

Quiet ride for its class, noisy engine when accelerating.

The car feels very light, transmission gear ratios are not setup right for 0-70km/h. Feels as if you are in higher gear for your speed, and the engine wants to start knocking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th November, 2011

30th Nov 2011, 11:07

Those older Hyundais are great to about 70,000 miles... but after that, it's time to decide if you are going to trade it in or start doing the maintenance on it, and start replacing parts on it... If you are the type of person that doesn't like doing maintenance on it or replacing parts... then it's time to move on to a newer car. And if you are going to keep it... your next big ticket item is the timing belt/water pump/belts/hoses. Hopefully the last owner did this... if not... Hyundai timing belts are known to break. And expensive damage can occur...

1st Dec 2011, 20:16

All of those items you mentioned are wear and tear items. All cars go through these parts sometime in their service. It's not fair to say the car is at fault for these things.

2007 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance34980 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Terrific value in a small car

Faults:

In 3 1/2 years of daily use, we had one warranty fix of a seat-sensor switch for the airbag/seat belt system. Hyundai had also issued one recall to fix a stop-light switch issue. Other than that, perfect reliability, quality construction, and a remarkably quiet ride for such a small car is what we remember.

General Comments:

We calculate mpg at each fill-up. Our 2007 Elantra gave us 31-33 mpg on the highway, and if properly driven, 25 in town. Our teenage son managed to get that down to 22 a couple times with his more exuberant driving. The Elantra is fun to drive and easy to handle.

We took several 1000+ mile trips. The generous trunk and back seat for this class of car made the Elantra a comfortable and economical choice for a summer excursion. No problem with luggage for four.

We bought the Elantra to replace an old Saturn SL, so we could get modern safety features for our teenage drivers. High ratings and side airbags were important -- and when our daughter totaled this car, we saw just how well it worked. She and two passengers walked away from a 40mph collision with a light pole. The crush zones, airbags and seat belts all did what they were supposed to do.

We replaced the car with another (2009) Hyundai!

Right now (Sept 2010), you can find the last of the 2010 Elantras on sale because the 2011 is re-designed to look more like the Sonata. If you are looking for this class of car, I highly recommend the Hyundai Elantra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2010

2007 Hyundai Elantra Limited 2.0L from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance5800 miles
Previous carMazda MX5

Summary:

Great Car Great Value

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

We put Militech-1 in the engine and it seems to get better mileage.

General Comments:

We purchased this car to flat tow behind our motorhome, but now we use it for our everyday driving and are considering getting rid of our Honda.

The best feature on this car is the statistics computer. We keep it on the MPG and have determined the hows and whys to getting good MPG. We get 33mpg easy.

The car is so quite sometimes I try starting it when it is already on... The seats are comfortable it shifts like a dream (manual) good visibility.

Wish it could have had a day/night rear view mirror and vehicle stability control, but the 08 now has it and tire pressure monitoring to boot.

And to think we almost got a noisy and expensive CRV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2008

22nd Feb 2008, 02:45

Don't know how long you'll have this one, but enjoy it while it still brand new. Take a close look and you will see that ten years old or older Hyundai are not common, yes there are, but not like toyota or honda, enjoy!

27th Apr 2008, 00:40

Believe it or not, I've seen 1994 Hyundai Elantra cars on the road today here in New York State. More so than any other Hyundai manufactured back then. Sure I've seen a couple of older Excel cars around, but the Elantra dominates! I currently own a 2006 Hyundai Elantra and I plan on keeping it at least 10 years. Word on the street is that 2000 Hyundai Elantra models are worth $3,000 with over 100,000 miles! I like those odds and my car will be worth more because gas will be $10.50 a gallon in 8 years. Enjoy your Honda!

1st May 2008, 11:09

PLEASE, Honda, Honda, Honda. It continues to be a perennial favorite with the car magazines - big deal. Like Honda, Hyundai is all about value, but at a much lower cost. Anymore, these cars are practically bullet-proof, and carry hefty discounts at model year end. They are stylish without being offensive (yeah, check out that Birkenstock-inspired two-tired instrument cluster on the Civic), and carry an extensive warranty to boot. I live in Southeastern Virginia in a densely populated area, and Elantra's are everywhere. You can't beat the standard safety equipment, roominess of a midsize car, and gas mileage for the price. We have 3 new Hyundai's in our family (Tiburon, Elantra, Accent) as well as 2 new Kia's (Optima and Rondo) - and all are loaded up with options. I love it when a Honda person check's out our vehicles. Snubbing them under my breath, I laugh knowing that we saved several thousand dollars combined instead of purchasing one of their vehicles. The times, they are a changin'...

12th May 2014, 18:32

Yeah, yeah... middle class Americans are discovering the fabulousness of frugality. They all would buy German cars, but that is no longer within their reach, not even on a long loan. Well there's nothing wrong with frugality, even if it is forced.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews