2011 Hyundai Elantra Reviews

2011 Hyundai Elantra from North America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9200 miles
Previous carChrysler PT Cruiser

Summary:

Good so far; the bad has been fixed by the dealer

Faults:

EGR valve replaced by the dealer at 7k.

Idle speed too high. Fixed by the dealer.

Hood and trunk latches were defective. Replaced by the dealer.

Only getting 25-28 MPG on highway; not 40!

General Comments:

The power is good, the automatic transmission could be a little better; doesn't shift until 3500-4500 rpms.

The slap-shifter is a lot of fun!

Lots of leg room.

Seats are comfy for shorter drives, but for long drives (more than 2 hours), they are not.

Good brakes and handling. Actually, the brakes are very touchy compared to my last car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2011

18th Sep 2011, 19:31

Hyundai brakes are extremely touchy. Even my '07 Elantra had extremely touchy brakes. Once you get used to it, it's not so bad.

19th Sep 2011, 17:23

If you get 28 on the highway, you may be driving faster than you should. Fuel economy is always based on how the driver drives.

My Cobalt is supposed to get 33mpg highway; I get 45.

12th Jun 2014, 20:05

There's no way a Cobalt gets 45 MPG. Go to fuelly.com and see the tests. A Cobalt wouldn't get that going downhill in a vacuum. 45km/gallon, that I'd believe.

2011 Hyundai Elantra Limited from North America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2500 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Tiburon

Summary:

Beautiful inside and out

Faults:

I have had the car since April 7th 2011, and everything was going well until today. I tried to make a phone call with the handsfree bluetooth, and it told me there was no phone connected. After several attempts, I decided to connect the phone again, but it told me that connection had failed. I checked my iPhone 4; the bluetooth option is ON and the phone is working fine on its own. Can anyone shed light on this to fix this problem?

General Comments:

Beautiful car and workmanship. They have thought of everything for comfort, and the interior design is amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2011

25th Jun 2011, 08:10

Try to completely delete the phone from the pair listing on your car and start over. That usually works. Sometimes the computer gets confused. When it does, it won't accept the pairing from that device until it is removed completely and re-learned.

13th Nov 2011, 17:17

Agree with the other comment. Try deleting from the stereo/Bluetooth menu. I travel considerably for work, and am in a new rental typically once a month. I find that the Bluetooth and stereo functions of Hyundai are extremely easy to use and reliable... though I am usually renting brand new cars.

2011 Hyundai Elantra GLS 1.8 from North America

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired41 kilometres
Most recent distance1251 kilometres
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

A good looking car. Lots of bang for the buck

Faults:

The Bluetooth does not work the best on my phone. I have to call on the phone, then the car will pick up the phone call on the Bluetooth.

Other than that, nothing yet, only had the car for 3 weeks...

General Comments:

I really like the 2011 Hyundai Elantra. Very good on gas.

I like that they use a lifetime timing chain, not a belt, and the fuel filter is a lifetime as well. Toyota has been doing that for a long time; it's about time Hyundai got into that.

The car drives very well. I got the GLS. I love the heated seats, even in the back...

I looked at the Toyota, Honda, Nissan, and Kia. I liked the Elantra better for the 6 speed manual or auto. I got the manual; it has way more power than the others I test drove, and was better on gas than the others too...

One thing I had lots of problems with is the Hyundai dealer. Oh wow, too much to say about that place. They are not there to help you out at all, or make you feel happy about buying a new Hyundai. If you go with a Hyundai, make sure to look up a dealer review. I was not happy about the way they treated me...

Overall, I really like the car. I never had a Hyundai before. I hope it turns out to be a good car. I am going to take good care of the car. Just going to see if it will stand up over the years like Toyota and Honda's do... well good luck if you are buying a new Elantra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2011

1st Apr 2011, 17:04

I just traded a 2005 Elantra. I had it longer and put more miles on it than any other car I've owned. It was flawless. The only reason I didn't buy another Hyundai is because I got a really, really good deal buying a car from another manufacturer.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews