2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America - Comments

17th Mar 2001, 13:58

I have had nothing since trouble since I purchased my car in April 2000. Engine idle vibration severe from day one. Salesperson said it would "wear in". Then when cold, transmission shifts into second gear and engine revs up after shift. Then when driving engine sometimes surges unexpectedly. Service manager felt problems when I drove him around and told me of similar problems up north (we are in FL) with cold weather. He tried to order new transmission. It was denied by Hyundai. Motor mounts were changed to fix vibration which worked great for 48 hours then it started up again. They finally sent factory rep who said vibration was normal and nothing wrong with transmission. When I drove car for him, he felt the surge and said it was the way I was driving car. Few days later when car had brief moment of not vibrating, I drove in to show the manager, he said his personal opinion is that it will break in around 10,000 miles and should stop vibrating as bad. Then yesterday on way home from work in middle of right turn, car stalled. Brought car in and they just told me nothing is wrong with the car!!! There is a recall on all Elantra model vehicles that may have experienced intermittent low-speed engine stalling, which could occur if the MAF (Mass Air Flow) Sensor electrical signal is interrupted as a result of engine vibration transmitted to the MAF Sensor connector wiring harness. HMMMM... engine vibration??? 8,400 miles and the car has been in 15 times. Trunk floor broke twice, front floor mats' grommets fell apart, seat belt locks when you apply brake, they tried to fix twice, now it is not as bad. All in all, I'm afraid to drive the darn thing.

23rd May 2001, 22:32

We bought a 99 Elantra new from the dealer and have had nothing but trouble. Forget about trying to save a few dollars by buying a cheaper car because what you get is a piece of junk. It's been in the shop at least six times for transmission related problems similar to what has been described in prior posts. Oh, the warranty takes care of it, including a new transmission, but when the problem keeps recurring time and time again, what is the point???

I am now looking into Hyundai's "buy back" program (although it may not apply) before I consult a lemon law attorney.

The dealer in Phoenix is worthless at finding the problem. It seems they can never reproduce the problem while in the shop, and take care of it once and for all. Yet if I take it home and bring it back another day, they will find it. "Oh yeah, now we see what's wrong." There appears to be a problem with the Elantra's diagnostic code setting computer system. The transmission problems occur, and the check engine light come on but they do not always generate a trouble code. Without that code the mechanics are helpless pieces of ****.

12th Jul 2001, 14:55

I have a 2000 Elantra bought in Oct. 99.

At 12,000 miles the transmission gasket had been replaced. At 20,000, yesterday, the same thing was replaced.

My alarm system broke 3 times! Not to mention the 3 recalls on parts, the sensors on my doors not working for my interior lights, and a part missing on my brakes. I am very frustrated.

29th Jun 2002, 08:14

I bought my car in 2000 and in the same year I had taken it back to the dealer twice. It's now 2002 and they are telling me that my car is on the recall list. In the last two years everything has been wrong and they had never checked the list until now. How rare is that? I am not sure how recalls work, but I know that I'm not getting a new Hyundai. I think this car is made for renting purposes only. I even had an alarm put on and that doesn't even work. This car should be taken off the lot.

1st Dec 2002, 16:55

I purchased my elantra in 2000 and so far have 72000 miles on it without any problems - until today - the check engine light is mysteriously on after a very cold night. I'll report back what happens when the service center figures it out.

3rd Feb 2003, 15:16

I've had my 2000 elantra wagon for 3+ years and no real problems. But I have to admit it is not a brand I would buy again, 47000 miles and that check engine light went on, I suspect O2 sensor, I will call for appt. in 5 minutes and see what happens.

All in all the car is a real piece of S#$% rattles, rust on all exterior unpainted metal (this was 6months after purchased), but so far it has been reliable.

24th Apr 2003, 12:50

Bought a 2000 Elantra GLS Wagon about 3 years ago. The "Check Engine" has popped on for no reason which our dealer has been unable to duplicate. The gas gauge occasionally sticks on "E" after a fill-up (dealer has replaced the float sensor twice, free) and the front floor mat hooks are very wiggly.

HOWEVER--this car has been great! Good gas mileage, room for 4 person family and *very* large dog on 500+ mile trips and general satisfaction with our dealer service.

25th Dec 2003, 08:07

I also have a 2000 Elantra, I have had it since it was brand new. It has been in the shop every 8,000-10,000 miles. The same problems keep recuring over and over again. What good is a warranty if you are constantly taking it in for repair. My problems have been the same as the rest of you, but now my engine is blown and I am told it is no longer covered under my warranty. Wait until your engine blows and you will all hear the same thing or better yet sell the thing before it does. My car had exactly 60,000 miles on it.

14th Apr 2004, 10:39

I have a 2000 Elantra. I just got it with 54,000 Miles and I just started having problems when it's cold the car will shake and have a hard time going when I first start driving. The engine not warm or something. None of the other cars I've been in do that. I read the complaint about the Elantra blown engine at 60,000 and now mine is at 60,480. My transmission also shifts really hard sometimes.

11th May 2004, 08:51

I have a 2000 Hyundai Elantra GLS and it runs pretty good. We bought it for $2900, but we had to put about $6000 into it. It had been totaled whenever I bought it meaning it had a salvage title. My air conditioner doesn't work (its' missing parts) my windows are broken (the motor is out) and my hood has not paint on it (it is rusted).

OVERALL RATING: FAIR.

30th Sep 2004, 19:32

Hyundai has improved dramatically.

I have a 2002 Elantra GT with almost 50k miles on it. NOTHING has gone wrong so far. It has outperformed my previous two vehicles (Ford Explorer, Saturn L300) in every aspect. ALL were bought new.

Maybe they were once lemons. But I encourage any potential customer's to look at the new model's and the new reviews. Even the other used car reports say that the 2001 + models are excellent cars.

4th Jun 2005, 09:49

I purchased a 2000 Elantra in 1999 and I have had it ever since. Other than the normal car issues, I have had no trouble at all. The most trouble I have had is that the engine light comes on after I get gas because the cap is not on tight enough. To me this is not a huge problem and since no serious problems have occurred I am purchasing a new Elantra in the fall.

22nd Nov 2005, 19:01

I bought my Elantra new in May of 2000. I've put 66,000 miles on it so far. My dealership has been very helpful with getting my car in fast and fixing any problems that I might have. Within the last five years I've had to replace two window motors, replace the front left rotor, put six sets of brakes on, replace the converter and had the exhaust system replaced. Now, the CV boots have come apart. It is going to cost $350.00 to fix the problem. I have enjoyed my car and have past it down to my daughter. The motor and transmission runs great it is just these pain in the rear problems.

2nd Apr 2006, 07:43

I have a 2002 Hyundai Elantra gls and the thing has been nothing, but trouble. The car has the 79,000 miles on it and the transmission is bucking and slipping just going down the highway. So I think I will have to replace the transmission shortly. I am going to sell the car after that I hate the thing.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site