1991 Hyundai Excel Reviews

1991 Hyundai Excel Sprint 1.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired251136 kilometres
Most recent distance252411 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

One that I want to keep till the engine seizes

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the Hyundai at this stage, runs great.

General Comments:

I love this car, it's amazing on fuel economy... and so easy to drive even without power steering.

It's roomy enough for me and my partner plus a car load of gear for a weekend away, so it gets massive ticks in that respect.

Also I got it with great tires that seem to hold to the road without any major issue, so all in all this car is simply awesome!! And would I buy another Hyundai in the future?? In one word YES.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2008

13th Jun 2008, 17:37

I have to agree, even the Hyundai Excel (now called the Accent in the U.S.) is a great car, and quite a bit better built and more reliable than your old Camry. Hyundai surpassed Toyota in overall quality years ago, and now has vehicles on the "World's 10 Best" list, which Toyota doesn't and likely never will considering current lapses in quality.

1991 Hyundai Excel 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Most recent distance182000 kilometres

Summary:

Awesome little car

Faults:

Alternator

Starter

Only other things that went wrong were because of me hitting a curb other than that it was fine.

General Comments:

This car is an excellent car for first time drivers. Is is fun to drive and will withstand a beating. Not bad looking either! The hatch is actually quite spacious for such a little car. However it does not have very good traction in snow and ice. All in all a very cool car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2004

25th Sep 2006, 10:45

I have 91; it's an awesome car. It is fast and good on gas; it's so fun to drive it around. I love it.

16th Nov 2006, 02:21

I just bought a Hyundai Excel 1991, Love the thing I bought it from the dealership that I work at for 500.00 bucks sweet deal!!!

19th Jan 2007, 11:51

I am just about to finalize a 150 dollars for a 1991 excel, it seems like a nice little car, really I wouldn't go for foreign cars, but I need the gas mileage. from the reviews so far it seems like a nice car, and it looks like a fun little car to drive. it is a 4 speed manual, I hear it has like 80 horses so that kinda killed my mood, but it is light, and I saw all the aftermarket peices available or it so...

1991 Hyundai Excel LS 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres

Summary:

Not worth the effort, time or money

Faults:

Air conditioning broke.

Computer broke.

Lots of oil leaks.

Water leak.

Paint faded dramatically.

General Comments:

Got me around a small town for a couple of years, but recently EVERYTHING has gone wrong!! Serves me right for buying a Hyundai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2004

1st May 2012, 12:57

Looks like you had some bad luck. I wouldn't go so far as to boycott Hyundai, did you service it? Did it have a service record when you bought it?

24th May 2014, 02:15

This was my first new car when I was 18. I loved it, I thrashed it for 10 years, broke 2 gear boxes. They are that fun and deceptively powerful. You must have picked up a dud. What finally killed mine was the cat converter melted down. Starter motor and alternator were the only real problems.

1991 Hyundai Excel LS 1.3 from Singapore

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance268000 kilometres

Summary:

Get ready to empty your pockets

Faults:

This is one damn expensive car to maintain.

The head gasket blew twice.

The brake master cylinder blew and there was fire from my rear wheel.

The body metal is very light and weak.

The factory suspension is very poor.

The radiator blew.

All this happened when I drove it only for 38000km, and all of this happened in between.

The spark plug wire got faulty .

There was fire in my bonnet near the wires.

The boot refused to close.

Clutch worn out.

Clutch cable broke.

General Comments:

This was my first car. The Excel is a good street car once you have changed your shocks and clutch.

The car has good pick up, revs eagerly, and the last time I remember, it went till 160km/h.

Can keep up with most sports cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th February, 2004

26th Feb 2004, 12:32

This must not be the same Excel from the US with its weak 1.5 engine it can barely pull itself much less keep up with anything.

13th Aug 2004, 14:54

Yeah I was about to say.. I can't even keep up with a /stock/ Civic. I didn't buy the car to race, though ^_^

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews