1991 Hyundai Excel Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1991 Hyundai Excel 1.3 liters from Aruba

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 liters Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance98690392 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel '90 (wrecked)

Summary:

A very long lasting car

Faults:

At the beginning the car was very good, only needed servicing, but in the past year (2000), we needed to overhaul the engine.

Also, I will be restoring the car, slam it to the ground with a lowering system and install a custom 2500 watt sound system.

General Comments:

Very good car...

But where I live, it's very difficult to get parts...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

1991 Hyundai Excel GS 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

I can take out a CRX any day

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong but nobody makes performance parts to fit many Hyundai cars.

General Comments:

My excel is great, so you people that say they're crap, you just don't know how to treat a car, and probably can't drive properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2000

7th Dec 2001, 17:50

If anybody wants performance parts for your X2 Excel go find HVE (Hyundai Vehicle Enhancements) out of Australia, they have lots of parts for the second gen excel!!!

1991 Hyundai Excel from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

A piece of junk!

Faults:

Piece of total junk. Died in middle of the highway, could not restart it.

Had fuel pump, filter, everything worked on, nothing worked.

General Comments:

DO NOT BUY ONE, not sure about the new ones, but the old ones were CRAP!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

24th May 2001, 19:11

I have a 90 Excel with 290,000 miles and until 30,000 miles ago when the transmission died, it has been the most fantastic car I've ever owned. It is still driven everyday and runs flawlessly. At age 69, I've owned a lot of cars but none has ever come close to this one. Tiger Bill.

1st Jun 2001, 13:48

Had an 87 Hyundai, and I never took it in for a major service. I only did the oil changes every 3K miles. Ran it till it died at 200K miles.

8th Feb 2003, 13:48

I have a 1994 Hyundai Excel with 88,000 miles and it runs great and it's going to last a long time.

1991 Hyundai Excel Two Door 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

It's a LEMON!

Faults:

This Hyundai that I have is my second car, at first I really liked it because of its cute look. But then I started having an infinite number of problems. Everything from the brakes to the motor and last but not least in cost, the transmission.

I am a seventeen year old working mother and student, who has lost a very well payed job, missed many important doctor visits, and have lowered my G.P.A do to tardies. All because of my Hyundai. If you value your customers and reputation I recommend that you make better cars.

Sincerly,

An unsatisfied customer!

General Comments:

Please do not buy a Hyundai, it's in your best interest!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2000

30th Jan 2001, 15:46

I also had a 1991 base Excel. It had major problems from early on. First the valves needed re-seating. It went through 3 full exhaust systems, 4 sets of tires, one windscreen, one self-shattering side window, and a porous engine block.

The manual transmission didn't shift gears in cold temperatures. All this in 80,000 miles and only 4 years!!! I'll never purchase another Korean car again.

11th Aug 2005, 00:19

Hey a lot of people have had great excels. Basically if you don't buy it new then the person before you most likely drove it into the ground. Blame the previous owner not the car. At over 130,000 mine still runs good, with only just now having to have the transmission rebuilt. Which I could have avoided if I had gotten the torque converter replaced earlier. Great little cars. My apologies for the abusive previous owners.

22nd Feb 2006, 08:40

Hyundai is still making disposable cars. My 2001 Elan gt has been well cared for, but it constantly in the shop. The body panels are starting to ripple and Hyundai will not take any credit for the defects. Do not buy a Hyundai.

1991 Hyundai Excel Base 1.5L gas from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5L gas Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17441 miles
Most recent distance87500 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

A great buy, but do yourself a favor and learn how to drive a stick on these mini-cars

Faults:

The first thing to go wrong was the clutch which went out at 42,000 miles due to the fact I pulled a full size Chevy pickup.

I have had problems with the starter but I attribute that to the boys at Autozone and the great electrical products they sell.

Shift cables went out at 70,000 probably due to power shifting.

The most recent problem is the body control computer which is located under the driver's seat, it fried. This was due to a flood. My car was in about 3 feet of water when a creek in OK flooded a parking lot. Of the 3 cars that were in this much water, only my Hyundai drove out under its own power. The rest were towed out by a tractor.

General Comments:

Best car I have ever owned. Great gas mileage. Easy to work on, I have done all of the repairs, even the clutch myself. Probably the best "cheap" car out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2000

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews