1991 Hyundai Excel Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1991 Hyundai Excel GLS MPi 1.5 from Malta

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance145362 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

An excellent all-rounder

Faults:

Changed Fuel Pump three times; at roughly 2500 (while under warranty) 50000 and 100000 miles.

Stabilizer brackets need very frequent changing, but it is mainly due to my country's bad roads.

Changed factory fitted shocks with new ones after first few thousand miles as ride was too bouncy.

General Comments:

The "Precision Built - Made to Last" Hyundai slogan really fits this car.

This fuel injected model is very economical when compared to the 1.3L carburettor one.

Service parts are very inexpensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2002

1991 Hyundai Excel GS 1.5L SOHC 8v Inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L SOHC 8v Inline 4 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Samurai

Summary:

I wouldn't suggest buying one unless you can do the maintenance

Faults:

Oil pan started leaking @ 139,000miles. Fixed now and also started smoking on start up. Valve seals are beginning to leak. Left rear drum brake leaked.

General Comments:

Overall this car is Awesome. I never thought a Hyundai could be so good, as long as you change the oil and do the tune ups. I race the car and handling isn't the greatest. There is really no top end power, but the low end torque is great. Good snow car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

1991 Hyundai Excel from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles

Summary:

Reliable little car that can do almost anything

Faults:

The automatic transmission had to be replaced at 125,000 miles.

The engine burns up oil.

The starter cylinder had to be replaced at 126,000 miles.

General Comments:

I really like this car, and once it gets past first gear it runs pretty fast.

The interior may be too small for some but it's just the right size for me.

I don't really like the fact that my car doesn't have power steering, but I can live with it.

My parents bought this car from me almost a year ago. At the time it had 123,000 miles on it and my mom paid $850. We thought it was a good buy until we discovered that the automatic transmission had to be replaced, which cost us about $1200.

My favorite thing about this car is that other drivers look at my car and think it can't perform like their car can, and then I end up leaving them in the dust with my little fast-running car. This car is full of surprises, both for me and for the other drivers out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 2001

1991 Hyundai Excel from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance163000 miles
Previous carDatsun B210

Summary:

Didn't pay much for it and haven't paid much to keep it running

Faults:

Absolutely nothing for the first few years, and I'm not one that babies my cars.

The first thing that went out was the starter at about 130000 miles, and I've had trouble with the rebuilts from Auto-zone sticking and making it hard to start. I've replaced that twice, and it still sticks. It always starts eventually though, just a pain to turn the key 20 times to get it to crank.

I also broke one transmission at about 145000 miles doing a burnout that would break almost any car. But it still made it home, even with a hole the size of a quarter in the case and no oil in it.

At about 155000 miles the front main oil seal came out, possibly also due to me over revving the engine.

While I was replacing the oil seal I decided to replace the original timing belt.

Besides that, only routine maintenance.

General Comments:

I am completely pleased with this car.

People warned me about buying a Hyundai with 100000 miles on it, but I believe they were mistaken because I can destroy cars and this one has taken my abuse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2001

13th Oct 2001, 20:56

I agree! My Excel GS takes my 180s, power slides, burnouts, etc. just a good as an 80's Mopar A-body! (awesome car to do tricks in!). I am learning how to stunt drive and my Excel is my test mule. It does rattle a bit after sliding the rear into that tree...

1991 Hyundai Excel 2.0 BBL from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 BBL Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired143500 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres

Summary:

A great car at a great price

Faults:

The only repairs needed on this car were basic maintenance (tune up, timing belt, oil changes)

The brakes were replaced at 185000 KM.

The muffler and catylytic converter were replaced at 175000 KM.

The starter motor was replaced at 192000 KM.

General Comments:

All in all, a very good, reliable car.

I have had little trouble with this car.

Absolutely no problem getting the car started in the COLD Canadian winters.

Handles better in the snow than some 4x4's I have driven.

Drives right through 1 meter snow drifts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

23rd Mar 2004, 11:40

I support this writers comments with my own experience. Same impressions with my 91 Excel. Picked it up at 130K. Going strong at 190K. Only changed the brakes! Starts in cold northern Ontario in -30s C no problems. With skinny tires this thing is great in snow and wonderful for donuts! Very reliable.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews