Hyundai Galloper Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2000 Hyundai Galloper 2.5 Intercooler turbo diesel from Iceland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Intercooler turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Feroza

Summary:

Ideal for Icelandic snow and ice

Faults:

The driver side electric window lock is u/s.

General Comments:

The vehicle really is bomb-proof. I agree with earlier reviews regarding the cheap dashboard/fascia in plastic. The original Mitsubishi has an oil pressure gauge and voltmeter, far more useful than the Galloper´s altimeter and digital clock with outside temperature indicator. Thankfully Hyundai retained the driver´s spring-adjustable seat which makes travelling across lava deserts here in Iceland a lot more comfortable.

Minor gripe: Having to get out and manually lock the hubs. It´s antediluvian.

Although the turbo diesel is only listed at 99 horses-4 more than the Feroza-there´s more than enough torque to pull a large trailer uphill with 7 people onboard. The large amount of space in the rear of the vehicle plus the flexibility afforded by the adjustable seats makes the Galloper a useful jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd October, 2007

1999 Hyundai Galloper II 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent value for money

Faults:

I imported the vehicle LHD from OMAN and had some difficulty getting it registered. Biggest problem is lights as the Galloper is NOT sold in the UK. Renault 5 lights fit and were fitted to get it through the SVA (TAKEN OFF AFTERWARDS).

I seem to have problem with the drive just now. When just starting off there is loud 'clunks' from the drive which dissapear on picking up speed, but the drive is noisy. This does not happen all the time and does not happen in 4 wheel drive?

I will need spares for this vehicle, but where from?

Ia it possible to get hold of a Maintenance Manual/Service Manual?

General Comments:

I had the vehicle in Oman since 1999 and I am generally very pleased with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd April, 2006

11th Nov 2007, 10:46

I am also looking for a service manual for a 1999 Galloper II. Can anyone help?

22nd May 2008, 10:19

I live in Costa Rica, there are many Gallopers, I have a 2.5L diesel, Imported from Korea.

If you need parts, theres plenty here.

I have not seen an English version of the owners manuel.

29th May 2009, 08:08

Please it possible to get hold of a Maintenance Manual/Service Manual?

Can I have one.

3rd Jul 2011, 23:05

Please send me where I can order parts for my HYUNDAI GALLOPER II LWB 1999 2476cc D4BH EXCEED TURBO INTERCOOLER..

Send message to jicchun@yahoo.com thanks.

1997 Hyundai Galloper I 2.5 diesel (non-turbo) from Bosnia and Herzegovina

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 diesel (non-turbo) Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 kilometres
Most recent distance44000 kilometres

Summary:

It was a good value for the money

Faults:

Air-conditioning failed at 30k. Struts had to be replaced at 40k.

General Comments:

This is a rare car, Galloper I is a replica of a pre - 1989 Mitsubishi Pajero, basically a design that fully originates from about year 1980, even though the car has been made in 1997.

It is more boxy than Galloper 2 - which has somewhat rounder looks. It is SWB, pretty uncomfortable for long rides.

It has been reliable so far (purchased it almost new, with 9000 km) except the struts were gone before 40k and air-conditioning clutch failed at 30k.

Off road is good, however on road handling is poor.

80 HP diesel engine (non-turbo) is underpowered by all means for a car that is about 1750 kg.

Parts are unreasonably expensive at local Hyundai dealership (oil filter is 25 EURO) and most parts are not available - require ordering from Korea and long waiting time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2004

7th Mar 2005, 14:12

I need a service manual for a Hyundai galloper 2,5 td.

22nd Mar 2006, 15:42

Just bought one for a song, only problem is that there are two glow plugs out of order and need to replace them.

Which is turning out to be rather difficult.

Any ideas where to purchase these 12v glow plugs.

Thanks.

30th Mar 2006, 11:37

You do not need original Hyundai glow plugs. I had the same problem on mine, all 4 plugs were gone, replaced it with generic ones (about 4 times cheaper than original), just make sure that the tread is the same and that the lenght that goes inside the cylinder is the same. What sticks outside could be lower or higher. Remove one and go to an after market store which sales parts for Japanese cars and you will find one.

27th Apr 2006, 14:25

I put 2 11v glow plugs and it works fine, by the way does anyone have a service Manual for a Hyundai galloper D4BA engine.

Many thanks.

9th May 2006, 02:53

A little help needed, I have a 1997 Galloper 2.5 non turbo, I need to know the weight of the jeep, its the 7 seater version, weight for front and rear axle, many thanks, RL.

13th Nov 2008, 16:33

I have a Hyundai Galloper, problems with the Glow plugs not working from the ignition key, had new glow plugs 1 month ago and a new battery last week, tic noise on starting could it be the relay. As I am in Spain and do not speak fluent Spanish it is hard to know which relay is the correct one. Can anyone help.

8th Aug 2009, 17:44

Hello.

I need to find a good Auto Mech. in Cartago Costa Rica for my 1997 Galloper, and where to get rebuilt parts? Rob.

8th Feb 2013, 04:53

I'm planning to buy a Galloper 2.5 Tci 2001. What are the most frequent problems of this jeep?

It will be used in Sierra Leone, a West Africa country. Please can you advise?

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews