2004 Hyundai Getz Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2004 Hyundai Getz LX 1.6 from Malaysia

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired88 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

High Quality Powerful yet cheap

Faults:

Gear refused to shift into 4th.

Alarm has no confirmation signal.

General Comments:

Bland, but quality interior.

Yellow colours brings out the bland, but nice shape.

Powerful and Pert.

Fuel Consumption medium only

Nice to drive.

Difficult to drive in Rainy weather as the wiper does clear fast enough even at the highest speed setting.

Low beam a tad dim.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2005

2004 Hyundai Getz GL 1.3 from Malaysia

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired270 kilometres
Most recent distance13700 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

Overall it is a good car to drive in the city

Faults:

1. Rear brakes noisy after 5,000km.

2. All four doors interior trim came off (must be using cheap glue?)

3. Extremely high fuel consumption at city driving.

General Comments:

1. Average car performance and handling compare to my previous Proton Wira.

2. The seats are comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2005

16th May 2005, 12:04

Hi.

I am now looking to get a Getz, and I was wondering, what did you do to fix the brake knocking sound? Since another Getz owner from Malaysia also mentioned the same problem, and also exactly at after 5000k, I'm a bit worried it's a manufacturing problem.

Did it get sorted under warranty? How about the trims?

Have you encountered any problems since? When you say consumption for petrol is high, how high are you talking about? km/l?

Thanks!

2004 Hyundai Getz 1.1 injection from Greece

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 injection Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 kilometres
Most recent distance3850 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 440

Summary:

Amazing car, very roomy and fun to drive

Faults:

At this time, I have no problems with my car.

The only small problem is that the reverse gear, needs a second try in some cases.

General Comments:

Very comfortable and quite relaxing driving on medium speeds (below 100 km/h).

A bit noisy above 100km/h.

On highway and speeds over 140km/h it has some problems with lateral winds, but with a bit wider tires I think this would be OK.

In order of comfortability it has soft springs and suspensions. For a quicker and more "cornering" driving, it needs aftermarket suspensions and springs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2005

2004 Hyundai Getz GLS 1.3 cdti from Spain

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 cdti Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60 kilometres
Most recent distance3000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Sebring Sedan

Summary:

Agile

Faults:

One of the lights in the numberplate have gone off! This is even better because the police and the people will not be able to read it as well at nighttime.

General Comments:

This is an agile car.

However when making you turns quite fast the cars seems rather unstable. Probably because it is quite tall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2004

27th Dec 2010, 05:38

Not so great when you get 3 points and a £60 fine if you don't fix it...

2004 Hyundai Getz GL 1.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired700 kilometres
Most recent distance2300 kilometres

Summary:

The Getz is not only a winner, but a pretty car as well

Faults:

Nothing to date.

General Comments:

Bought as a second car mainly for shopping in Melbourne's (four million) very heavy traffic, the Getz has so far, performed flawlessly.

The only thing that puzzles me is that in reverse (as heard from outside), the car sounds like a diesel.

Taken on a country trip, the Getz seemed at home on the freeway & on sealed country roads.

To be quite honest, I am really impressed with this 'Europeanised' Hyundai, & the finish is superior too many cars I have looked at while reviewing this category.

My other car is a Toyota Avalon (Advantage) built & bought by me in 2003, & the Getz complements this largish perfectly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2004

2004 Hyundai Getz GLF 1.3L from Israel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 kilometres
Most recent distance19000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Competent Compact

Faults:

Slight misfires at certain speeds.

General Comments:

I am using this car as a long term rental during an assignment in Israel.

The Getz is a fairly popular car on the roads here and it appears that all of the rental companies offer them.

As I have a fairly short commute to work (20-25mins) and I decided to rent a "cheap and cheerful" car and pocket some of the living allowance into my pocket instead of choosing a more luxurious model.

I read a few reviews of the Getz which suggested fantastic fuel consumption.

So here are my comments of the actual car:

Nice looking exterior, fit and finish looks very acceptable.

Reasonably attractive interior, (the car is actually quite spacious for what would appear to be a small car) some of the trim looks very cheap, but the clocks get high marks!

Hyundai have skimped on costs by only including one LCD display for BOTH odometer and tip meter readings. This is a minor irritation and you get used to it almost immediately. This means you can only look at the trip meter OR the odometer at any time.

The non-adjustable height of the steering wheel is a real pain and would certainly put me off owning this particular specification of the Getz. The standard setting is way too high for me and not a comfortable setting.

One area where the car disappoints is the fuel economy, commuting to work which is about 25 minutes on a main road with very little stop n go results in an average of around 35mpg (IMP) or 31mpg (US).

I took a drive down to Egypt this weekend and got an average of 40mpg (IMP) or 36 (US) which is not exactly fantastic.

I had an older Hyundai Pony back in the early 90s which was a 1.5L engine. It did 40mpg (IMP) just doing general running around and 51mpg (IMP) on a long run.

From what I have observed in recent years it might be the case that you need the 1.5L engines to get the better fuel economy (especially with those fuel consuming cats fitted!).

In summary a nice little run around that should have adjustable height adjustment of the steering wheel (if you are buying one!), that disappoints in the fuel economy department.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2004

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews