2003 Hyundai Matrix Reviews

2003 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.8 petrol from Malaysia

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres

Summary:

No regrets

Faults:

Nothing serious... it's same with other cars... the part wear and tear should be replaced as time passes.

General Comments:

It's a good car. Its fuel consumption is 0.13 cents per km for daily use, and in the city driving it will be 16 cent per km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2008

2003 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.6 petrol from Malaysia

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carPerodua Kancil

Summary:

You pay peanuts, you get a monkey-car. Huhuhu..

Faults:

The fuel consumption is very high compared to other 1.6 auto transmission cars.

The driver's side mirror is narrow-viewed and magnified, very dangerous for those who are not aware of this. I have to practically look to the right after checking the side mirror to make sure there's no car on my right every time I want to turn right or change lane. That's another reason I am so reluctant to let other people to drive my car.

The tires are loud on any Malaysian highway, and the wind noise is very loud if I drive over 100 km/h.

The spare tire has to be taken out from its compartment every time I want to refill or check air pressure since the air valve is hidden/ facing downward. My previous car had the spare tyre valve facing upward.

The rear left door panel makes a rattling sound whenever I turn up the player's volume. Probably the manufacturer had generously installed a mini orchestra that plays along with the speakers.

On its third year (50,000 km) the front brakes caused the steering to rattle on high speed braking. My friend said maybe the brake disks surface need to be polished. Is that true?

General Comments:

Nice handling except on sharp curbs.

Easy to drive for short Asian people (but nowadays young Asian generation are getting taller than their parents).

Lot of drink holders and small compartments.

Spacious cabin for over-sized passengers.

Air conditioning is adequate even though the car only has front blowers.

Cheap (I wish to use 'low price' but cheap may be more proper considering the problems above).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2006

27th Dec 2006, 10:09

You must understand in Malaysia, the Matrix is assembled locally and imported from Korea as well. It depends which one you are driving. The ones assembled in Malaysia suffer from quality problems just like the other brands that are assembled locally as well. Try the imported ones and you will feel the difference. I myself drive one. In three years I have covered 125,000km and I have travelled up and down KL about at least thirty times. The car has never let me down.

29th Nov 2008, 12:42

Now my Hyundai Matrix is having another problem. since 3 months ago, the car will be trembling whenever I accelerate between 90-100 kmph. The entire cabin is trembling, not only the steering wheel, and it trembles only when I accelerate. If I let go the accelerator the tremble is gone. Even after several visits to workshop and changed drive shaft (left), lower control arm (both left and right and engine mounting - the problem still persists. And please don't tell me to do tyre balancing and alignment, my last workshop did it three times and finally gave up.

24th Jan 2011, 11:00

In response to the above comment: you need to send your car to do high speed balancing.

2003 Hyundai Matrix from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carPerodua Kembara

Faults:

Doors paint peel off. my car model Matrix GLS, 1.6L, fully imported, as compared with the one that produced by Inokom (owned by my friend), experienced the same problem, i.e. door paint peel off within one year.

General Comments:

It is a good car, spacious and comfortable for long journey drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2006

2003 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.6 from Netherlands

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Driving pleasure spoiled by problems. Lets Hyundai down

Faults:

ABS Brakes failed.

Driver seat mounting broke.

Lighting behind instrument panel x2.

Engine valves? Being investigated.

Vibrating of the dashboard.

General Comments:

Started well, but more and more problems are appearing.

Too many faults by the dealer are being described as "known issues"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th April, 2005

3rd Nov 2005, 06:11

The suspension is bad and changed absorber recently, but still problem with rattle noise when over bumpy road. Had 4 new Michelin tyres, but the same. Consumption is high with this gls 1.8 cc model and rm50/- gets me only 210 km in town drive. will not buy another car in this group.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 17 reviews