2003 Hyundai Matrix Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2003 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2300 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

Good value

Faults:

Only issue is with the right hand indicator self cancellation. This occurs too early and I deem this as nuisance with a potential safety flavor. For example when turning right, particularly around a UK roundabout the right indicator will often cancel prior to proper left lock to straight. This could be interpreted as a change in my option by other drivers and hence the safety issue. Vehicle supplier, and Hyundai central customer services report my concern as a model characteristic rather than a flaw and conclude the issue is normal and unservicable.

General Comments:

No other issues with car which is quick & reliable and multi-functional in proportion to cost.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

2003 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.6 from Singapore

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance26540 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Go get one!!!

Faults:

Original battery needs to be replace after just 10 months.

General Comments:

This car rocks. Bought at SIN$65888 last Feb and just passed the 1 year mark. No problems at all. Handling is good.

Initial fuel consumption was terrible though, but is now averaging 11 km/l after some grounding (6pt) job and installing a simple device called "Turbo-in" which costs $100. Engine was much quieter and air-con was cooler after the grounding job. The turbo-in improves pick-up, as it give more torque at lower RPM. All these were installed courtesy of Club Matrix members.

This car has lots of space. It is configurable and can seat 5 adults comfortably with a full load of cargo. I have managed to squeezed 6 passengers (2 of them large-sized caucasians) and they were quite comfortable.

This car has a huge following in Singapore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

30th Jun 2004, 02:16

Hi, my name is Kenneth C, I thought of getting a matrix auto, but I heard lots of comments on the fuel consumption. And I saw ur message that you have the turbo in to save ur fuel mileage. May I know where I can get this and is this a modification? Will the warranty get void? I really appreciate the advice. Thanks.

2003 Hyundai Matrix MPV A/T 1.6 gasoline from Philippines

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 kilometres
Most recent distance6500 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Good value for money in terms of space and comfort, but watch the gas consumption

Faults:

Battery started going bad after 5000 kilometers, so that even leaving dome light on for an hour discharged it to the point of a very difficult start. Dealer checked electrics and battery and replaced original Korean battery with a new one of higher capacity and quality.A

General Comments:

Stock tires, size 14, are Korean which are quite hard riding. Gas shocks which are standard are quite good and help in cornering and ride, but will eventually replace tires with softer riding ones in size 15.

Car is quite quick on the straights, but automatic transmission does lag at times.

Plenty of head and leg room, storage bins, cup and bottle holders, but wish that rear seats were removable rather than just folding forward.

Biggest problem is that this model (auto-4, 1.6 liter) is a gas guzzler, at less than 7 kilometers to the liter! Culprit could be the catalytic converter, but could not remove it or otherwise modify the engine until warranty is over, which is 36,000 kilometers or 3 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

19th Apr 2004, 00:40

Mine is only 3 months old and I totally agree with what you say about the hard ride and poor fuel consumption.

2003 Hyundai Matrix GSi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance6160 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

A good family car

Faults:

A stiff gear change, that has never gotten smoother.

General Comments:

The demonstration model was a pleasure to drive.

It is an extremely comfortable car, with good all round visibility and very roomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2004

2003 Hyundai Matrix 1.6 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 kilometres
Most recent distance3000 kilometres
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Best for room space, ride comfort

Faults:

Slow pick up, under power and drag.

Fuel consumption not very good and seems it is commonly known, at OD OFF mode.

At highway, with OD ON, consumption is even worse with passenger load.

When in reverse and back to normal and change to drive mode, engine shakes a bit especially so in the morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2003

2003 Hyundai Matrix GLS 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A great, safe car for the family

Faults:

NOTHING.

General Comments:

After not being sure about owning a "budget" Korean car, my doubts have been dispelled.

The Matrix is an excellent family car, comfortable, roomy, dead easy to drive and I can get more into it than my old Cavalier.

If I had believed the reviews I would not have bought it.

After a test drive with all the family we were convinced that this was the car for us.

I have had to get used to lack of mpg compared to my old diesel!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2003

4th Apr 2004, 16:16

Six months on and I can confirm that our Matrix is proving itself to be an extremely reliable, comfortable family vehicle.

Cannot understand why the British motoring press are so keen to knock Hyundai's down so much. Try reading some American reviews on-line, they seem to love them!

My advice would be to try for yourself, don't be put off by all the "badge snobbery" that exists in the UK!

"Prepare to want one"

22nd Apr 2008, 06:47

4 years of total trouble free motoring. I can report that the Matrix is the most reliable car I have ever owned.

Sad to see it go, but had to replace it with the excellent i30.

Road tax in the UK for a small family MPV is unacceptable - £210 PA, set to rise to £300 next year!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 17 reviews