2003 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 2.7 liter from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance27400 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

Definitely a keeper!

Faults:

The driver's seat doesn't go back far enough. Not good for drivers over 5'11".

General Comments:

Very reliable vehicle.

Great value.

Good size for newly married couple with no kids.

Great warranty package. I haven't had to use it yet!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2005

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 3.4 litre from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

The Santa Fe is a quality vehicle, especially for the price, but mine gets very poor gas mileage.

Faults:

No mechanical problems.

General Comments:

Extremely poor gas mileage, at least in city driving.

Otherwise, no complaints. Handles well, more than adequate power for small SUV, very comfortable to drive, good sound system. Rear cargo space is not very roomy, however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

7th Jun 2005, 12:49

Poor Fuel Economy?

Yup that is absolutely PAR for the course. Hyundai has done three things.

1) Overstated the horsepower by 10%

2) Calibrated the speedometer to be 10% higher

3) Overstated the fuel economy by 10%

The first point is a known point and was taken to court. The second is coming out just now. The third has had no legal actions, but EVERYONE I talk to mentions how bad on gas Hyundai Vehicles are.

One note though.. Fuel Economy and Safety ratings are inversely related. The Santa Fe is bad on gas, but considered much safer than many other vehicles. -I should know I was rear-ended two weeks ago.

As far as the Santa Fe having little storage. Don't totally agree. It is by no means huge. But it is one of the bigger ones in the class (SMALL SUV).

11th Jul 2005, 09:47

I have a 05 model 2ltr diesel and so far I have recorded 34.7 mpg which I feel is a good return for this size motor.

The engine has so much grunt that it has not altered even in the towing mode, with the cruise control I find taking the caravan a joy to and from the sites. So far I can only praise the value for money this model gives.

15th Nov 2005, 13:26

Telling us about how great your diesel is just makes the rest of us jealous. :) I drive at least 35,000 MILES a year and I would LOVE to have a diesel to keep my running costs down.

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe GSi 2.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carCitroen Picasso

Faults:

I have owned the Santa Fe for about a year and absolutely nothing has gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

The car is excellent to drive and is very smooth and refined.

The fixtures and fittings are all of excellent quality (contrary to motor magazines opinions) and nothing squeaks.

The specification is absolutely superb on this base model.

You can't beat the five year manufacturer's warranty.

I use my car for towing a large caravan and it excels at this task.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2004

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe CDX 2.7 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 75

Summary:

Excellent value for money package

Faults:

The only problem I have had with the car so far has been the Sony radio unit. This was replaced 5 times before the faults were fixed.

General Comments:

I have been very impressed with the car.

Performance has been excellent.

Build quality good also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe FWD 2.7 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance17500 kilometres
Previous carBuick Le Sabre

Summary:

Great value for the price!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle. It was purchased in February 2003, and it has performed admirably since I brought it home.

The only thing I should have made note of was that the engine was only 2.7 liter, which is a bit small for a vehicle weighing in at 3700 lbs. If you want a Santa Fe, get the 3.5 liter engine. The 2.7 does OK, but don't expect quick pick-up or passing ability. This was not a priority with me originally, however during the past 8 months I do notice that I miss it.

General Comments:

I would recommend Hyundai to anyone looking for a new vehicle.

The Waterloo dealership had exceptional staff and it was by far the most comfortable auto dealership we visited.

It would be nice if more options were available on the FWD model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2003

23rd Jun 2004, 20:04

Obviously, you work for honda or toyota.

14th Feb 2006, 20:08

Obviously, grammar and spelling are not that important it seems. Hyundai vehicles are good. They must work for KIA.

10th Mar 2006, 22:38

I heard you cannot really leave the road with a Santa Fe or a Tucson since it is built on a car's frame. Is this true? Does it have 4X4?

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 20 reviews