2003 Hyundai Santa Fe 3.5L V6 from North America


I loved it until I hit 130,000 miles


2 Different Ignition Coils have failed within two months. Mileage around 130,000

I'm sure the next one will go soon. Neither of the dealerships that I ended up at had them on hand when they went out and they had to be ordered. I think I will order one and keep it in my car.

Transfer Case leaking, one seal at the end was replace. Middle seal will have to be replaced soon. Estimate cost $2000. This is more expensive then a new transmission I was told and this is the one item not covered under Hyundai's 100k, 10 year plan. Mileage around 130,000.

I have a funny noise that sounds like scraping when accelerating near the front left wheel, sounds like a metal ring is being spun around a rod, which can't be found. Started around 50,000.

CV Boots Leaking

Mileage around 130,000.

General Comments:

I love it. It's comfortable, reliable, looks good, runs well, accelerates well...

AWD doesn't work that well. More power in the rear than in the front which causes serious fishtailing when power is applied in slippery conditions.

Preventative maintenance is expensive on the 3.5 liter v6. I was told 2.7 liter v6 is cheaper to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2006

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe AWD LX 3.5L from North America


Had major problems


This car burned oil since day one!! I had to fight the Corporation to get it fixed. After 6 months, the Company finally agreed to replace the engine. The Corporation kept telling me that 1 quart per 1000 miles is OK!!! Don't buy into this. I was burning 1 1/2 quarts every 3000 miles. The gas gauge has had to be replaced 4 times.

General Comments:

Car rides nice, good items in car, no other problems except the burning of the oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2005

24th Feb 2015, 02:50

Just about every manufacturer has the same guideline for oil consumption.

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 2.7 liter from North America


Definitely a keeper!


The driver's seat doesn't go back far enough. Not good for drivers over 5'11".

General Comments:

Very reliable vehicle.

Great value.

Good size for newly married couple with no kids.

Great warranty package. I haven't had to use it yet!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2005

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 3.4 litre from North America


The Santa Fe is a quality vehicle, especially for the price, but mine gets very poor gas mileage.


No mechanical problems.

General Comments:

Extremely poor gas mileage, at least in city driving.

Otherwise, no complaints. Handles well, more than adequate power for small SUV, very comfortable to drive, good sound system. Rear cargo space is not very roomy, however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

7th Jun 2005, 12:49

Poor Fuel Economy?

Yup that is absolutely PAR for the course. Hyundai has done three things.

1) Overstated the horsepower by 10%

2) Calibrated the speedometer to be 10% higher

3) Overstated the fuel economy by 10%

The first point is a known point and was taken to court. The second is coming out just now. The third has had no legal actions, but EVERYONE I talk to mentions how bad on gas Hyundai Vehicles are.

One note though.. Fuel Economy and Safety ratings are inversely related. The Santa Fe is bad on gas, but considered much safer than many other vehicles. -I should know I was rear-ended two weeks ago.

As far as the Santa Fe having little storage. Don't totally agree. It is by no means huge. But it is one of the bigger ones in the class (SMALL SUV).

11th Jul 2005, 09:47

I have a 05 model 2ltr diesel and so far I have recorded 34.7 mpg which I feel is a good return for this size motor.

The engine has so much grunt that it has not altered even in the towing mode, with the cruise control I find taking the caravan a joy to and from the sites. So far I can only praise the value for money this model gives.

15th Nov 2005, 13:26

Telling us about how great your diesel is just makes the rest of us jealous. :) I drive at least 35,000 MILES a year and I would LOVE to have a diesel to keep my running costs down.