2003 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 2.7L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

A terrific vehicle that won't let you down

Faults:

No problems at all.

General Comments:

We bought this vehicle in April with 0% financing for 60 months. In addition I received an owner loyalty discount of $1000, bringing total price, including destination, to $22,200. The fit and finish, Monsoon sound system, and comfort levels are top notch.

We averaged 25 MPG on a round trip from Omaha to Las Vegas this summer and were driving, on the average, 12-hour days with no complaints from my teen daughters in the rear seat.

I have owned several large cars over the years and with the exception of my 94 Lincoln Continental, this is perhaps the best highway vehicle I have owned.

I currently have two Hyundais. I have a review posted on my 99 Sonata here as well. I know there are other makes out there with stellar reputations, but don't count this manufacturer out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

5th Nov 2006, 16:29

As the original reviewer, I will update this. At 47,000 miles, the vehicle has been absolutely trouble-free. No squeaks or rattles are present whatsoever. The engine, if anything, has picked up a little better performance and fuel economy (27 MPG highway). I did switch from 89 octane E-10 ethanol blend gasoline to 87 octane. For the next vehicle purchase, I am looking at Hyundai first.

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance5100 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

Great value for the price

Faults:

No problems so far.

General Comments:

The car has some zip to it, I had read the 2002's were underpowered. The 3.5L is a quiet, smooth runner and accelerates acceptably. I wouldn't consider any of the other smaller displacement engines offered. Transmission shifts are almost unnoticeable, and the ride is surprisly smooth.

The front seating is comfortable, control placement functional. The rear seating area, while not as roomy as the Mercury Villager we traded in, seats my 3 children comfortably. Three adults would be cramped in the rear seats. The rear storage area is spacious enough for most grocery getting and light hauling.

Overall, the Sante Fe was the best value for the price of all the small SUV's we considered. Combined with the fantastic warranty we couldn't pass it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.4 GSI petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Shogun Pinin

Summary:

A lot of car for your money

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Had Mitsubishi Pinin before and found it too small for two adults and our three year old. The controls are a bit plasticky, but this is the norm with most Japanese/Korean type vehicles. Engine very responsive and is very stable at higher speeds on motorway. The handling is more car like and not 4x4 like which my wife prefers. A lot of extras are given as standard such as air con, CD, electric sunroof etc. Will definitely replace with a new one in a few years time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2003

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe LX 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Outstanding value and comfort

Faults:

Calendar is off by 8 hours.

Noise in vent when air is on high.

General Comments:

I test drove every SUV in this class and the Hyundai is by far the best value for the money.

I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2003

14th Feb 2006, 20:11

I agree, the calendar is off by 8 hours... how do we fix this??

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe LX 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance1700 miles
Previous carHyundai Santa Fe

Summary:

Just wonderful!

Faults:

I've had no problems thus far.

General Comments:

I bought a 2001 Santa Fe back in July '01,and loved it so much I just traded it in for 2003 Pine Green LX.

I think this is the best vehicle on the road for 22K.

I think these big tanks that litter our roads are an annoyance, and everyone should own a SF!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2003

2003 Hyundai Santa Fe lxi 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance2055 miles
Previous carPontiac 1997 Pontiac Grand A

Summary:

Quality, style and comfort at an affordable price

Faults:

I have had no problems, all is in perfect working order.

General Comments:

This is one of the best cars I have ever owned. Style, comefort and reliability are the plus of this car, as well as the numerous features i.e. transmission cooler, tow package with accessories and even a first aid kit. The warranty is second to none. It turns on a dime, and is comfortable as well as stylish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2003

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 20 reviews