2007 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance53000 kilometres
Previous carKia Sorento

Summary:

At $44k with all the bells and whistles, better than average value

Faults:

Rear brakes prematurely worn down to nothing at 53000. Almost all highway driving, never in heavy traffic. Last vehicle was a Kia Sorento. Brakes lasted over 119k. Hmmm.

General Comments:

Great styling, average handling, OK fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st April, 2009

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe GL 2.7 gas from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.7 gas Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance36000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A nice small SUV

Faults:

Brakes needed to be serviced at 24000km.

Washer fluid is poorly aimed. The passenger side has one missing completely.

Rear driver side door squeaks. Tried to oil but stills squeaks.

General Comments:

Overall a very nice car.

Love passing with it in manual. Surprisingly good gas mileage.

Had a crack in the windshield from the heater/front defroster and warranty picked up the whole cost. Highly recommended alternative over Honda or Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2008

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe LX 2.7 Gas from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.7 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Great SUV for the money!!!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with my Santa Fe. This is my 3rd Hyundai and I have loved them all. My 2002 Sonata has over 100000 miles on it and still going. Have only had to do regular maintenance, so I expect same from Santa Fe.

General Comments:

Wonderful!! I never paid much attention to the interior gaps of my Toyota until I bought the Santa Fe. The Toyota had gaps at the head liner all the way around the truck whereas my Santa Fe has nice tight fits everywhere. Runs like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2008

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS AWD from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Highlander

Summary:

I would not purchase another Hyundai

Faults:

I purchased a Hyundai because I believed that the quality had improved. Unfortunately, I have experienced issues with the steering shaking badly and a water leak from the sun-glass holder. I am very disappointed and will not purchase another Hyundai in the future.

General Comments:

Nice styling and better than in the past, but quality issues remain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd October, 2007

8th Oct 2007, 00:37

Can't understand the problems you've highlighted. My Santa Fe has exceptional build quality. Perhaps you just need to check wheel alignment or air pressure in the tyres. As for the water coming from the sunglass holder, try putting your drinks in the cup-holders!

6th Nov 2007, 10:33

I agree with the previous comments, sounds more like a simple tire issue you need to address. I would also recommend not filling the sunglasses holder with liquid... it will function exactly as expected and the liquid will fall out!

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 3.3 V6 Gas from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired27 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo V70

Summary:

I'm very upbeat about our future with this car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

After three Volvo's this vehicle is refreshing. In fact, this vehicle is almost everything my last V70 should have been. It handles better. It rides better. It's MUCH quieter. It has great directional stability. It cost's only a very little more to fuel it, with regular fuel compared to Volvo's premium thirst.

I'm a large person (6ft,3in.) so I needed almost 2 months to get used to the drivers seat. The seat cushion is too short (I knew this when I made the purchase decision, but I also knew I could become accustomed to it). Even with it fully adjusted for rake it leans forward causing the driver to slide ever so slightly forward while braking even moderately. A nuisance which I intend to correct by raising the front of the cushion with longer bolts and spacers. Otherwise I have adapted.

We have recently returned from a holiday to Maine in it. It proved to be a worthy, and comfortable companion. My wife loves the car. Other people seem to like it also. In fact, we hadn't had the car 10 minutes when we were hailed by a person passing in a Honda and asked what it was, and where could she could get one. She thought it was beautiful. We have had many admirers since.

The interior looks very upscale, the HVAC, with dual controls works, just as good as our old Volvo. The defroster even better. The radio sounds good, but has weak reception. The storage bins in the cargo area floor are a bonus.

I did shop all the other comparable SUV's. They just don't compare in quiet, ride, or comfort.

Only one thing I wish for. Diesel power. I would buy it in a second, having had a couple of diesel powered Peugeots many years ago.

Note to current '07 Santa Fe owners. The roof rack cross bars are easily removed (less than five minutes, only a screw driver needed) and when removed makes the car even quieter. I found that they added wind noise at highway speed.

That's it then. I don't have any of the negative vibes I had developed early on with my last Volvo. I'm very upbeat about our future with this car. This could be the beginning of a beautiful relationship.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th August, 2007

21st Jan 2008, 18:56

I own a current model diesel in Australia and having driven the petrol (gas as you call it), there is no comparison. Although good, the petrol can't match the diesel's torque and fuel economy. In the US, you need to apply pressure to gain more diesel models. The fuel economy and advantages of diesel is the way of the future.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews