2009 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews

2009 Hyundai Santa Fe LTD AWD from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far!

General Comments:

Love the Santa Fe. Very reliable, roomy, awesome sound system, and handles extremely well on the highway. Lots of cargo space.

The interior is very high quality with easy to read controls etc. Air conditioning is second to none.

Can't believe how quiet it is - have stopped to talk to people while sitting in my vehicle, and they have asked me numerous times if my vehicle is actually running, as they can't hear it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2011

10th Mar 2013, 22:01

I just picked up a used 09 Santa Fe, and the thing that hit me after having it for a few days was the quiet: it was so plush and silent that I had to get used to the lack of noise. My previous vehicle was a wonderful little Chevrolet Tracker, but though a great vehicle, it was noisy and rough riding. This thing is like some sort of luxury sled: it whispers down the interstate, ghosts over bumps, and is a real treat to drive. I'm really enjoying this very excellent machine!

2009 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 3.3L from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance59500 kilometres
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Won't buy another Hyundai!

Faults:

Brake cleaning done twice, in 55000kms @ $150/service.

Coolant flush @ 48000kms.

Brake flush @ 48000kms.

Induction service @ 48000kms. I mentioned bad gas mileage, and this service has not improved anything.

Headlights burn out easily.

Seems like the most expensive "regular maintenance" vehicle out there.

Transmission is sluggish and shifting poorly.

Averaging 450kms/tank of gas - 75 litre tank, and I am not a race car driver.

Body panels shifting, seams of panels not as the day the car was purchased.

General Comments:

Car is generally comfortable for long drives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2011

1st Jan 2013, 15:51

General maintenance should not be considered a "fault". Whether they are "expensive" to you or not, depends on who you deal with and who is doing the work. An oil change can become "expensive" if you take it to a mechanic that purposely breaks things so he has to fix them for you. Not saying that's what has happened here, but it's not a new thing.

Transmission is sluggish. How long has it been since you've changed your ATF? I do partial changes, and when the ATF hits roughly 40,000 miles, I suck as much out as I can and replace it with fresh. The SUV shifts so smooth it's like a new vehicle. Any vehicle will shift rough if it has not been maintained, fluids included.

Headlights... they burn out. Brakes... need replacing. Coolant... not a big deal.

Now if you've done all of your scheduled maintenance and the vehicle grenades itself, you have a dud. I have not seen this happen in the case of the Santa Fe.

2009 Hyundai Santa Fe Limited 3.3 from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55 kilometres
Most recent distance3500 kilometres
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

Not sure I would buy Hyundai again

Faults:

We have had a '09 Santa Fe Limited for six months now, and we have had a problem with noise since the first day we took it on the highway.

At highway speed of 100-120 km/h, there is a high pitched whistling sound coming from the passenger side somewhere in the heat/AC vents. Have got no satisfaction from the dealer with it, and they have no idea what is causing it.

Has anybody else had this problem or something similar?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2010

10th Feb 2010, 15:53

My 08 Santa Fe is extremely quiet at highway speeds. You might want to check the weatherstripping on your passenger window.

4th May 2010, 19:34

Seriously, you would not consider buying an entire brand based off a noise that may or may not be related to weather stripping? I'd expect to hear that from people who have had major system failures, transmissions, etc. Seems a little extreme of a title for a whistling noise at 120kmh.

2009 Hyundai Santa Fe GL 3.3L from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired170 kilometres
Most recent distance10500 kilometres
Previous carDodge SX 2.0

Summary:

Good bang for the buck!

Faults:

Nothing, it's pretty much new.

General Comments:

The first thing I want to say about Hyundai is the customer service at my dealership is amazing! In a time when the auto industry isn't doing so well, the guys at Hyundai are very on the ball and know how to make a sale.

Secondly, the financing was better than any of the other companies that I checked out. (I also considered Toyota Rav4, Honda CRV, Subaru Forrester, and Nissan Rogue), can't go wrong with 0.9.. well 0 would be better, but the other rates were out of this world.

The Santa Fe has a lot of options, power, and space for its price point. With the 3.3L engine, it's a very comfortable vehicle on the highway and handles poor conditions very well. I have equipped it with Kumho winter tires, and it can handle the New Brunswick winter driving conditions quite well.

The safety rating is a plus, my insurance rates went from $122/month to $81/month.

My only negative point is that the fuel consumption ratings given in the specs aren't accurate, the only time I get the rated hwy consumption is if I'm going 90 on a flat road, but the speed limit in NB and NS is 110 and the roads are NOT flat. I feel as though the fuel consumption should be more accurately measured, though it probably wouldn't have affected my buying decision.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2010

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 7 reviews