1991 Hyundai Scoupe Reviews

1991 Hyundai Scoupe LS 1.5 four cylinder non-turbo from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 four cylinder non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

Decent little car

Faults:

Replaced clutch.

Replaced timing belt "many times".

Alternator replaced once.

Transmission seems to have issues once in awhile going into gear.

General Comments:

I bought this car years and years ago, and I have never gotten rid of it. It hasn't been my daily driver in years, but I still enjoy taking it out for a spin once in awhile.

I've not seen another Scoupe on the road around here in at least three years, and you can't miss mine with the bright, well not so bright anymore, yellow paint.

The only reason I ever got this car, is that back in the 1990's I owned a Geo Storm GSi, and some lady ran into the back of me and totaled it. I went out looking for another Storm, and saw the Scoupe, and bought it on site without even driving it, because I assumed it would be a nimble and as quick as the Geo... well boy I was wrong; the Scoupe is a SLOW car, and with the A/C going the car is barely going.

It handles good, but you really can't get any speed up unless you trash the engine and transmission, and I have never done that to this car. I guess that's the reason it has lasted so long.

I don't think I'll ever get rid of it as long as it runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2008

1991 Hyundai Scoupe from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles

Summary:

It is a good car, but it is costing a lot more than I ever would have thought

Faults:

Starter was shot when I bought the car.

Seats are very worn.

Transmission wires have needed to be cleaned twice in the past 5 months.

Mass air intake is very dirty and needs to be replaced.

Shuts off at red lights and stop signs.

Idles very high.

Many other things have gone wrong too.

General Comments:

This car does not go right off a red to green light. It takes a few seconds before it goes.

Good fuel economy.

Very compact and not much space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th March, 2005

15th Mar 2005, 17:18

Owning a Excel which the Scoupe was based on I share your pain I don't think there were the best built cars, simple and a throw away and its too bad cause the Scoupe is a nice looking car.

1991 Hyundai Scoupe 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired235 miles
Most recent distance85770 miles

Summary:

I love the Hyundai scoupe

Faults:

I have had my Scoupe for 13 years & nothing major has gone wrong with it. I take care of my car with regular maintenance program, & have tires checked twice a year when they are rotated. I figure if I take care of my scoupe it will take care of me.

General Comments:

I've read all the other comments on the scoupe, I guess I just got lucky. I saw it on the cover of the magazine on Hyundai's that came out in 1991 actually bought it right off the cover. It was a beautiful yellow. I love my scoupe & have had a ball with it. I am however considering buy another yellow Hyundai Tiburon this year. After 13 years I figure soon it will start nickel & dimming me to death & besides it deserves a rest. We have had a lot fun together.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

1991 Hyundai Scoupe SE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Could have bought a new car for what I spent in repairs

Faults:

Replaced the alternator three times.

Replaced the engine once.

Rebuilt the transmission twice.

Speedometer cable snapped.

The seats are badly worn - springs sticking out.

The car dies at stop lights.

Power steering went out several times.

Front struts replaced.

Fuel pump replaced twice.

Radiator problems.

Electrical problems.

Has trouble passing smog test every time.

General Comments:

Good fuel economy, but that's about it.

The car does not have enough power to run the air conditioning below about 40 miles/hour - the car dies.

Have had many, many, many problems - seems like it's in the shop every other week - and parts are expensive!!!

The transmission has been rebuilt twice and is about to go out again.

The transmission shifts very hard - the car jerks every time it switches gears.

The engine has been replaced once - the mechanic said the Hyundai's engine is only built to run about 50,000 miles - guess what - the car hit 50,000 miles - we had to replace the engine.

Wish we hadn't bought it. We've spent probably over five times what we paid for it in repair bills, if not more - we could've brought a brand new car with that.

Would not recommend purchasing one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2001

5th Aug 2002, 01:10

Wow, sounds like you bought a lemon. I bought my 1991 scoupe in a local note lot for $1700 with 90,000 miles on it. I have now had it for six years and the odometer is approaching the 250,000 mile mark. The only expense I have thus far had other than routine maintenance (oil changes, tires, valve adjustments etc) has been to purchase a new computer. I got a rebuilt computer which cost just 300 dollars including labor to put it in. I don't plan on getting rid of my scoupe until its driven into the ground.

18th Apr 2003, 12:34

When I got rid of my '91 (got it new) it had 92000 on the odometer. Had to replace the washer motor and still had the original rear brakes.

6th Aug 2003, 09:06

I bought my 1991 Coupe in 1991 and I still have it.

The car have some electrical problems, but I solved them all.

The problem with the car, is that I find a lot of problems to get Spear parts.

4th Nov 2008, 11:22

I own a 1991 base purchased in 1990 I have almost 100k miles on it and with the exception of an altenator and computer nothing has been done except routine maintenance. I get 43 miles to a gallon on regular gas when road speeds are in excess of 65 miles per hour slightly less below that. I wish I could buy a new one because sun and age take their toll on the aesthetics.

21st Jul 2014, 23:08

What electrical problems did you have?

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews