2004 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Hyundai Sonata LX 2.7 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance11560 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

Outstanding car for the money

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I traded in a 1999 Sonata for this car in Nov of 2003 and it is my third Hyundai. The car has been remarkable in terms of ride, acceleration, quietness, and reliability. Everything from the interior pieces to the bodywork is very tight and the improved quality of this manufacturer shines through and through. For the price, I feel I received a great deal and until Hyundai stops selling cars here in the US (not likely), I will continue to look at them first for future car purchases.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

15th Sep 2004, 10:40

If you had a good experience with your Hyundai, consider yourself one of the lucky ones. Read the other reviews!

20th Dec 2004, 13:17

I also am very, very pleased with my 2004 Sonata. As a long-time Honda accord owner, the Sonata, to me, is the superior car: Better ride, comfort, power, gas-mileage and $8,000 less than the Accord... AND it has a MUCH better warranty... What's not to love??

15th Jun 2005, 09:31

What's not to love about the Hyundai Warranty?... well... real simple... if you should purchase a manual transmission (as I did)... and you should encounter a 'damaged flywheel causing failing clutch (the clutch will NOT engage in shifting to any gear)... the warranty that is so advertised -- CLAIMS absolutely NO RESPONSIBILITY. In other words, it doesn't matter that this problem should occur in very low mileage 15,000+ -- you are on your own (you will incur the total expense to repair should you decide to)!

14th Jul 2005, 05:57

The damaged Flywheel IS HYUNDAI'S RESPONSIBILTY. A defective Clutch Pressure Plate or Centre Plate will damage a Flywheel. Consequently, a defective Flywheel will damage the Clutch.

In the UK it is well known that Hyundai have a problem with the Accent Range fitted with manual gearboxes. Hyundai clutches and manual gearboxes are a known weak-point. Speak to the mechanics and they will tell you the truth. Not the salespeople who are only concerned about sales commissions. Please persist and make a nuisance of yourself. It pays off in the end.

5th Nov 2006, 16:33

I have an update to the original review. No problems at all in 31,000 miles. The car is still very solid and smooth. As stated in my Santa Fe review, Hyundai gets a first look on my next vehicle purchase and no, I do not work for Hyundai.

21st Oct 2009, 21:20

I am the original reviewer. I am at 61,000 miles currently and still have had absolutely no problems whatsoever. I see no reason not to trade for a new Sonata.

22nd Oct 2009, 15:38

At 61,000 miles? Why would you do that? That car's just getting warmed up.

23rd Oct 2009, 15:13

You're right about that. Normally I would think about a new purchase at this point, but I think we'll hold on to this gem for a while longer.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews