2004 Hyundai Sonata Base from North America

Summary:

Best Bang for the Buck

Faults:

Nothing!!! It has a little wind noise in the drivers side, but that is the only minor annoyance.

General Comments:

We love the car, we bought it because we where spending a lot of money trying to repair our old cars. We bought this car mainly for the warranty, and where surprised at the confort, quality and value for the money. The base model comes equiped with all the necessities. I love the automatic transmission mode where you can shift as if it was a stick without a clutch, and that comes standard in all of them. The best thing was that we paid $13700 for it out the door.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2005

12th Jul 2006, 16:28

I wrote this review when we first got the car. 41K miles later the cars still drives like new, and we have not had a single problem with it. The tires are amazing, they haven't shown much if any wear. We love the car and are excited now that Hyundai is offering a minivan, since our family is growing. Go Hyundai!!!

2004 Hyundai Sonata 2.4 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Great value for the money

Faults:

Nothing apart from the "service Engine Soon" light coming on now and then. The dealer replaced a sensor and it seems to be corrected.

General Comments:

The only negative comment I would make on this car is that the seats are a bit hard for extended driving periods, and as I commute daily, I notice that.

Otherwise, I am very happy with its performance and reliability and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2005

14th Jul 2010, 08:32

As this is my original post, I want to add to it five years later. At 200,000 km I went to trade it in on a new 2010 Sonata and found that although the car is in impeccable shape, I was only offered $1500 CDN on a trade. Therefore I signed the car over to my daughter and her husband and it is still going strong. Wonderful car.

The one annoying flaw is the camshaft positioning sensor failure. Once at 100,000 and again at 200,000 km. Each fix is $800 CDN plus towing. Annoying, and it should not happen.

2004 Hyundai Sonata from North America

Summary:

Safe, reliable, pretty, unbeatable in it's class!

Faults:

I have only had one minor issue with the CD player. It would not let me put a new CD in the player. I shut the car off and restarted and it worked fine. Not a big issue-certainly not big enough to take in for service.

General Comments:

Getting rid of my Fire bird was hard and I was worried about a slower car. However, my V6 is very comparable, though not turbo-charged. I get great pick up speed and it rides incredibly smooth. The gas mileage is similar to my Fire bird, but I also drive my cars pretty hard. The seats are comfortable, and I love the lower back support. The trunk space is huge! The folding down seats are also very convenient. This car has great safety features and is ideal for families. The warranty is unbeatable!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2004

2004 Hyundai Sonata LX 2.7 V6 from North America

Summary:

Outstanding car for the money

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I traded in a 1999 Sonata for this car in Nov of 2003 and it is my third Hyundai. The car has been remarkable in terms of ride, acceleration, quietness, and reliability. Everything from the interior pieces to the bodywork is very tight and the improved quality of this manufacturer shines through and through. For the price, I feel I received a great deal and until Hyundai stops selling cars here in the US (not likely), I will continue to look at them first for future car purchases.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

15th Sep 2004, 10:40

If you had a good experience with your Hyundai, consider yourself one of the lucky ones. Read the other reviews!

20th Dec 2004, 13:17

I also am very, very pleased with my 2004 Sonata. As a long-time Honda accord owner, the Sonata, to me, is the superior car: Better ride, comfort, power, gas-mileage and $8,000 less than the Accord... AND it has a MUCH better warranty... What's not to love??

15th Jun 2005, 09:31

What's not to love about the Hyundai Warranty?... well... real simple... if you should purchase a manual transmission (as I did)... and you should encounter a 'damaged flywheel causing failing clutch (the clutch will NOT engage in shifting to any gear)... the warranty that is so advertised -- CLAIMS absolutely NO RESPONSIBILITY. In other words, it doesn't matter that this problem should occur in very low mileage 15,000+ -- you are on your own (you will incur the total expense to repair should you decide to)!

14th Jul 2005, 05:57

The damaged Flywheel IS HYUNDAI'S RESPONSIBILTY. A defective Clutch Pressure Plate or Centre Plate will damage a Flywheel. Consequently, a defective Flywheel will damage the Clutch.

In the UK it is well known that Hyundai have a problem with the Accent Range fitted with manual gearboxes. Hyundai clutches and manual gearboxes are a known weak-point. Speak to the mechanics and they will tell you the truth. Not the salespeople who are only concerned about sales commissions. Please persist and make a nuisance of yourself. It pays off in the end.

5th Nov 2006, 16:33

I have an update to the original review. No problems at all in 31,000 miles. The car is still very solid and smooth. As stated in my Santa Fe review, Hyundai gets a first look on my next vehicle purchase and no, I do not work for Hyundai.

21st Oct 2009, 21:20

I am the original reviewer. I am at 61,000 miles currently and still have had absolutely no problems whatsoever. I see no reason not to trade for a new Sonata.

22nd Oct 2009, 15:38

At 61,000 miles? Why would you do that? That car's just getting warmed up.

23rd Oct 2009, 15:13

You're right about that. Normally I would think about a new purchase at this point, but I think we'll hold on to this gem for a while longer.