2004 Hyundai Sonata Reviews

2004 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.7 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance21450 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

This is a great, reliable car

Faults:

I have not had any problems with the car at all. The only thing I have had to replace were the front brake pads at 21000 miles. I did that myself and it was a pretty simple job. Even the light bulbs are original.

General Comments:

The performance is fine for what the car is, a modest mid-size sedan.

The seats could use a bit more padding, and I could use a bit more legroom, but long drives are not a problem.

The car came with all the options I would want. The only extra option was the moonroof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2008

2004 Hyundai Sonata 2.5 liter V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Strong, reliable, and inexpensive

Faults:

Water leaked into the trunk because the seals were faulty.

Relay switch failed on electric windows.

Windshield rubber seal is separating.

Headlight bulbs burned out.

General Comments:

A very good and reliable car. Cost me $16,800 in 2004 with all options except sunroof, traction control, anti-lock (why is this an option?), and leather.

More power than is really necessary.

Disappointing fuel mileage (especially with teenage daughter driving); around 18MPG city, 26MPG highway.

Bad seals around trunk allowed water to accumulate in spare tire wheel well; eventually I just decided to leave the drain plug out (thanks Hyundai for anticipating this problem!).

Now the windshield lower rubber seal is separating.

Throttle difficult to modulate from stationary position.

Rear suspension has difficulty on washboard bumps. BUT, comfortable, very quiet at speed, fast, and stable.

The strong warranty gives peace of mind (but doesn't make US dealers any more honest).

I would definitely buy another; I wonder if Hyundai is contemplating stuffing a diesel into this model?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2008

7th Dec 2011, 19:32

I did have the same problem with water leaking into the trunk. I looked and noticed that the tail lights do not have a good seal. So the water runs around the trough, and down and inside the lights. I removed and cleaned the light fixture, and put a layer of clear silicone all around where the fixture touches the metal. I have never had another problem with water since. Except that now the other side needs doing too. (:-)

2004 Hyundai Sonata from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

I am now fearful to drive a Sonata

Faults:

My car suddenly accelerated and crashed into a wall. My car had accelerated twice prior to this when I was driving.

General Comments:

I had no serious problems with my car prior to the acceleration issue. After this happened, several Sonata owners explained that they experienced the same. (sudden acceleration)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2007

21st May 2008, 12:17

Hyundai throttle linkages can be "sticky" making it difficult to modulate light throttle application. Have the linkage lubricated by your mechanic during the next oil change, perhaps?

24th Jul 2008, 15:15

My Sonata is well made and trouble free. When the crankcase sensor failed the small town dealer (60 miles from home) did the repair under the warranty without charge. It took a week to get the replacement. Major complaint: both front and rear bumpers are peeling (paint) Its not under warranty and the body man wants a lot of $$$ to repair. Is there an inexpensive fix?

10th Apr 2009, 02:22

To the above comment about peeling paint.

Maybe a cheap alternative to having the car resprayed. Go to a shop that does commercial car wrapping. Ask them to wrap your bumpers in the same colour as you paint job. If they are any good you shouldn't see the difference and it will be cheaper and faster repaired then going to a body shop. If you just buy the wrap yourself, you could give it a try yourself, but is it worth the hassle if you pay a little more for expert help?

2004 Hyundai Sonata base 2.4L 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

OK car but could definitely be improved

Faults:

It has had four emissions systems repairs under warranty (next time won't be as all, but the powertrain warranty end at 60K miles) and an expensive fuel system repair (out of warranty). It also has a strange noise occasionally on turns and bumps (from body flex) seeming to come from the seals of the windshield which the dealer can't/won't do anything about. Occasionally the engine/transmission seem to temporarily lose power, but no one seems to know why (and if the dealer doesn't find anything they charge nearly $100 for looking at the car even when it is under warranty).

General Comments:

It's acceleration is acceptable, not terrible, but not particularly good. It is very comfortable, roomy, and reasonably quiet. I do like the car, but because of disappointing reliability and disappointing gas mileage (a typical tank gives me 22-24mpg with the 4cyl and I drive about 30K miles a year) I am thinking seriously about replacing it within a year or less. It is definitely a disappointment when compared to a friend's 6cyl 2004 Sonata which is everything mine is not- it is reliable, he drives more aggressively than I do and has the 6cyl yet he gets better gas mileage, and since he has the V6 instead of my 4cyl he gets much better performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2006

4th Mar 2007, 13:03

I agree, my 04 Hyundai, 4 cly gets terrible gas mileage.. I have filled the gas tank numerous times and have calculated the m.p.g..the mileage is very poor for a 4 cly. Otherwise the car is a comfortable ride.

Jeannie of Spokane, WA.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews