2004 Hyundai Sonata from North America

Summary:

I am now fearful to drive a Sonata

Faults:

My car suddenly accelerated and crashed into a wall. My car had accelerated twice prior to this when I was driving.

General Comments:

I had no serious problems with my car prior to the acceleration issue. After this happened, several Sonata owners explained that they experienced the same. (sudden acceleration)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2007

21st May 2008, 12:17

Hyundai throttle linkages can be "sticky" making it difficult to modulate light throttle application. Have the linkage lubricated by your mechanic during the next oil change, perhaps?

24th Jul 2008, 15:15

My Sonata is well made and trouble free. When the crankcase sensor failed the small town dealer (60 miles from home) did the repair under the warranty without charge. It took a week to get the replacement. Major complaint: both front and rear bumpers are peeling (paint) Its not under warranty and the body man wants a lot of $$$ to repair. Is there an inexpensive fix?

10th Apr 2009, 02:22

To the above comment about peeling paint.

Maybe a cheap alternative to having the car resprayed. Go to a shop that does commercial car wrapping. Ask them to wrap your bumpers in the same colour as you paint job. If they are any good you shouldn't see the difference and it will be cheaper and faster repaired then going to a body shop. If you just buy the wrap yourself, you could give it a try yourself, but is it worth the hassle if you pay a little more for expert help?

8th Mar 2014, 22:41

Spray paint.

2004 Hyundai Sonata base 2.4L 4 cylinder. from North America

Summary:

OK car but could definitely be improved

Faults:

It has had four emissions systems repairs under warranty (next time won't be as all, but the powertrain warranty end at 60K miles) and an expensive fuel system repair (out of warranty). It also has a strange noise occasionally on turns and bumps (from body flex) seeming to come from the seals of the windshield which the dealer can't/won't do anything about. Occasionally the engine/transmission seem to temporarily lose power, but no one seems to know why (and if the dealer doesn't find anything they charge nearly $100 for looking at the car even when it is under warranty).

General Comments:

It's acceleration is acceptable, not terrible, but not particularly good. It is very comfortable, roomy, and reasonably quiet. I do like the car, but because of disappointing reliability and disappointing gas mileage (a typical tank gives me 22-24mpg with the 4cyl and I drive about 30K miles a year) I am thinking seriously about replacing it within a year or less. It is definitely a disappointment when compared to a friend's 6cyl 2004 Sonata which is everything mine is not- it is reliable, he drives more aggressively than I do and has the 6cyl yet he gets better gas mileage, and since he has the V6 instead of my 4cyl he gets much better performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2006

4th Mar 2007, 13:03

I agree, my 04 Hyundai, 4 cly gets terrible gas mileage.. I have filled the gas tank numerous times and have calculated the m.p.g..the mileage is very poor for a 4 cly. Otherwise the car is a comfortable ride.

Jeannie of Spokane, WA.

2004 Hyundai Sonata LX V6 from North America

Summary:

Will consider another one when the time comes

Faults:

Have replaced the electric radio antenna twice at a price of $30 a piece (I did it myself). This is a weak spot on the Sonata.

General Comments:

Very comfortable riding car.

No real problems since new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2006

2004 Hyundai Sonata Gold 2.4 from Malaysia

Summary:

Reasonable car

Faults:

Current mileage is 35,000km.

Loud wind noise and road noise after reaches 20,000km at speed 100km and above. Noise tend to reduce comfort and driving pleasure.

Manufacturer/service still cannot solve the problem.

General Comments:

Car handles good in wet/rain and twisted road conditions.. thanks to its TCS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

5th Oct 2008, 07:09

You need to add sound insulator. (They did not install any.)

Trust me man.

I have the 2004 EF Sonata 2.4L.

Noticed of the noise.

Hence you need to invest around MYR2000-4000 to get the insulator.

You can send to GS (hyundai panel opp Kah Bintang PJ 222).

Best of luck.