2004 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2004 Hyundai Sonata LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance36600 miles
Previous carChrysler Acclaim

Summary:

Will consider another one when the time comes

Faults:

Have replaced the electric radio antenna twice at a price of $30 a piece (I did it myself). This is a weak spot on the Sonata.

General Comments:

Very comfortable riding car.

No real problems since new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2006

2004 Hyundai Sonata Gold 2.4 from Malaysia

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres

Summary:

Reasonable car

Faults:

Current mileage is 35,000km.

Loud wind noise and road noise after reaches 20,000km at speed 100km and above. Noise tend to reduce comfort and driving pleasure.

Manufacturer/service still cannot solve the problem.

General Comments:

Car handles good in wet/rain and twisted road conditions.. thanks to its TCS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

5th Oct 2008, 07:09

You need to add sound insulator. (They did not install any.)

Trust me man.

I have the 2004 EF Sonata 2.4L.

Noticed of the noise.

Hence you need to invest around MYR2000-4000 to get the insulator.

You can send to GS (hyundai panel opp Kah Bintang PJ 222).

Best of luck.

2004 Hyundai Sonata Base from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Best Bang for the Buck

Faults:

Nothing!!! It has a little wind noise in the drivers side, but that is the only minor annoyance.

General Comments:

We love the car, we bought it because we where spending a lot of money trying to repair our old cars. We bought this car mainly for the warranty, and where surprised at the confort, quality and value for the money. The base model comes equiped with all the necessities. I love the automatic transmission mode where you can shift as if it was a stick without a clutch, and that comes standard in all of them. The best thing was that we paid $13700 for it out the door.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2005

12th Jul 2006, 16:28

I wrote this review when we first got the car. 41K miles later the cars still drives like new, and we have not had a single problem with it. The tires are amazing, they haven't shown much if any wear. We love the car and are excited now that Hyundai is offering a minivan, since our family is growing. Go Hyundai!!!

2004 Hyundai Sonata 2.4 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Great value for the money

Faults:

Nothing apart from the "service Engine Soon" light coming on now and then. The dealer replaced a sensor and it seems to be corrected.

General Comments:

The only negative comment I would make on this car is that the seats are a bit hard for extended driving periods, and as I commute daily, I notice that.

Otherwise, I am very happy with its performance and reliability and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2005

14th Jul 2010, 08:32

As this is my original post, I want to add to it five years later. At 200,000 km I went to trade it in on a new 2010 Sonata and found that although the car is in impeccable shape, I was only offered $1500 CDN on a trade. Therefore I signed the car over to my daughter and her husband and it is still going strong. Wonderful car.

The one annoying flaw is the camshaft positioning sensor failure. Once at 100,000 and again at 200,000 km. Each fix is $800 CDN plus towing. Annoying, and it should not happen.

2004 Hyundai Sonata from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance1180 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Safe, reliable, pretty, unbeatable in it's class!

Faults:

I have only had one minor issue with the CD player. It would not let me put a new CD in the player. I shut the car off and restarted and it worked fine. Not a big issue-certainly not big enough to take in for service.

General Comments:

Getting rid of my Fire bird was hard and I was worried about a slower car. However, my V6 is very comparable, though not turbo-charged. I get great pick up speed and it rides incredibly smooth. The gas mileage is similar to my Fire bird, but I also drive my cars pretty hard. The seats are comfortable, and I love the lower back support. The trunk space is huge! The folding down seats are also very convenient. This car has great safety features and is ideal for families. The warranty is unbeatable!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2004

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews