1991 Hyundai Stellar GSL New Yorker 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Love it. Looks like a Maserati Quattroporte

Faults:

I have to replace the front wheel bearings every 3500 miles.

I replaced the prop-shaft bearing bush after 100 000 miles.

General Comments:

I purchased the car from the guy who bought it from new, full service history.

It has provided me with a very reliable means of transport for the last few years.

It is very cheap to run and surprisingly economical.

It is a hoot to drive, but you must be careful in the wet.

It is a future classic, if the rust doesn't get them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2006

1989 Hyundai Stellar GSL 1.4 Gassoline from Sri Lanka

Summary:

Reliable steady comfortable car

Faults:

Rubber parts (bush) in the transmission system were worn out.

General Comments:

Steady and reliable car.

Low maintenance. In fact I have done nothing except replacing the rubber parts (bush) in the transmission system.

It is heavy so 1.4 liter engine is not powerful enough for a good acceleration.

I have tired driving it up to 120km/h, and it is very stable.

Many options for a low price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2004

16th Jan 2010, 20:49

It is a good car with good handling.

1985 Hyundai Stellar GSL 1.6L from North America

Summary:

Slow, but reliable

Faults:

Transmission and clutch went at 304,000.

A/C has never worked.

Piston rings are gone.

Lots of surface rust.

A bit of rust holes.

The car starts shaking at 100kmh.

General Comments:

This car was a bargain for 45.00 but I would not buy another of the same model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th December, 2003

24th Sep 2007, 12:09

I think you got your $45 worth. 300,000 miles on a Stellar must be a record.

1986 Hyundai Stellar Executive 1.6L Carburetion from North America

Summary:

Slow, but VERY reliable

Faults:

I had to have the EGR valve drilled out from carbon build up.

Needed to have axle seals done for e-testing.

General Comments:

The car has been absolutely great!

I've spent $1200 CD altogether on the car, and it is still going very strong.

No rust, just paint bubbling over rear wheel-wells.

Car lacks power, but is great for booting around town.

Seats are slightly uncomfortable for long drives, but that could just be my back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st October, 2002

1985 Hyundai Stellar GLS 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A bulletproof tank which will go on forever!

Faults:

The rear suspension bushes tend to wear out every 40000 miles or so.

Recently, the gearbox has started to whine a bit, I guess this is to be expected at this mileage!

One or two spots of rust coming through, fortunately only surface rust.

General Comments:

A very reliable car, it just keeps on going.

Pretty comfortable on long journeys.

Parts are cheap (dealers are clearing out their stock of parts) and very simple to work on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2002

10th Feb 2003, 15:05

Update:

Now done 185,000 miles and have just replaced the gearbox with a low mileage second hand one. The layshaft bearing started to break up so I had to cover the last 60 miles of my journey in 4th gear!

1992 Hyundai Stellar GLS 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Very reliable car, lots of gadgets and cheap to buy

Faults:

The factory fitted sun roof has a large trim which protrudes down inside the car. Stellars are not that great on head room anyway, so this particular sun roof takes the car from being acceptable to drive to being a real pain when you go over bumps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2001

1990 Hyundai Stellar GLE 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A big powerful roomy tank with extras

Faults:

None until the crash : (

The glove compartment really sucks! It reminds me of a tin pig trough!

Wiper motors may vary in speed once in a while.

General Comments:

To be honest, a I have seen a LOT of bad reviews about this car.

However, I have had absolutely no problems apart from body rust. The car has always started first time and is very roomy and comfortable.

Surprisingly powerful, but quite heavy on steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2001

9th Jul 2001, 14:51

I have been driving Stellars for the past ten years. My first one, which I had for seven years, was the best one - the car just went on and on, I couldn't fault it in any way. The problem I have with my present Stellar is with the factory fitted sun-roof. The interior trim hangs down a good inch which means that I am constantly bashing my head when driving over bumps in the road.

It's either bruising my head or sitting with my legs slightly forward which isn't very comfortable. So, what I want to know is am I the only person who is blighted with this problem or are there any others out there with the same hang up?

3rd Oct 2001, 03:11

You may as well mastic the sunroof up. You do not need one in the UK.