1995 Infiniti G20 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1995 Infiniti G20 2.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11700 miles
Most recent distance13900 miles

Summary:

Buyer beware... good car! :)

Faults:

- O2 sensor needed replacing 2 weeks after I bought the car (117k) - $70.

- Water pump (120k), $70.

- Fuel filter (120k), $70.

- Knock sensor was unplugged ($300, new knock sensor).

- CV half-shaft replaced (cracked boot, 120k, $120).

- Wheel alignment, $50.

- 2 new tires, $100.

- Rust cover-up - not fixed.

- Chipped paint.

- Screwed up front bumper.

(All of these were problems from the previous owner).

- Fuel injector went bad (138k) - $200.

- Tachometer jumping (dealer wants $700... no).

- Leaks returned (not fixed).

- Plugs changed (no reason).

- New intake (needed more power/economy).

- Windshield crack... thank you Mayor Daley for your piece of crap Chicago construction roads with loose rocks.

- Dent from a hit and run.

General Comments:

I bought this car, which was in serious neglect from the previous owner. I was shocked when I took an automotives course to find so many problems with the car from the last owner.

Being 16, I drove the car hard, but I didn't cause any of those problems, the last owner did. I didn't have any problems of my own, besides the car driving too slow and getting horrible economy; auto trans / A/C is a killer! (fixed with an intake)

I've also upgraded the speaker system, which makes the car sound so much better.

My first babied car, despite having unlucky things happen to me in it. I loved this car, and will have to part with it soon.

Please refer to g20.net for all your G20 needs. It certainly helped me, especially with mechanical help. I would have spent over $5000 dollars, had I gone to the dealership. For the price, the performance is amazing, but look out for sensors and leaks with this car before purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2007

1995 Infiniti G20 touring from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Better than average

Faults:

The rear doors and trunk lid are very hard to open. The car has a squeak up front that we can't identify- sometimes very loud and sometime quieter.

General Comments:

Basically, a very good car. Poor power on hills though. Excellent dealer service too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2005

1995 Infiniti G20 1.9 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car. The only thing I've had to do is replace the shocks, beyond routine maintenance.

I would recommend against cloth seats, however, since they dirty easily and do not clean well.

General Comments:

The car is far faster than my old '87 Accord, but it's not a speed burner. The transmission shift from first to second is slightly jolting. Nevertheless, the handling is very good, it is comfortable, the steering is tight, and the sound and a/c systems are excellent. I've also been able to coax the mileage up to 31 MPG on the highway.

While the 140 horses won't blow the doors off other cars in a 0 - 60 competition, it is more than adequate in most driving conditions.

Extremely reliable and obviously very well built car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

24th Jul 2003, 10:50

There is no 1.9 liter... so that's why you are maybe lacking some power =-)

1995 Infiniti G20 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Low cost BMW

Faults:

Battery died out of no where. It was the factory battery, and it ran to 75k miles. If you're above 60k and haven't replaced yours yet, get this done.

Speakers are worn. I've replaced them with a higher quality set.

Broken motorized antenna.

Trunk opens slowly.

AC puts vibration into steering wheel.

Lost keyless entry controller, expensive to replace - $100.

General Comments:

Very fun car.

Handles great.

AC hinders acceleration. But is really really cold.

Leather seats are very comfortable. But have begun to wear.

CD player still sounds good.

Overall at 7 years old, mine is in good condition. No rust, and running well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

1995 Infiniti G20 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Starion

Summary:

Great car, buy one, you will not regret it

Faults:

Battery blew up when I tried to crank it one morning. But as it turned out it was an original equipment battery that should have been replaced at 60,000 miles.

CV boot covers replaced at 87,000 miles.

Regular maintenance items include new brakes all the way around, new plugs, fuel injection cleaning, flushed radiator and transmission fluids.

General Comments:

For a compact car this car drives very smooth. It drives well in all kinds of weather. It has a great sound system and comes fully loaded with all the bells and whistles.

Extremely reliable and if purchased used you can get a great deal on this car.

The only fault so far is that the auto transmission robs power and the A/C robs even more power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2001

27th Nov 2003, 09:52

Just an update. Latest mileage 164,000 miles and still going strong. Only thing replaced since original entry are tires all the way around. I have been told that ball joint on left side may be bad, but that all I need to do is continue to rotate tires on a regular basis to counter any premature wear. Am going to do major tuneup soon, but only due to the high mileage, it continues to run well. This car continues to be extremely reliable and am looking forward to my next entry at 200,000 miles.

12th Feb 2006, 20:28

Just another update, it is amazing that I am still talking about this car. Latest mileage 217.000 miles. I have recently started to notice that the transmission is starting to slip a little, but it has not yet become a major issue. Since the last update I have replaced the two front CV joints, the alternator, the starter (twice), and the AC/Compressor. They simply wore out. The car continues to drive well and the engine is not burning any significant oil. I had thought about selling it due to the high mileage and potential for problems, but have decided to keep it. I am now looking forward to my next entry at 250,000 miles.

21st Dec 2008, 20:47

December 21, 2008.

Still have the infiniti but barely. My transmission went out about 2 months ago and it has been parked in my driveway. The car currently has 260,000 miles on it. The engine was replaced at 218,000 with a used engine that has been very reliable. When I replaced the engine I also replaced the radiator the water pump and the brake master cylinder. About 3 months before my transmission went, I replaced the CV half shaft on the right side and the ball bearing on the right and a lower arm suspension part on the left. The transmission is going to cost about 1700 to rebuild. I will probably let the car sit awhile and replace the tranny later. All in all it has been a good ride and the story with my infiniti continues.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews