1995 Infiniti G20 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1995 Infiniti G20 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles

Summary:

Very expensive mistake

Faults:

Many transmission problems for this car, I'm afraid to say, in fact so many that I had to give it a bad reliability score. I've heard everyone else that has had one say they are great cars.. but I just don't see it.

General Comments:

Very expensive mistake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2000

19th May 2001, 11:50

Uhh...automatics are known to be crappy... all the other people that like their cars have 5-speeds...

29th May 2001, 14:42

I currently own a 1996 Infiniti G20 with an automatic transmission. I have no major complaints other than I wish that the little thing had a ounce more horsepower, that's all. I have owned 6 Nissan/Infinti products, they are great reliable vehicles. I will purchase another Infinti product in the near future.

Wes Johnson

Atlanta, Georgia.

9th Jul 2001, 22:56

This car sucks. I've put in a new transmission, and a $600 sensor here, and a $300 sensor there...it's a freakin' lemon... anyone wanna buy a car? This thing is bleeding me dry.

28th Aug 2002, 13:11

I've heard many nasty things about the automatic version of the G20. Many people say Nissan can't make an automatic transmission if their life depended on it. I've heard different. I have a 5 speed '91 G20, and I love it.

24th Jul 2003, 10:48

I to own a g20 t 1995, its automatic and it runs like a kitten. I never heard of transmission problem (I have an other friend who has a 93 manual) just great.

25th Aug 2008, 17:51

I have a 92 g20 and the transmission was replace as well as the engine. Would not recommend this model especially after 100K.

29th Sep 2008, 14:23

170,000 miles and still running strong.

A/C and automatics are for girls.

My 95 G20t is faster and handles better than all of my friends 2000+ Civics, Accords, Toyotas etc...

Preventative maintenance, guys and girls. READ YOUR OWNERS MANUAL. Follow that and this car will go far beyond 200k.

1995 Infiniti G20 Touring 2.0l 16V 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 2.0l 16V 4
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Faults:

Sunroof motor and seat height adjuster replaced under warranty. Clunking noise from front suspension links at low speeds.

General Comments:

A hell of a drive, easily the best handling sedan in it's class. Engine could use a bit more torque for in-town driving; works great on highway and backroads, but the seats give me a sore back. Local dealer treats me like royalty, even though I bought it used. I'd have another in a skinny minute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 1998

27th Nov 2000, 18:20

I've got a 1995 Infiniti G20t with manual transmission. I sympathize with the low-torque observation, but in general, this car is bullet-proof. Fit and finish are excellent. Steering feel is very good. The only things that have needed replacement are rear brakes and the exhaust system. And the car has 75,000 miles on it!

1st May 2001, 23:31

Looking for a well-depreciated but fun second car, I stumbled upon a '94 Infiniti G20t 5speed, and bought it right away (I'd been looking for months, unable to make up my mind!).

I'd been looking at Jettas (I've owned many watercooled VW's and loved them, but just wanted a change). I'm hoping this G20t is as reliable as Consumer Reports claims, because I love the way it handles and its understated good looks. -Don Swier.

23rd Aug 2001, 09:28

After months of searching for the perfect used car for myself that I could have fun in, depend on, and afford, I found myself entrapped in the sleek curves, elegant handling, and stop-on-a-dime brakes of a 1995 Infiniti G20T. It is turning out wonderfully, the beauty has never ever had a problem her whole life and now has 150,000 miles on it!!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews