1995 Infiniti Q45 Reviews

1995 Infiniti Q45 A V8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, yet hard to maintain

Faults:

Power steering pump has been out since the week I bought it.

The car smells terribly of gas inside.

Brakes go bad really quickly.

4th gear went out the other day.

Interior wears and looks awful.

General Comments:

Car starts on a dime, every time.

Has lots of luxury equipment (heated leather seats).

Very fast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2012

1995 Infiniti Q45 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90002 miles
Most recent distance90100 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A money vacuum

Faults:

Automatic suspension completely bad when purchased at 90,000 miles.

Leaky gasket head with oil pouring out of it when purchased at 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

Hopefully someone will learn from my idiotic mistake. Purchased a 1995 Infiniti Q45a in 2005 with 90,000 miles on it. Low miles for the year. Carfax checked out clean. Paid $5200.

Took the car to our local mechanic for a once over, and discovered the suspension was bad and there was leaky head gasket that was so severe the oil was pouring out of it. Was told they could not fix it, had to be done by a dealer. Took it to Infiniti dealership the next day. Was informed the suspension needed replaced to the tune of $5500 for parts ONLY. The gasket replacement was in the neighborhood of $2000. We were looking at spending $7500 to fix a car we had just bought a week prior, and that was BEFORE labor costs.

This car only had 90,000 miles on it, and was driven by a female doctor who put less than 11,000 miles on it annually. Not only should the car have broken like this, but the cost to repair is just plain ludicrous.

Don't make the mistake I did. Don't buy an Infiniti, especially a used one. It's like emptying your bank account and flushing every last dime down the drain. Supposedly they are fairly reliable cars, but when they do break down, the repair costs can be far more than the car is worth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2005

5th Jun 2005, 09:21

Yes the Q45 can be a pain. i purchased a 1996 Q with 45000 miles and the air conditioner compressor went bad. Parts from dealer where way to high for rebuilt $780,i found a rebuilt on internet for $290 but my tech wouldn't install it. well $1325 later it worked for 5 days.ill bring it back on Monday to have them fix it again for free!!

2nd Jun 2006, 09:49

Don't assume all Infinitis are bad cars. They are simply Nissans. I have owned and many people I know own Nissans and Infinitis. You bought a used car, what do you expect? That's the drawback to buying used. People don't sell cars randomly, they sell them to avoid future maintenance costs. I have a 2000 I30 with 112k miles, NO PROBLEMS EVER!

11th Aug 2006, 10:46

I've owned a 1994 Q45, and the only thing that seems to make sense it that the antifreeze was never changed or allowed to get dangerously low, this may cause the heads to warp and most likely burn out the head gasket. I'd try some auto parts store and ask them for a head gasket repair product in a can or bottle. (I sold my 1994 a couple of month back with 188,000 miles, other than routine maintenance, it was a great car)

3rd Aug 2009, 21:44

Quite obviously this owner did not do his homework and did not understand what he was buying, nor the cost of restoration to working order, nor the car's condition, evidently.

More a comment on an ill informed purchase than a comment on a particular car model.

1995 Infiniti Q45 Q45t 4.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired78201 miles
Most recent distance196876 miles
Previous carLexus LS400

Summary:

It takes $80,000 for a faster luxury car

Faults:

The steering wheel is wearing, and at approx. 130,000m the cooling fan needed to be replaced. Replaced with two 14" electric fans for $75 and 5 extra hp.

General Comments:

I can say I've never owned a car like this, the old LS400 seems extremely under powered in comparison!!!

My friends just purchased a new CLK 430, it's an absolutely beautiful car. Unfortunately its considerably slower than my Q and rides like a truck in comparison!!!

I've found the place to get some serious performance products for these cars. Search for Jim Wolfe on the web.

I am now looking for the infamous 1994 Q45 Super HICUS, anyone seen one for sale?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2004

11th Nov 2004, 11:57

Try a 1994 Q45t with HICAS. They are there, but one has to be extremely sensitive to discern the difference over a non-HICAS one (say a 1995 Q45t).

Best bang for the buck (after restoring worn suspension components) is adding the rear model a bar and new rubber bushings for same.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews