Isuzu KB Series Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2007 Isuzu KB Series Fleetside 200 petrol from Botswana

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 200 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres

Summary:

Comfortable but expensive to keep

Faults:

The fuel consumption is way too high. My full tank takes me for 200 km when I do an average speed of 160 km/hr.

General Comments:

Comfort is good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2008

27th May 2010, 09:06

I bought a Isuzu KB Fleetside brand new last year. This pickup truly impressed me. Although it's slow, it drives like a dream. I only manage to get it to 160km/h. I get 8.5km on a litre of petrol, and for me it's impressive.

19th Dec 2010, 18:03

You could always take your foot off the accelerator... as it's not a switch.

4th Jan 2011, 05:20

How did you manage to "average" 160km/h?

Speed and economy do not go hand in hand... Perhaps you were absent when they taught common sense at school.

1997 Isuzu KB Series KB280LE D/T D/C from South Africa

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Disappointing and expensive to maintain

Faults:

Oil seal front crankshaft 67,000 kms.

Right hand power window not working properly - since day 1. Dealer could not fix.

At 95,000km's injectors had to be replaced. Could be quality of South Africa's diesel, but surely an inferior product of ISUZU.

Driving shaft - off centered and transfer hub seal perished - reconditioned at 108,000 km.

At 125,000km the key on the front part of the crankshaft was worn out with the result that timing was completely out. Crankshaft has to be re-welded and machined, pulley replaced and oil seals. Total cost R7,000.00 (US$1,200.00)

Also new clutch and pressure plate at 125,000km.

General Comments:

Some dealers said it it is a manufacturing fault, but General Motors refused to offer any assistance saying it has more than 100,000kms on the odometer.

Engine noise terrible.

I will most certainly not buy an ISUZU vehicle ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

1984 Isuzu KB Series LE 1.8 petrol from South Africa

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired221000 kilometres
Most recent distance266000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

This reliable vehicle is a pleasure to drive and I would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone

Faults:

When I first got the vehicle it was in a very poor condition (at least two pistons were cracked, the crankshaft had seized and the body was covered in surface rust).

Since I overhauled the engine and resprayed the body I have had very few mechanical or rust-related problems.

When I first started driving it long distance the gearbox seized (only once) and it was relatively cheap to replace.

I have replaced the clutch cable two or three times and the accelerator cable once.

The bench seat has been re-stuffed once. Other than that it has remained in a decent condition.

The hazard lights stopped working and need to be repaired.

At the moment it is quite heavy on fuel, but I am changing to radial tires and getting the fuel system checked.

General Comments:

This vehicle has performed remarkably well considering its 20-year age.

I have driven this vehicle across my country (South Africa) at least eight times with very few minor problems.

Parts are readily available and not too costly.

It handles like a dream. I have 205R14C tires which make it seriously hug the road.

The cab is in almost-new condition (including original carpeting, dash and steering wheel). The only things I have replaced are the knob on the gear-lever and the stereo system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

1997 Isuzu KB Series KB 200 Standard 2.0 Fuel Injection from South Africa

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Fuel Injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance141000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Isuzu could be a lot cheaper to run

Faults:

Noisy suspension requiring replacement of ball joints 2 times at 90,000 and at 130,000 Km

Clutch kit replaced 2 times at 80,000 and at 130,000 Km

Starter replaced at 75,000

Exhaust System replaced with stainless steel type at 54,000 Km.

General Comments:

The truck is very fuel efficient with the best consumption of 8.4 Liters per 100 Km and is quite fast

It has been a benchmark in comfort

However, the engine noise very intrusive into the Truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th September, 2004

24th Sep 2007, 10:16

I own a '97 Isuzu KB 200 with about 300 000 memorable kilometers underneath it. However, it has been a bit twitchy on the road recently. The problem occurs when it's traveling at speeds above 80 and 110 kph. It swings from side to side, although there are no cross winds. Should I replace the shocks or the steering system?

Overall, it's a beautiful machine designed to go on forever. Very economic, very fast, but a little lazy in muddy conditions unless carrying a load.

gaolaolwe@gmail.com

1995 Isuzu KB Series 280 LE 2.8 turbo diesel from Zimbabwe

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent buy, a partner for life

Faults:

Alternator packed in 130,000 km.

Shocks at 90,000 km.

Rear main oil seal at 65,000 km (probably due to pushing it too hard - sitting at 155-160 km/h on long trips).

General Comments:

Great truck, very comfortable, smooth ride, excellent acceleration and economy. Looks great. Handles very well on and off road. Diff lock is added bonus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2000

10th Dec 2000, 17:45

I also have one of these trucks, it had 15,000 km on when I got it and it has now got 107,000 km 6 years later. In that time I have only had to buy tyres, oil and filters.

I agree with all your comments and would recommend them to anyone. Also, here in Britain we have what's called an MOT test once a year when it is throughly checked over including exhaust emissions, before its issued with a certificate for another year on the road.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 9 reviews