Isuzu KB Series Reviews

2005 Isuzu KB Series LX 3.0 turbo diesel from South Africa

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance365500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

Reliability defined is Isuzu

Faults:

Just one oil leak; nothing more than that.

General Comments:

Amazing. I mostly do long distance driving, have got 265/R16 tyres on, and it gets me 12 kms per liter.

In the last 7 years of ownership, it has never broken down on me. It has had most of its major services at the dealer, and it's still going strong.

My son has a KB D-TEQ with about 80000 kms, and has had no problems yet.

I would recommend Isuzu to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2012

28th Dec 2012, 15:22

She has now got 380000kms on her, and still no problems

1997 Isuzu KB Series KB 280 DT 280 turbo diesel from Zimbabwe

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 280 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired242233 kilometres
Most recent distance259123 kilometres

Summary:

The Isuzu KB 280 TD 4JB1 is the car for those who like luxury driving experience and offroad driving

Faults:

I bought the car as second hand, and it had 242233 km.

The car had a crack on the radiator, which I did not notice at the time of purchase, and after driving it for over 300 km, the crack propagated, and the temp gauge rose to 3/4, after which I stopped and topped up the water.

Had the radiator repaired, but after doing 2500 km, the engine started boiling, with subsequent pressure build-up in the water tubing, and air bubbles could be seen when idling with radiator cap open.

All this was pointing to head gasket failure, and I did an engine overhaul, and fitted new big ends and small ends, bearings and piston rings, after having polished the crankshaft and skimmed the head; all at a cost of $700.

Note that these workhorses are very sensitive to temperature changes, and I advise not pushing them too long with a leaking radiator.

General Comments:

KB 280 TD is the car for those who frequently travel long distances.

The car is very economic, and performs very well on offroad, even if it's carrying a tonne.

However of late, I noticed some oils on the front crankshaft pulley; maybe seals fail because of high air pressure build up in the engine crankcase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2011

16th Nov 2011, 07:16

Interesting review. What is your overall fuel consumption (mixed driving)?

2002 Isuzu KB Series KB 300 turbo diesel from South Africa

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 300 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres

Summary:

It forfills my needs, and I made the right choice at the time

Faults:

Universal joint worn out once. Not unusual for a pick-up. Easy fix.

Both hand brake cables broke.

Replaced some front disc pads - no abnormal wear.

Replaced rear brake pads once.

Replaced battery once.

Replaced water pump at 210 000km.

I do my own servicing every 10 000km, and take it to dealer or independent workshop for major services.

No (or very little) smoke at the moment. Little (or no) oil usage between services. Considering servicing the injectors soon.

General Comments:

Comfortable combination between a workhorse and family car.

Easy on long trips.

Although not as refined as newer pick-ups, it works for me, and it will last many more years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2010

2009 Isuzu KB Series 250 D-Teq Le from South Africa

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Fantastic!

Faults:

Calipers - The calipers have had to be replaced at every service. Yes I drive on a dirt road that is not very well maintained 90% of the time, however I feel this a bit extensive. I would like to know if anyone has had the same result, and what the outcome has been?

Shock absorbers - have had to be replaced before 65 000km's.

General Comments:

I really love the car. It has awesome space, it rides really smooth, although I do find it a bit of a slug when I want to overtake vehicles doing 140km/h. Nonetheless, it is fantastic.

I get an average of 13km/L when driving 120km/h. It runs really smooth, only getting up to three thousand revs when doing 130km/h. I drive the car really hard, and enjoy a smooth ride on really bad dirt roads.

I would have preferred suicide doors to get into the back (it's a cab and a half), but other than that, I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2010

12th Nov 2010, 12:40

Hi there.

I have purchased a 2009 KB 250 D-tech D/cab with 43000kms on 2 months ago, and am now standing on 56000kms. None of the above problems, brakes or shocks.

I have encountered a problem with the idling... there is a flat spot that occurs when the engine is hot. GM have "sorted" it out, but I came back from Ellisras today and it seems to be back again. I get 10.5 km/l with the aircon on and foot to the floor, and 11-11.5 km/l at 110/120 km/h.

7th Jun 2012, 08:54

I have a 2008 model, double cab 250D. I drive dirt every day, bad roads with pot holes and corrugation, forestry roads.

The brake calipers started to rattle between every service, currently 119000km and no more warranty. The calipers were also the same problem in the previous models, and I wish they would improve on this.

The other problem is that you cannot put anything under the two front seats, or the airbag light comes on!

Lately the vehicle has been cutting out, and the dealer discovered that there is a faulty valve in the fuel line; R1800 to replace.

Other than that, a very good vehicle and I will stay with Isuzu.

The other bakkies on the market, riding in the same conditions, simply don't last.

20th Feb 2013, 12:32

I have a KB 250 D-Tech E/Cab LE 2008 Isuzu. Its fuel consumption is just way out. I took it in for a check up, but the dealer couldn't find the problem. It only gives me 8km a litre at 100-110km/h, and I use it for business. It has now 129 000km with a full service record. What might be wrong?

2nd Sep 2013, 12:08

I have the very same problem with my KB250 D tech.

But now again, the engine shakes vigorously when it's idling. Injectors 3 & 4 are apparently misfiring. At around how many km do ones injectors get worn out and need to be replaced? I'm at 165k now with no problems, apart from the rattle and airbag light.

6th Mar 2014, 13:12

Have a look at the suction control valve. With our diesel in SA it packs up. Can be replaced with a bigger version, but at R2500 a pop! I personally just add 250mm of 2 stroke every now and then to a tank. Works like a bomb!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 9 reviews