2001 Isuzu Rodeo Reviews - Page 12 of 13

2001 Isuzu Rodeo LS V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1100 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Need improvement with Warranty, and Service

Faults:

Tire wear Problems with all four tires, I rotate them every three Month, I had a blow out, due to a defect in one tire, they would not stand behind the warranty.

The Wiper motor quit working at 55,000 miles.

The Screws fell out of the rear spoiler, within three months, they charged me twenty dollar for new screws.

General Comments:

The mileage is right on the EPA of 19 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2005

2001 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance30100 miles
Previous carToyota Previa

Summary:

If you shop around at different dealers you find really good deals!

Faults:

Wipers got stuck in the middle of the windshield while it was raining. You would have to turn the wipers on and off to move them.

Arm rests wear premature.

A annoying squeak somewhere by the rear passenger seat. Can't figure out where it comes from? I can get annoying on long trips if you concentrate on it.

General Comments:

The car is a great value if you shop around for a good price. We purchased this SUV brand new with only 24 miles on it. Great acceleration with the V6 cranking out 205 horsepower. In about 8 seconds flat from 0-60mph. We get around 17 or 18 miles per gallon on our daily commute which is nothing to shout about. We also go camping and tow a 3,250lb camper. The engine shouts out a loud groul in hard acceleration when towing. This is very noticable when doing 75mph and its climbing a hill on cruise control. Flawless gear shifting. When pushed hard wheel spin is prominent and excessive in loose gravel which can be fun. The rear seats can grow unsupportive after a couple of years of use. Options come top notch and at a low price. We have a great sound system with a in dash six disk changer. This SUV is simple styling, but when nicely detailed and cleaned it can look stunning. The reason we mostly purchased this SUV is for the towing and the best gas mileage it it's class. One last comment the ride is down right harsh when going over speed bumps and tends to really throw you around. I would recommend this to any one with out a big family because the cabin is tight with four people in it. Well so far its been a problem free SUV and it's still under warranty for I think 5 or 7 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2004

22nd Jun 2005, 20:06

I just bought my second Rodeo. Both have been LS models. The first was a 1999 and this one being a 2001 LS with 4X4.

This is an awesome SUV. In my 99 Rodeo I drove from Los Angeles where I was living at the time, to Tampa to see family, and was a champ. Got about 28 to 30 MPG on the highway. I haven't drove the 01 4X4 out of town yet, just got it 3 days ago. Hope it does as well. Never had a 4X4 so hope that doesn't mess with the gas mileage.

Rodeo has came along way since the mid 90's when they were just an ugly box. WAY TO GO RODEO!!!

2001 Isuzu Rodeo 4X4 LS 3.2 V6 Automatic from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

A great value if you are looking to spend around $30K

Faults:

Replaced shocks because they are too soft. Used Trek Master R/T and what a difference! Now the ride is great...

General Comments:

Solid SUV!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

2001 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired49 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Ford truck

Summary:

It sucks!!

Faults:

What has not gone wrong is the proper question!

Bad vibration in drive-train.

Bad front brake rotors.

Rear axle grease seal.

Transmission down shifts by its self when you let off the accelerator going down hill.

Transmission slips in reverse when cold.

Burning 1 quart of oil every 3,000 miles.

Drivers door seal fell off.

Heater control cable came off.

Intake gaskets bad.

Exaust gas recirculation valve bad.

General Comments:

I love the Rodeo very much, but I have had so many problems with it.

The dealer I bought it from is the only Isuzu dealer around. They have a hard time diagnosing problems and usually cannot fix it right. They still do not know what is wrong with my transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

28th Apr 2003, 17:49

Hey there.. I have a 2000 Honda Passport.. same as the Rodeo. I have had sooooo many problems with it. It all started with the transmission acting strange and shifting hard almost like it would drop out of it. well since the first time the Check transmission and check engine lights came on over a year ago I have had nothing but trouble with this thing. there were some electrical problems as well. The engine would stay running even when the key was out of the ignition. I had to disconnect the battery just to make it stop. I have had a new computer put in the entire wiring harness has been replaced, fuel sending unit fuel sensor, brake sensor, 2 rear main seals, rear wheel barring, and now just last week a complete new transmission. to name just a few of the repairs.. and Guess what the same problems still exist. and the lights are still on as well as the brake light. SO tell me more about your problems? There has to be some sort of recourse for those of us that end up with JUNK like this. I have put over 13 thousand dollars in repairs and rentals in this since I bought it. the bad part is that I bought it used so I can't take advantage of the LEMON LAW. you can reach me at lillypads1972@yahoo.com.

Want to hear more..Annie.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 51 reviews