2001 Isuzu Rodeo Reviews - Page 2 of 13

2001 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired136500 miles
Most recent distance137500 miles
Previous carMercury Mystique

Summary:

Great SUV

Faults:

I bought it with all the problems. It has mostly an abnormal amount of dents and dings for the year (Thank you previous owner).

Biggest problem is fuel gauge doesn't read.

General Comments:

I just got it, but I fell in love with this thing instantly. It's big, fast, and gets great gas mileage for the power and its size. I looked up the stats on it and its got 15 more horses (205) than my girlfriends '96 Blazer with the 4.3 (190); I couldn't believe it. The best part of it all is I'm only paying $3500 for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th March, 2010

2001 Isuzu Rodeo from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10

Faults:

Too many things are wrong with this truck, I am not happy. I bought it because it was a 4x4, but was much happier with my little car.

Constantly adding oil.

Gas light is on, even though I have a full tank.

CD player never worked (even after it was replaced).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2010

2001 Isuzu Rodeo SL from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Very unsafe SUV

Faults:

The frame rotted out in 5 places, the SUV has no rust on the upper body, looks in mint condition, but the whole under frame is gone. This is very unsafe SUV falls apart while you are driving.

General Comments:

Bad design on frame, very unsafe to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2009

2001 Isuzu Rodeo LS from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Love it, but won't chance owning another one

Faults:

July 2007, transmission started slipping occasionally, then stopped after about a month.

July 2008, transmission started slipping occasionally, then stopped after a month.

July 2009, transmission started slipping occasionally, check transmission light came on for 1st time - It is currently at a garage having the transmission fluid changed, though I had to sign something stating they don't like to flush transmission while it is slipping - what else do I do???

Fuel gauge is also crazy like everybody else's. When it hits 1/2 tank, fuel light goes on and gauge goes from 1/2-1/4 to way below empty depending if I'm going up or downhill. Light stays on even after I fill it - goes off when I've driven it for 20 or so miles. Very strange.

Oh, and when I was driving to the garage today, the light kept switching back & forth from drive to neutral - kind of freaked me out. By the way, I only have 85,000 or so miles on it.

Hopefully, VIP in Rochester, NH will be my saviour and this flush will fix it!

General Comments:

I love my Rodeo, I'm just afraid it's going to make me hate it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2009

2001 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz SL

Summary:

Not happy with the rust! Can't use the car

Faults:

The car is 8 years old and the rear trailing arm has rusted through!

General Comments:

I've heard this is typical of the Isuzu.

I think the manufacturer should replace all of them!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2009

29th May 2009, 11:47

Look around... "the manufacturer" has done a disappearing act in the US.

2001 Isuzu Rodeo from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

I like the looks, overall not too bad

Faults:

I'm a small dealer in central WI. I sold a 2001 Rodeo to a guy in the fall of 2008. It was a nice 4x4.

Right away the rear wiper quit. I replaced the alarm box behind the glove box. Easy to do, hard to figure out.

Now the "meter" fuse blows as soon as you start the motor.

The key is stuck in the ignition and won't come out.

It runs great otherwise and handles well in the snow.

There is about 123,000 miles on this truck right now.

Any ideas to get this fixed would be help full. Send an E-mail to: alsauto@charter.net put rodeo fix in subject.

General Comments:

I thought the Rodeo was a nice ride, but I liked the older ones a bit better.

This newer body style seams to have more problems than the old style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2009

2001 Isuzu Rodeo Sport 2.2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Pretty, and nothing but trouble

Faults:

Cracked exhaust manifold, cracked cylinder head.

Car has significant vibration problems at highway speeds, computer problems with the transmission.

Tabs on plastic interior components have snapped off.

Minor corrosion.

General Comments:

I like the general concept of it. For tooling around with the top down on a Sunday afternoon it is quite fun. But like most of the pretty ones, it's nothing but trouble. There is simply NO excuse for a 2WD 4 cylinder anything to have this many problems under 70k miles. I've owned Chrysler, Toyota, Volvo, Mercedes, and bought this Isuzu on a whim.

This car was made in America, and boy does it show. I couldn't have gone more wrong if I'd bought a Chrysler product. I will be returning to Toyota or Honda after this.

There is a lot about this truck that is badly engineered. The transmission is a GM product, (which was just dumb to begin with), and the shift points don't seem to be mapped well. Also it is a high revving engine in a truck... which is retarded by itself. Trucks should make their power down low; their aerodynamics suck; they gain nothing from winding up the engine. In this case 18mpg is about average. (point made?)

If you look under the hood, there are miles of half inch hose with dozens of "T" connectors that are just waiting for a clamp to fail. It has ABS, (thank god!) which has preserved me once or twice from intolerably bad traction, due largely (from my reading of other posts), to the crappy quality of the OEM shock absorbers.

"Blind Spot" does not adequately describe this cars visibility. More like, "wave a white cane out of the window and send a telegram before departure" spot. The mirrors do not adequately cover the rear quarters and the pillars are hefty. I've nearly street pizza'd my fair share of sports cars on the passenger quarter because of this. Definitely keep your head on a swivel in this thing.

Parts availability is poor. Which is to say I've had 2 parts factory back ordered. This is ridiculous and demonstrates a general lack of support from Isuzu.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2009

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 51 reviews