1999 Isuzu Trooper S Performance 3.5 from North America


Everything you could ask for in a SUV, except for higher mileage


Driver side window needs new plastic brackets for the mechanism, doesn't work. I think I have a bad habit of closing it too tight.

No other problems at all.

General Comments:

Excellent acceleration, very roomy and comfortable, massive cargo area, and most importantly - extremely reliable. Overall it is equal or slightly better in quality to our Toyota Sienna. Would like better fuel economy, I drive mostly around town and get 14-15 mpg. It still looks absolutely clean under the hood!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2005

17th Jan 2005, 09:25

For 2005, Isuzu is now down to only one model in the US and that one (Ascender) is just an existing GM model (TrailBlazer), built in the US, with an Isuzu nameplate on it.

Apparently the Isuzu company is having financial problems.

Would be leery of buying any Isuzu, as the future of that brand, at least in the US market, looks cloudy, and if they do withdraw, the resale values would probably drop considerably.

19th Aug 2005, 23:20

If you look into why Isuzu is having financial problems you see that they are because of GM.

1999 Trooper

100,000 miles

+No problems.

Could use a little more power. All original accept for spark plugs. Trooper will be back in 06-07.

27th Aug 2005, 09:15

Okay thank you comment above me, I was hoping the trooper would be reproduced this is a wonderful suv and when the new ones finally come out I will definitely buy one!

26th Sep 2005, 08:54

I bought my Trooper 3.0.TDI one year ago. Probably the best car I've ever had. We use the car for everything from driving the kids to school, to driving up in the mountains hunting. The car carries luggage, dogs and shotguns without problems in any conditions.

And the diesel engine is cheap to drive. Great car!

6th Aug 2008, 19:17

Isuzu Trooper 3.0 doch, best I've ever bought, got it new 2004. Use the right oil and a mechanic that knows something, and there will be no bother.

1999 Isuzu Trooper from North America


Unsafe vehicle


My SUV rolled and windows blew out.

General Comments:

This was a beautiful vehicle in excellent condition at the time of purchase. We had the vehicle 10 days when we hit ice on a interstate highway driving about 63 mph without cruise. We went into the ditch and I was not able to keep the SUV from rolling. It rolled several times and the windows blew out. My daughter was killed in this accident even though we were all belted in. Please consider checking the safety rating on this vehicle before buying. I wish I had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th August, 2004

15th Aug 2004, 07:16

I am very sorry about what happened to your daughter. It's always hard to loose somebody that close to you, no matter what happens. But, all SUV's can roll over when pushed too hard b/c of their height. Were you watching out for ice on the road while driving?

15th Aug 2004, 22:35

If you read Consumer Reports you'd see that they rated this vehicle "Not Acceptable" due to its tendency to roll during tests.

1999 Isuzu Trooper S 3.5 from North America


4X4 Heaven


So far nothing has gone wrong. Except when someone pulled out in front of me and I ran over them (their car). Almost $5000 in damage. Still runs like new.

General Comments:

This is a great vehicle and I would recommend it to anyone. It is a bit thirsty though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

1999 Isuzu Trooper S from North America


Beats US built SUV's hands down!

General Comments:

The Isuzu Trooper is a step above its American built counterparts. I have owned Jeeps and this machine blows them out of the water in terms of quality.

It has better technology, rides better, is huge inside, a great family car. I highly recommend to anyone even considering a Trooper to take if for a test drive.

Of course it helps if you can get one with the Performance Package, which includes sunroof, tilt driver seat, tinting, etc.

Overall, a great car for those with expanding families!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st February, 2004

22nd Feb 2004, 11:39

My friend and I bought identical Troopers back in 1999. Our experience with this vehicle, both on road and off has been excellent.

The four wheel drive system, it's off road and highway handling and overall quality is fantastic. In addition the roomy interior, comfortable seats and entertainment system is great.

Other than regular servicing, neither my friend or I have had any warranty work requirements.

The Trooper has turned out to be the best buy I've ever made and in 30 years I've bought a lot of cars.

1999 Isuzu Trooper LS 3.5L Gas from North America


The Trooper is an excellent machine both on and off the road and on snow or dry pavement


Nothing has occurred requiring more than normal scheduled maintainence.

General Comments:

I purchased a Trooper to replace my 1989, after doing a two year paper comparison with other similar vehicles.

When balancing out the pros and cons, you get more for your money.

The fit and finish has not changed since I bought my 1989.

Unlike some consumer group reports, the handling is as expected. An SUV cannot be driven like a race car and must be handled with respect.

I believe the only negative to the vehicle was that "map lights" don't come standard at all levels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

1999 Isuzu Trooper Performance 3.5L from North America


Drinks gas.

General Comments:

Very good car. Rides lot more smooth than others, quite some lux feel. Very tall but soft.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st September, 1999

21st Mar 2004, 20:37

Poor gas mileage, drinks oil and original transmissions are bad. Had it replaced under warranty and the replacements are suppose to be really good.

9th Feb 2005, 10:07

I just bought a 1999 Isuzu Trooper. The first thing I noticed that it drinks gas, 3 Days after I bought it the check engine engine light came on, I've been told I need to change the filters and get new spark plugs. lol does anybody know how many miles per gallon it gets?