2000 Jaguar S-Type from North America - Comments

1st Sep 2007, 21:06

Just like every one else, I purchased a 2000 S-Type on June 2007 with 73,000 miles.

My wife fell in love with it as soon she saw it. The car was previously lease and looked in excellent condition.

We took it to the Jaguar dealer right away for a pre-purchase inspection, and they only found minor defects with it.

Now 5,000 miles later it's in the dealer for a noisy power steering pump. The replacement pump repair is $1,200, but the dealer stated that it also may need a steering rack, but they can't tell until the pump is replaced. You would think they have the necessary special tools to trouble shoot a luxury vehicle like this, but what do you know.

I'm planning to show this web site to my wife, and hopefully I'll convince her to sell this car before it becomes a money pit.

5th Sep 2007, 12:14

I have a 2000 S-Type 3-Litre Auto and I am suffering the same problems as most here:

Jerky Engine when the car is wet

Crunching sound from left front wheel (suspension)

Cannot leave in Park (have to use N)

Window fell out.

What a waste of money its been. I have had the gearbox stripped, had most things replaced, ball joints done, window replaced and more.

This is by far the worst car I have ever owned and the most expensive too. I wish I had kept my Rover 75 as this worked really well.

Yes, my powerful, black, jaguar car looks beautiful, but its not fit for purpose in my opinion and Jag KNOW it.

2nd Oct 2007, 05:27

I'm going to add my sad tale to what appears to be a very familiar story both here in the UK and elsewhere!

Bought my 2000 3.0 litre S Type auto in July '07 with 57k on the clock, fantastic car - was delighted with it.

However, last week got the 'Gearbox Fault' warning flashing and car went into 'limp home' mode (will not shift higher than third).

First of all, I took it to my local mechanic who read the fault code, but didn't have the experience to work on jag auto transmissions.

Took it into Rybrook Jag in Warrington this morning who ran a diagnosis, which I had to pay for (!). The said, basically the gear box has a problem (!!!) and they recommend replacement. However, they also said that they are not transmission speacialists, so always tend to just replace rather than look to fix first. The price to replace the gearbox? £3279.

For a car to have a new gearbox at only 57k is absolutley crazy, and Jaguars 'if in doubt, just replace it' attitude is dissapointing to say the least.

I'm going to find a local transmission specialist and see what they can do for me. If that doesn't work, I can get a 2nd hand auto gearbox for £500.

One thing is certain - I won't be taking it to Jaguar!

5th Oct 2007, 10:21

We own a 2001 S type in the UK and at 60K miles the gear box fault showed on the dashboard. The dealer quoted 5000 dollars to replace.

I contacted a local gear box specialist who asked for the coded fault report which I duly gave him having received it from the dealer after the check.

The specialist changed the Solenoids and the work cost 500 dollars.

No more stiff gears and the car runs like new.

11th Oct 2007, 17:10

We have a 2001 S Type. Pretty good for the first 45000 miles. After that... Do not purchase one. I know it is a beautiful car, but it is not worth the money that has to be put into it to keep it running.

21st Oct 2007, 04:29

Wow. OK, first off. There is no lawsuit.

Second - stop slamming your doors with the windows down. Every person who's into cars knows not to do that.

Third - read your manual for proper parking procedures. No wonder you can't get it out of gear on a hill.

$5000 for a transmission? I really feel for you people that paid such a hefty price to line the pockets of a service manager's wallet. The 5r55n is a standard Ford gearbox that can be bought rebuilt all day long for under $1200. Installation is less than that by far.

If you take your car to the dealer and they spend ELEVEN hours on it and DO NOT fix it and charge you for all that time - it's sadly YOUR fault for getting taken to the cleaners. Jaguar as a manufacturer does not own the service departments. To "sue" them and not the owners of the dealerships for swindling you is amazing.

Dealers have been replacing perfectly good parts for years. Dealers have been billing people money for unfixed cars for years. This is nothing new. Sadly, the perception is that a Jag owner will pay (more). And as some of the complaints here prove - you will.

When I go to the dealer I demand that any repairs are OK'd by me beforehand and that if said repair is performed I will pay zero dollars if the problem persists.

Lesson? Don't be a pushover. Service your car, accept that it could break down after 100,000kms...

2nd Nov 2007, 15:19

Sadly, We bought a 2001 S-4 with 60,000 miles on it. We have had every window fail and need replacing. We have had the sunroof fail and need replacing. We have had each ten thousand mile check-up, usually $800 to $1400 each time. Now the check engine light is on and I want to pull the light out.

Radams@embarqmail.com.

9th Nov 2007, 05:52

Wow I finally bought my dream car, and yes the 00 Jaguar S-Type 3.0 V6.

So far the same day I had trouble with the battery, which needed cleaning, and I got that fixed. 2 days later the car went into failsafe engine mode (when this happen it's hell ladies and gents); the car can stop at anytime, even on the free way so be careful.

With that said, I took it to the dealer and they fixed it. Accordingly to them, it was the throttle on the car; it needed a new one. I spent $600 american dollars on that.

I noticed a change and it drove well. A week later yesterday on my way to work; "GEARBOX FAULT" appeared on my dashboard and I can only imagine the price I they will tell me. I'm just hoping that this car is a durable one. I believe any car is as long as you service it. But I don't agree with the fact on a new car to go through that many issues all at once. I will take my jag today to the Jaguar dealership to see what they can tell me, and if I'm gonna pay for a new transmission or pay a price of $1,000 american dollars or more, this car will go back to the dealer without a doubt.

Thank You!

11th Dec 2007, 00:17

I work as a mechanic in a general repair shop, and I have seen a lot of different brands and models of cars, but none of them (except 1999-2003 Jaguars V8 and a few Fords) use a plastic timing chain tensioner. Come on, this is ridiculous. They saved 50 cents on metal, and now thousands of people are facing tremendous 7-8 grand bills due to major engine damage.

Something must be done with this. Luckily I am not a Jaguar owner (and never will be after what I have seen and read here). I was just doing some research on timing chain and tensioner failure of 2000 Jaguar s-type V8, which is in my shop right now. It is clear that 85 comments with totally the same problems mean something. Go to court, group together, and the faster you guys will break the Ford/Jaguar bankrupt, the better.