2000 Jaguar S-Type Reviews

2000 Jaguar S-Type V6 Sport from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission V6 Sport Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles

Summary:

Classic

Faults:

* Transmission went out 30 days from purchase.

* Tie rods, control arm etc.

* Coolant reservoir replaced.

* Cheap plastic pieces.

* AC compressor.

* Window regulator - front driver and passenger.

* Brake (hand brake) light comes on every now and then.

* Traction fault light comes on every now and then.

General Comments:

My car looks great. I have read a lot of negative reviews about this car. I guess I'm blessed to have a one owner car that was really kept up. I just hate all the cheap plastic parts that break.

I added the factory chrome rims, and mesh upper and lower grilles. I'm glad I have an extended warranty that covers the major things for 100,000 miles.

I hope I don't have any other issues. I'm going to knock on wood.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2012

2000 Jaguar S-Type 4.0 gas from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 4.0 gas Automatic
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Mechanically a mess!

Faults:

Replaced oil cover gaskets, coils, and spark plugs all twice.

Replaced brakes.

Transmission stuck in P on a hill.

Replaced starter.

General Comments:

In the 5 years that I've owned this car, I have spent around $6500 dollars on repairs. If this is Ford/Jaguar quality, it is not job #1.

While this car is beautiful, it is expensive to maintain. Shame on the engineers who put the mechanics of this machine together. Obviously, they had no pride, and just cut costs wherever possible.

The manufacturer of this car should get out of the business for nothing less than sheer incompetence.

Shame! Shame! Shame!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2012

2000 Jaguar S-Type 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Money pit

Faults:

Since 2006, I have had a problem with my fuel system (do not know if it is the fuel pump or the fuel system wiring), but I had 4 fuel pumps replacement 4 times. I had the last one (fuel pump) replaced in April 2011.

Presently the vehicle is in my garage awaiting to be towed to the dealer.

I have never had the amount of problems with my 1994 Chevy Cavalier as I have with this car. I have spent more money for repair work on this car (2000 Jaguar S-Type) than I spent on any car I had own in the past. The biggest issue is the fuel system. Presently I have spent over $6000 to repair whatever the problem is with the fuel system.

General Comments:

The car looks GOOD, but it is really a money pit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2011

2000 Jaguar S-Type from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carJaguar S-Type

General Comments:

I had a problem with my 2000 S Type. Was having problems with getting it out of park when on an incline, then later, the car not shifting in drive position. Took it to a reliable transmission shop, OTHER THAN THE DEALERSHIP, and they said the transmission was fine. Just had a bad shifter control. Which only cost me about $60. Haven't had those problems since. But, I was advised that if I park on an incline, engage the parking brake before turning off the car. And when starting, put car in gear, then take off the brake. This keeps pressure off the shifter control. Hoped that helped someone from getting ripped off in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd February, 2011

2000 Jaguar S-Type from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission  
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance80120 miles
Previous carJaguar S-Type

Summary:

Costly, expensive piece of crap

Faults:

Check engine light is on. Runs rough, drops idle from 1500rpms to 1000 at the stop signs.

General Comments:

This car is not a worthless vehicle. Why are there so many problems with this car? I've only driven mines probably 4 times since I got it. I'm afraid to take it on a trip out of town.

I'm wondering what I should ask for when selling it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2011

2000 Jaguar S-Type 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles

Summary:

A gorgeous car that can be, just like a gorgeous woman, cantankerous!!!

Faults:

I bought this car 4 years ago from my sister who bought it new, and it had only 6000 miles on it when I purchased it.

I have replaced the passenger rear window regulator, the CD player, the radio has been shot almost from the day I bought it, and now at 54K miles, it is currently having the transmission replaced. It is a gorgeous car. But I think once the new tranny is in, I will sell it.

A 50+ thousand dollar car, even though it is close to 11 years old, it has been babied and only has 54K miles on it. I think I would rather drive a new Kia with its warranty. My son and a couple of friends have owned more than one Kia, and have never had a lick of trouble. So, watch out for the used Jags out there of the S Type. From what I am reading, looks like 50K miles is a common breaking point for the transmission. That is just garbage.

General Comments:

The car is beautiful. Gets a lot of compliments.

The styling is exceptional.

The sound system in impeccable as far as how is sounds.

The gas mileage is acceptable.

The trunk is roomy,and the back seats fold down for more storing/transporting items.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2010

Average review marks: 4.7 / 10, based on 51 reviews