2003 Jaguar X-Type Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2003 Jaguar X-Type SE 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

What a Jag should be - you just want to keep driving it

Faults:

A breather pipe on the trans axial split.

Replaced under warranty.

Car has never failed.

General Comments:

Performance and comfort of the car is excellent for its class.

One year into ownership and so far is above expectations.

Service cost seemed high for what was done. However quality of service and staff were very good.

Fuel consumption is better than anticipated averaging approx 34 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

2003 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz SLK

Summary:

A comfortable, sleek, handling looker

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong and it rides and drives like the new ones I test drove.

General Comments:

The all wheel drive provides the ability to drive in snow with the grip of an SUV.

The interior is sumptuous and the most comfortable of any car I've owned. I love the seating comfort and positioning. Prior to this, I've owned Mercedes and Acuras, fine cars in many respects, but the seating comfort was always a low point on these makes. After a back injury, this became of paramount importance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2004

2003 Jaguar X-Type SE 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance17000 kilometres
Previous carSAAB 9-5

Summary:

Little sporty limousine

Faults:

Built-in telephone was cutting off. Replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Good performance and handling, excellent grip and traction. Automatic gearbox need getting used to - not as good performer as the rest of the car. Too small tank resulting in very short range.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2004

2003 Jaguar X-Type 2.1 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.1 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance9000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Good looking car that needs more grunt!

Faults:

As with many X-Type owners, my car has a noisy dash-board.

Fan belt pulleys are noisy on cold start.

'Feedback' and vibration in one door speaker.

De-mister vents on top of dash became dislodged and required replacement.

Passenger seat (front) is up so tight against the centre console, it is hard to push the seat back and forth.

General Comments:

The X-Type looks very stylish, but for the price lacks many of the features you would expect as standard.

For example, on the entry model available in Australia, cup-holders and cruise control come as optional extras!

The engine is quite 'peaky' and develops its power at very high revolutions.

The car lacks torque and even slight inclines sees the car 'hunting for lower gears'.

The handling is excellent however for a front wheel drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

27th Jul 2004, 19:26

I can see why you bought the X-type having previously owned a Falcon.

It is an attractive car and looks reasonably plush inside.

However, feature for feature, X-types are expensive compared to other competitors in Australia.

If you are considering an X-type, also consider/drive Audi's A4, BMW's 3 series, Lexus' IS range, Mercedes C class and don't forget Subaru's Liberty.

2003 Jaguar X-Type 2.5 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired12850 miles
Most recent distance14500 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

This car is not punk; it holds its own very well

Faults:

Nothing to this point. The car has run perfectly.

General Comments:

This car really runs so hold on to it. Accelleration and sterring are absolutely responsive to the actions of the driver.

Prepare to spend a lot of time (and money) at the gas station. The car goes through a tank of premium gas like a camel goes through a bucket of water. I'm refueling every other day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2004

8th Jun 2004, 20:44

New Jaguars are awesome! I think they preform very well. Jaguar is a great company.

2003 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 SE 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired123 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

A great car to drive let down by it's build quality and fuel consumption

Faults:

Prop shaft bearing failed after 100 miles.

Climate control does not regulate.

Dash board creaks.

Door panel on drives side rattles.

General Comments:

This car has a severe drinking problem, even on a run I am lucky to achieve of 20mpg.

Build quality is second rate, with many rattles and creaks.

Great ride / handling / steering.

If you buy one make sure you get the xenons as the standard headlights are rubbish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2004

21st Jul 2006, 15:05

I've owned my X-type 3.0SE since new and it's now two and a half years old. I have had none of the problems that you mention, and the car is still as tight and rattle free as the day that I drove it out the showroom. I'm also getting an easy 30mpg minimum each week, going to 35-36 on a run provided I'm driving gently. Would have another without hesitation. The only (slight) fly in the ointment has been the servicing costs... over £900 for the most recent one (although it did need new discs & pads).

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews