1997 Jaguar XJ6 Straight 6 twin cam from North America

Summary:

Best Jag ever. Would not touch 1998 thru 2003

Faults:

Front brakes at 51000. Full replacements were $1150.

General Comments:

Best Jaguar ever!

Great ride.

Elegant British racing green oatmeal interior.

I thought my 1987 Series III was pretty good, but the 1997 far exceeds it.

Beware 1998 thru 2003 Jags.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th April, 2017

17th Feb 2018, 22:29

What is the difference with the post-1997 XJs?

4th Apr 2018, 21:32

Actually this should say 1998-2000, as the 2001-2002 were nearly as reliable as the 1995-1997. The big problem was the plastic timing chain tensioners that tended to break and fail prematurely, badly damaging the engine. The 2001-2002 had a revised tensioner that was pretty reliable. The 2000 had an upgrade, but it wasn't good enough. Other than that, there were a few more engine parts that should be replaced with age, but no need to run away from them. The 1995-1997 (I'd stick to the 1996-1997) had the 4.0 inline six that was one of the most bulletproof engines ever. The car electronics and construction were top notch compared to previous Jags.

1997 Jaguar XJ6 from North America

Summary:

Best Jag ever

Faults:

Nothing except memory seat failure. Over 10 years, the car is perfect.

General Comments:

10 years of ownership, and the car is perfect. No failures.

Maintenance consists of the following: tires, hoses normal services. Total servicing approx. $2000.

1997 Jag. Best ever made. Most reliable engine. Last of the straight twin cam 6's. People ask about the car all the time, and it's 14 years old! The new V8's were not as reliable from 1998 to 2002. Next best thing to a Rolls Royce.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2011

1997 Jaguar XJ6 Vanden Plas 4.0 litre 6 from North America

Summary:

The best vehicle I've owned in 30 years of driving!

Faults:

Automatic trunk lock.

General Comments:

Most reliable of the 78 cars I have owned in my entire driving career.

I have owned four XJ6's from 1995-97 model years, and I cannot emphasis enough what outstanding vehicles they are. Buy one without question.

I have owned everything from Chevrolet to Rolls Royce, and without question the Jaguars have been the most trustworthy, reliable, dependable and also the best looking of all.

Research online, talk to other owners and speak to Jaguar mechanics, they will all say the same thing, they are bullet proof iron horses of the highway.

If you are thinking of an XJ8, think again and opt for the reliable alternative, the XJ6; same body, virtually same interior, but far superior motor.

Whatever the cost, the XJ6, especially the Vanden Plas, is worth the money. Forever sold on the Jaguar XJ6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2010

14th Aug 2010, 14:01

Sounds very good! I have been looking at getting a XJ6 or Daimler equivalent for some time, but unsure what to go for.

I absolutely love the series 3 ones from the 80's with the styling, but it seems that they're mostly money pits... a great shame. The x300 seems to tick all the boxes however - the 4.0 six is about the best engine they ever made and easy to service. All the forums in the UK say the V8 is big trouble, expensive to service and the early ones a total lemon.

Seems the '96-97 cars are best - all the bugs ironed out.

I also like the fact that the x300 is galvanised - a big plus that should save a lot. Am planning to get a Daimler Six 4.0 litre as a 'car for life' in the next couple of months.

Love all the interior bits on those cars and the Daimler grille etc., pure class and understated. They cost a bit more than the Jag, but I think it's worth it.

Final thing, this Car Survey site is brilliant - tells the truth of what all these cars are like in one place, without the BS!! Try getting that from a dealer.

Markus, England.

20th Oct 2014, 22:41

PLEASE HELP, I have an XJ6, 1997, and there is a part for the engine that my mechanic cannot find (used or new). I love my Jag so much, hate to think I might have to junk it. It's been in the repair shop for 3 weeks now, and still no luck in finding the necessary part. This car will miss me if I have to give it up!!! :-)

benbea@aol.com

4th Apr 2016, 20:12

What is the issue with your 96/97 XJ6?