Jaguar XJR-S Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1992 Jaguar XJR-S 6.0 V12 from UK and Ireland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.0 V12 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carMaserati 228

Summary:

30 year design is still better than 80% of todays cars

Faults:

Backlight on trip computer out most of time. Central locking not working for 3 days, but fixed itself.

General Comments:

Absolutely fantastic car. Very Very fast and handles better than most hot hatches. When you decide to drive it sensible, it transforms into a limo.

Only problem I have with this car is fuel economy and interior space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2007

31st Mar 2010, 11:45

Consider swapping your automatic gearbox for a 5- or 6-speed manual provided by The Driven Man.

With the 5-speed, my open road cruising fuel economy jumped from 19.3 mpg (best was 22) to 30.3 mpg (lowest was 28.2). Fuel economy for in-town stop-and-go traffic is up to 21.0.

I have enjoyed the manual gearbox for nearly four years. Mine has the Kiesler "racing flick" spring-loaded option for 3rd and 4th gears. It brought my 1990 XJ-S convertible from an enjoyable constant sedate "limousine" to an on-demand ferocious roadster. It is also much quicker off the mark than it was with the automatic. The manual gearbox made this cat feel many pounds lighter and much more nimble.

Jeff Garfield.

4th Jun 2011, 16:29

Cheers, mate. That is something I will be giving some serious thought to. Thanks.

1988 Jaguar XJR-S xj40 basic 3.6 V6 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.6 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired1757 miles
Most recent distance130100 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ6

Summary:

Very fast and dependable

Faults:

I got a few bulb failures and a washer fluid low nothing major. my rear headrest lights don't work any more I'm still trying to fix them.

General Comments:

A very very comfrotable car I would buy another xj40.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2006

15th Sep 2006, 20:46

Sorry for my mistake the xj40 did belong in there the report is all about my xjr-s sorry for my mistakes thanks.

1993 Jaguar XJR-S Sport 6.0 liter 12 cylinder from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6.0 liter 12 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJS

Summary:

Wickedly awesome.

Faults:

The only problems with the car have been minor, such as rear view mirror switches, heating/cooling vents, and antenna.

General Comments:

This car is wickedly awesome.

I had a larger exhaust installed and the car now sings like a true 12 cylinder.

The car is incredibly fast, both off the line and at higher speeds. Stomping the throttle at 70 MPH will result in car occupants suddenly being pushed deeply into their seats.

Built by Jaguar and JaguarSport, the modified suspension results in wonderful handling. It corners flat and smoothly.

Despite its incredible bulk (more than 4,000 pounds), it handles well, is quick and responsive, and can keep up with most cars on the road today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2005

1988 Jaguar XJR-S 5.3 V12 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.3 V12 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles

Summary:

Affordable classic performance car and a great investment too!

Faults:

It's only really ever gone wrong once, last year on the way to Le-Mans, she got hot whilst in traffic, the wiring loom for the injectors was damaged on the very hot water hose, took me a while to find the fault, but no subsequent damage.

General Comments:

The car is not extremely quick from take off compared to a lot of todays hot hatches and sports cars, but the acceleration from 80mph is outstanding, even still pulling at 140mph there is still some steam left, enough to get to get to 160. she is really comfortable, the seats, although old still grip you in place. The wide 235 tyres provide loads of traction, the autobox lets it down a bit, these would be great with a manual box. Unfortunatley she is not coming out of the garage this year, saving for a house, and returning 16mpg shes not the most economical car!! Hopefully a restoration to take shape next year, and she'll be back with a few performance enhancements from AJ6 engineering, and a gleaming respray, along with re-trimmed interior. A cheap car to buy, never really gone wrong, a great weekend car. Thsi car will outpace Audi TT's Lotus Elises, faster top speed than a Boxter!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2004

17th Oct 2005, 07:06

I bought my 6 litre xjr-s six months ago and would agree with this review of the car.

For the money there is not much that can touch it as an overall package. Seeing DB7s and XK8s reinforces this point. They both have about the same horsepower (or less) and are both derived from the xjs chassis.

I sympathise with your point on the three-speed auto. I often turn out of an intersection and floor it and cannot help, but wonder where all those ponies are. When you reach 60 mph though it is impressive.

Other downsides are the appalling turning circle, which, combined with a long bonnet, makes turning out of poor visibility country lanes exciting!

MPG is not as bad as it could be, but at over a quid per litre for super the pumps are a wince inducing experience.

Overall, I think the xjr-s has never looked better, and it is a rare, comfortable and quick beast.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 7 reviews