1998 Jaguar XJR Reviews

1998 Jaguar XJR V8 supercharged from Sweden

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission V8 supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carCitroen C5

Summary:

A mad wolf in sweet disguise!

Faults:

One small hose between the radiator and engine.

General Comments:

It's a super car! After I bought the XJR, no other cars are interesting.

Super quick, yet very quiet. The engine seems never be working hard, it just whispers and throws this big car forward!

Classic lovely design, both in and outside, comfortable seats, cosy wooden interior. Hear compliments every day regarding its design.

Corners like a sports car, but also a good cruiser.

Fair fuel consumption compared to performance, low insurance rate, and nice price on service parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2011

1998 Jaguar XJR Base 4.0L Supercharged AJ26S from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 4.0L Supercharged AJ26S Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet 2500HD

Summary:

It is my favorite car ever - I plan to keep it always

Faults:

Trunk lamps not working.

Driver's seat leather cracked, and other minor interior issues.

General Comments:

Basic service is relatively easy for the DIY er, I think because much of the car was done by hand. The engine compartment is well done. The Jaguar AJ26S V8 has some issues, but once understood and with regular maintenance, it's a gem.

Elegant interior - superbly done leather - I admire the stitching on the dash ever day. Mine has the "black" wood - not as pretty as the walnut, but nice nonetheless. Carpets are gorgeous and wear like iron. Mine also has the wonderful Harman-Kardon premium sound with subwoofer.

Rides and handles very well, although small sharp bumps "slam" a bit - very strong acceleration, the transmission is amazingly competent, and the interior is comfortable for even the longest trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2011

23rd Jan 2013, 10:31

I still have this car; replaced lower passenger side ball joint, passenger side front wheel bearing, battery, and fixed a very loose (and melting!) battery to starter and alternator connection on the passenger side bulkhead under the hood, which was affecting starting and battery charging. My electrical problems are gone, and it started easily this morning at 5F (-15C).

Now it needs a wiper motor, but it's still a keeper at 122,000 miles.

1998 Jaguar XJR 4.0L Supercharged from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0L Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Power, luxury and handling

Faults:

Had a fair few suspension problems at 60,000 km- had to replaced the wheel bearings and various suspension bushes.

Radiator hose off the thermostat split, at the same time also found two other lower hoses were in need of replacement.

Tyres seem to last only 20,000 km. Trying an alternate brand.

General Comments:

This car has the best Jaguar interior to date- a superb flowing dashboard in maple walnut, fitting in well with the central instrument console. Leather seats and carpets have stood up to the wear well and still look like new when treated. Analogue dials for rev counter and speedo suit the ambiance.

All the electrics work well- minimal extra "gadgets", but all the expected gear- climate control, CD stacker, quality sound system.

A seriously quick car- recently managed a 13.9 second / 105 mph quarter mile. The handling is excellent- good enough to take on most other cars on the winding roads of New Zealand. Wide tyres give plenty of grip, and the traction control intervenes well to prevent the rear swinging out if you are taking the corner too fast.

Only complaint is that the boot is cosy- can be forgiven given the looks of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2007

11th Jul 2007, 07:12

Note that you have owned the car since '04. Would love to know how much avg servicing costs have been. Maintenance aside, there is no doubt that these Jags represent value buying at the moment.

1998 Jaguar XJR V8 Supercharged from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

Fragile

Faults:

Number 8 piston keeps bashing the electrode on the spark plug, causing it to run on 7, probably crank wear.

Smokes like a chimney on start-up and whilst running.

Air filter box is filling with oil, probably worn bores causing back pressure.

Windscreen wiper parks where it wants to and sets off by itself.

Steering judders and the car has new brakes all round, and has had all bushes checked and steering tracked and wheels balanced.

General Comments:

I have wanted a quick 8 potter for ages and thought that the Jag V8 supercharged would be the one. After having the S-type, I enjoyed the traditional English character and thought of staying with the manufacturer. I am used to running around in run of the mill stuff, for example I had a 180,000 mile 1043cc VW polo and thought now's the time to treat myself, but I wish I hadn't.

The XJR has a full service history up to the last minute, so what the heck is it doing giving me all this grief in so little miles?

My 21 year old 1.0 litre VW Polo was a better workhorse and I treated it like a dog. All I can say is that I am very disappointed and this car has cleaned me out without giving me any fun..

You don't expect to buy a prestigious marque of this calibre and have these types of problems at such a low and well maintained mileage. Beware.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2006

1st Mar 2006, 19:52

Geez! Do you burn the tires off at amy given opportunity or what?

Seems like problems that would be attributed to hard wear.

31st Jul 2006, 14:57

Sounds like Nikasil issues, new engine time!!!

26th Nov 2007, 13:07

I have a 98 xjr with all the typical Nikasil signs: rough starting, smoke on start up, oil in air intake. It still runs well. We'll see how it plays out; probably not well. I wish I had known about this when I bought the car. The cost of an engine replacement is equal to what I paid for the car. That being said, I still love Jaguar. It's just a shame that they used Nikasil lining. 15 pounds lighter = short life span. Not a good equation.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 12 reviews